Contribute
Register

The New Beginner's Guide to USB Port Configuration

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
29,017
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just out of curiosity: how could I tell which config is specified in my USBports.kext? I prepared it awhile back and it seems to be working with my hack (SMBIOS=iMac20,2), but I don't know if they really do match.
open the info.plist in the kext file, scroll to the bottom
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 30, 2012
Messages
23,941
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Just out of curiosity: how could I tell which config is specified in my USBports.kext?
First, right click the kext then show package contents.

Screen Shot.jpg


Open Contents folder then open up the info.plist with PlistEditPro app or some other plist editor.

Then you'll see the SMBIOS the kext is set to work with (under IOKitPersonalities).

Screen Shot 1.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 5, 2017
Messages
178
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Maximus XIII Hero Z590
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Plus
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS

Leesureone

Moderator
Joined
Feb 21, 2010
Messages
3,498
Motherboard
Asus Z690 Rog Strix G Gaming
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just out of curiosity: how could I tell which config is specified in my USBports.kext? I prepared it awhile back and it seems to be working with my hack (SMBIOS=iMac20,2), but I don't know if they really do match.
EDIT: A little late to respond, I forgot all about the Show Package Contents option. That's definitely the easiest way.

Open the kext using a Plist Editor is the easiest way and then look under IOKitPersonalities.
IOKit.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 13, 2017
Messages
2,177
Motherboard
Asus Prime A320I-K
CPU
Ryzen 7 5700X
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi. I'm taking the plunge and creating a USB kext for my Cube, I got this far, a map. Fortunately my board only has 6 ports, well within Apples 15 port limit. Not fully understanding the next part, creating the map.

Screen Shot 2022-05-12 at 10.33.57 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-05-12 at 10.38.07 PM.png
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2011
Messages
206
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 UD AC
CPU
i7 10700k
Graphics
RX 5500 XT + UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
First you need to plugin the sixth USB, because in the print screen because it shows only 5 USB connected.
After that it will show up in the mackintosh tool.
Select all the other not connected USB in the Mackintosh tool and deleted by clicking the - button in the hackintoosh tool at the bottom.
Then click in the export button (first button on the. bottom right).
Now, you will have a USBports.kext on your desktop.
Copy this kext and paste it in your EFI - Kexts folder.
And load it in the config.plist file in kernel section
Make sure to remove USB Injectall.kext
Reboot
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
4,529
Motherboard
Asus TUF Z390 Gaming
CPU
i5-8500
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@craighazan your motherboard has the following USB connectors/ports.
  1. 1 x USB Type-C port onboard, with USB 3.0 support (1 or 2 ports depending on whether 'Type-c+sw' or 'Type-c')
  2. 3 x USB 3.0/2.0 ports (2 ports on the back panel, 1 port onboard) (total 6 ports all should be set as 'USB3')
  3. 2 x USB 2.0/1.1 ports available through the internal USB header (total 2 ports both should be set as 'Internal')
Notes in Red on image below for your attention.

Screen Shot 2022-05-12 at 10.33.57 PM.png

Your board ports are using a very strange numbering system. I didn't see any USB rename patches in your config.plist that would cause this. What is even more strange is that you have the HS11, HS12 HS13 & HS14 ports in the middle of the list of ports. These 4 x ports will not be USB3 ports. They may be phantom/unavailable ports, like the USR1 and USR2 ports.

I would recommend you use the comment column on the Hackintool USB tab to record which port is activated by you installing a USB pen drive/device.

This is an example of the Hackintool USB tab for my iMac 1 system in my signature.

Screenshot 2022-05-13 at 17.28.57.png example of comment usage.

Hope this helps.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2017
Messages
2,177
Motherboard
Asus Prime A320I-K
CPU
Ryzen 7 5700X
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@craighazan your motherboard has the following USB connectors/ports.
  1. 1 x USB Type-C port onboard, with USB 3.0 support (1 or 2 ports depending on whether 'Type-c+sw' or 'Type-c')
  2. 3 x USB 3.0/2.0 ports (2 ports on the back panel, 1 port onboard) (total 6 ports all should be set as 'USB3')
  3. 2 x USB 2.0/1.1 ports available through the internal USB header (total 2 ports both should be set as 'Internal')
Notes in Red on image below for your attention.

View attachment 547618

Your board ports are using a very strange numbering system. I didn't see any USB rename patches in your config.plist that would cause this. What is even more strange is that you have the HS11, HS12 HS13 & HS14 ports in the middle of the list of ports. These 4 x ports will not be USB3 ports. They may be phantom/unavailable ports, like the USR1 and USR2 ports.

I would recommend you use the comment column on the Hackintool USB tab to record which port is activated by you installing a USB pen drive/device.

This is an example of the Hackintool USB tab for my iMac 1 system in my signature.

View attachment 547620 example of comment usage.

Hope this helps.
Just to clarify I’m using the M.2 Wi-Fi slot to connect my RX 560. But does it need to show up in USB?.
 

Edhawk

Moderator
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
4,529
Motherboard
Asus TUF Z390 Gaming
CPU
i5-8500
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No, it doesn't need to show.

You just need to be aware that there will be a USB port associated with the connector, which you will be disabling as part of your USB configuration.
 
Top