Contribute
Register

The Perfect Customac-Pro: X99-A II, i7-6950X, 128GB G.Skill TridentZ, Aorus GTX 1080 TI Xtreme

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
313
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490
CPU
i9-10900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
This guide is one of the most complete and useful for X99 and Haswell-E, I have been able to fix a lot of garbage I had in my current EFI configuration.

But there is this thing that is confusing me, I see a lot XCPM patches in your guide, but I have been able to run the system just fine by just using the KernelXCPM in Clover Configurator.

Is there any difference between your manual patches and this KernelXCPM?
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 6.59.00 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2018-10-12 at 6.59.00 PM.png
    27.8 KB · Views: 79

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,765
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This guide is one of the most complete and useful for X99 and Haswell-E, I have been able to fix a lot of garbage I had in my current EFI configuration.

But there is this thing that is confusing me, I see a lot XCPM patches in your guide, but I have been able to run the system just fine by just using the KernelXCPM in Clover Configurator.

Is there any difference between your manual patches and this KernelXCPM?

This guide dates back to 2017, while you might use a recent Clover version. KernelXCPM has been introduced to clover recently and just automatically selects the else manually implemented Kernel patches which can be mostly disabled when checking KernelXCPM.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
313
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490
CPU
i9-10900KF
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
This guide dates back to 2017, while you might use a recent Clover version. KernelXCPM has been introduced to clover recently and just automatically selects the else manually implemented Kernel patches which can be mostly disabled when checking KernelXCPM.

Nice, thanks for your time.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2018
Messages
2
Motherboard
MSI X99 A XPower Gaming Titanium
CPU
I7-5930K
Graphics
RX 480
Hello @kgp
Thank you for the best X99 guide.
10.12.6 been running smoothly for a year, for my system Clover needs to use both OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi and Test2-2016.efi to fix AllocateRelocBlock error.

Thank you.
 
  • Like
Reactions: kgp
Joined
Nov 17, 2010
Messages
168
Motherboard
Asus X-99 A II
CPU
i7-6900K
Graphics
Titan X Maxwell
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You have the same mobo and you also use the Alpine Ridge. Thus I don’t know why there sould be anything changed within the SSDT to make hotplug work. What did you change so far?
Slot locations and the device address info. See here:

Code:
External (_SB_.PCI0, DeviceObj)    // (from opcode)
    External (_SB_.PCI0.BR3A, DeviceObj)    // (from opcode)
    External (_SB_.PCI0.BR3A.D07C, DeviceObj)    // (from opcode)
    External (_SB_.PCI0.BR3A.H000, DeviceObj)    // (from opcode)
    External (D07C, DeviceObj)    // (from opcode)
    External (DTGP, MethodObj)    // 5 Arguments (from opcode)
    External (H000, DeviceObj)    // (from opcode

and any instance there after, as well as Slot names just to be correct.

Kevin
P.S. New hardware just started to arrive today for the next build. 299 here I come.
 
  • Like
Reactions: kgp
Joined
Nov 17, 2010
Messages
168
Motherboard
Asus X-99 A II
CPU
i7-6900K
Graphics
Titan X Maxwell
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I would also like to make an SSDT for my Black magic card and Areca Card so a little primer would go along way for me.

Kevin
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
108
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth X99 TUF
CPU
i7 6950X
Graphics
2x GTX 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi KGP,

First, thanks again for your guide, I'm running this setup since 2017 and it's working like a charm !
My build is used for work only (3D softwares and animation stuffs) and for some reasons I must update to macOS HighSierra (I need latest GPU drivers for an upcoming software update), I'm pretty nervous thinking about update my system.
I think it could be the time to install from scratch and I'm wondering if I could follow this guide for installing 10.13 or if I have to follow the next guide (this one about your iMac Pro build).

Setup :
- Asus X99 TUF
- i7 6950X
- 2x GTX 1080
- M2 Drive for os
- 64 GB 2400Mhz

Currently on 10.12.6 (and never had an issue since the first install ^^).

Thanks !
 

kgp

Retired
Joined
May 30, 2014
Messages
6,765
Motherboard
ASUS WS X299 Sage 10G
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi KGP,

First, thanks again for your guide, I'm running this setup since 2017 and it's working like a charm !
My build is used for work only (3D softwares and animation stuffs) and for some reasons I must update to macOS HighSierra (I need latest GPU drivers for an upcoming software update), I'm pretty nervous thinking about update my system.
I think it could be the time to install from scratch and I'm wondering if I could follow this guide for installing 10.13 or if I have to follow the next guide (this one about your iMac Pro build).

Setup :
- Asus X99 TUF
- i7 6950X
- 2x GTX 1080
- M2 Drive for os
- 64 GB 2400Mhz

Currently on 10.12.6 (and never had an issue since the first install ^^).

Thanks !

You should definitely follow the other guide. Clone your 10.12.6 system disk incl. your 10.12.6 EFI-Folder before any update. Then you are 100% save.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2012
Messages
108
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth X99 TUF
CPU
i7 6950X
Graphics
2x GTX 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You should definitely follow the other guide. Clone your 10.12.6 system disk incl. your 10.12.6 EFI-Folder before any update. Then you are 100% save.

Ok thanks for your reply, see you there ;)
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2018
Messages
1
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
CPU
i7 5820k
Graphics
Vega 64 Asus
Hey KGP, i am from Germany too. Iam a newbie in the Hackintosh Community. I have a X99 Sabertooth, i7 5820k, Vega 64... Every time I try to install the Image (Mojave) I have a problem. (Missing operating system). I updated the bios 3-4 Times... reinstalled the Patch and tried several bios Settings. Also i tried to installed with Unibeast. No difference. I hope you can help me. Danke! Alexander
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top