Contribute
Register

The Dell OptiMac Big Sur/OpenCore Thread

Joined
Nov 29, 2014
Messages
7
Motherboard
MSI MPG X570 Gaming Plus (MS-7C37)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700X
Graphics
GTX 1060
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It's always better to use DP to DP cables instead of any HDMI adapter no matter how expensive or high quality it is. The only adapting of DP to HDMI I've done is to 1080p monitors and that has always worked well.
Alright, then I have to change my Setup a little bit because my main Machine was plugged in to the only DP Port on my Monitor and I think this is also the only Port which supports GSync...

Thanks again for this awesome Guide and all the work you put in there, I really appreciate it. Do you have a Donation-Link?

Btw: What about future MacOS Updates? Can we just Update without Problems or do you test them first and give us Feedback here? I guess it depends on the Update, right? :D Sorry, its been a while since my last Hackintosh and I always was afraid of Updates...
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
18,922
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I really appreciate it. Do you have a Donation-Link?
Screen Shot 3.jpg
Upper left corner, click there.
Can we just Update without Problems
It usually works with no drama. You can of course make a bootable backup before any point update. It's mandatory if you will be doing a version upgrade such as going from 11.6 to 12.0 later this year.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
63
Motherboard
Dell optiplex 9020 Mt
CPU
i7 4770
Graphics
Hd 4600
I have a working Dell 9020 i7 working without extra gpu.
If I put inside the rx560 is necessary any changes to the efi?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
18,922
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have a working Dell 9020 i7 working without extra gpu.
If I put inside the rx560 is necessary any changes to the efi?
No, not unless you want to run the iGPU headless instead of leaving it enabled.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2010
Messages
203
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No, not unless you want to run the iGPU headless instead of leaving it enabled.
Sorry but where is here the difference? Leaving the iGPU enabled is, for me, running it headless. Do I understand something wrong? The reason why I'm asking is that I'm also planning to put inside a graphic card (Nvidia NVS 510) for 4k output.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
18,922
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Leaving the iGPU enabled is, for me, running it headless. Do I understand something wrong?
When the iGPU is headless it means you can't connect a display to the onboard DP output on your Dell. The iGPU is then used for compute only. That means the video encode/decode is performed by the iGPU via the Intel Quicksync.
The 14,2 and 15,1 iMacs (and others) operated this way when their CPUs used the iGPU set as headless. The graphics cards powered the iMac display, not the iGPU.

All of this is discussed near the end of the Golden Build guide. Under the "for video editors" spoiler.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2010
Messages
203
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks, didn't know that till now.
 
Last edited:
Top