Contribute
Register

The 4K Dell OptiMac - 9020 MT - Core i7-4790 - Radeon RX 570 - LG 4K IPS Monitor

Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
12
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 9020 MT
CPU
I5-4570
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thank you for the response. It was just a time saving thought though it is a 2014 already running Mojave on an SSD. I will start clean.
 
Joined
May 22, 2019
Messages
57
Motherboard
Dell 9020 SFF
CPU
i7 4770
Graphics
HD 4600
Thank you for the response. It was just a time saving thought though it is a 2014 already running Mojave on an SSD. I will start clean.

You could try backing everything up then installing Clover on the drive in the Mac Mini; copy all the files from the first post in there; and then swap the drive to the Dell.
If it didn't work, then start fresh. Don't expect any help from this thread tho, if you go down that path! hahah
 
Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
12
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 9020 MT
CPU
I5-4570
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
it's cool, I'll start clean. I was just trying to save data swap time.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2017
Messages
156
Motherboard
Dell 9020
CPU
i7-4770
Graphics
RX570
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi Guys and Gals

I have updated my Hackintosh to 10.14.6 (18G1012) this evening but I am afraid it messed something up. It takes much longer to get the Clover screen now. After it reaches that stage it is fast but it takes nearly 2 minutes or more to get that phase. Another thing goes wrong is that if I touch and interrupt auto-boot screen Clover kind of freezes. I cant highlight, move or choose any tab/icon and cant start booting. If I dont touch anything it counts down to 0 and starts booting MAc OS as normally does. I dont know it is related to Mac OS update but it might be something with my attempt to update Clover. After I updated to 10.14.6 (18G1012). I wanted to updated Clover to get ready for Catalina, although I was not going to update now. And downloaded the Clover app and hit Install Clover 5099 button and on the following screen without ticking anything hit the install button. I dont whether this has caused the problem with Clover's itself, I am sure before this after the update pre boot sequence had become much longer.
Many thanks for your help in advance



Screenshot 2019-12-04 at 23.31.14.png
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
20,296
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I dont whether this has caused the problem with Clover's itself, I am sure before this after the update pre boot sequence had become much longer.
New folder file structure in the newer Clover. Drivers64UEFI does not exist in the newer Clover anymore. It's been renamed to simply DriversUEFI. Have a look at what is in that folder to see where the problem is. You can also go back to using the older Clover version which works perfectly well with Mojave.
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2017
Messages
156
Motherboard
Dell 9020
CPU
i7-4770
Graphics
RX570
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I can't see it there, usual drivers64 folder still exists
Screenshot 2019-12-04 at 23.42.03.png


You can also go back to using the older Clover version which works perfectly well with Mojave.

The thing, I am not sure I managed to install it anyways
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
20,296
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I can't see it there, usual drivers64 folder still exists
You are using the newer Clover version, installed 22 Nov with the older folders which will not work well. Just look at the modified dates. They are from June and July. I would wait to use 5099 until you are actually attempting Catalina. You should have an EFI folder backup that you can go back to. Replace the current one with that.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 22, 2019
Messages
57
Motherboard
Dell 9020 SFF
CPU
i7 4770
Graphics
HD 4600
Hi Guys and Gals

I have updated my Hackintosh to 10.14.6 (18G1012) this evening but I am afraid it messed something up. It takes much longer to get the Clover screen now. After it reaches that stage it is fast but it takes nearly 2 minutes or more to get that phase. Another thing goes wrong is that if I touch and interrupt auto-boot screen Clover kind of freezes. I cant highlight, move or choose any tab/icon and cant start booting. If I dont touch anything it counts down to 0 and starts booting MAc OS as normally does. I dont know it is related to Mac OS update but it might be something with my attempt to update Clover. After I updated to 10.14.6 (18G1012). I wanted to updated Clover to get ready for Catalina, although I was not going to update now. And downloaded the Clover app and hit Install Clover 5099 button and on the following screen without ticking anything hit the install button. I dont whether this has caused the problem with Clover's itself, I am sure before this after the update pre boot sequence had become much longer.
Many thanks for your help in advance



View attachment 438839

FYI - The version of Clover specified in the OP worked just fine with Catalina for me, there is no need to update Clover.

Check in the BIOS and remove any extra boot devices (OSX, etc.) should only show your Primary drive with Clover on it.
Also, the newer versions of Clover have different folder locations and requirements, I think. Maybe its not loading the drivers correctly?

Edit; I was too slow, I see you already have replies :)
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2017
Messages
156
Motherboard
Dell 9020
CPU
i7-4770
Graphics
RX570
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I messed up completely. I downloaded and installed an older version of Clover, and now Clover screen does not come up at all. When I used my USB boot disk, it comes to Clover but when I choose a drive to start up it just freezes.

Edit: I can start Win10.
Edit2: Clover boot screen comes up w/o or with USB, but no Mac drive can be started. Just a black screen. Win 10 is fine.
 
Last edited:

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
20,296
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Best Price for New 16GB Ram Kit for your Dell Optiplex
This is made by Timetec/Hynix in South Korea. Specs are fully compatible with the Dell 7020/9020. If you have the USFF model it maxes out at 16GB. If you have the SFF or MT then you can install 2 kits for a total of 32GB.

Crucial/Micron Ram in a 2 x 4GB kit costs nearly as much as this 16GB Hynix kit on Amazon. 16GB is the perfect amount for general use of your Dell OptiMac. If you are in video or audio production or edit photos you'll want the max of 32GBs of ram.

Screen Shot 9.jpg


32GB of new DDR3 ram for under $95 is the lowest price I've ever seen. Free shipping and no sales tax, at least where I live.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00IV19HZE/?tag=tonymacx86com-20

Screen Shot 8.jpg

You can buy used ram for slightly less than this on Ebay but there's a chance that the ram may not be good or even returnable. Not all Ebay sellers test the ram they sell. If you recall about 12 months ago a 16GB DDR3 ram kit was selling for well over $100. Always buy your ram when prices are low as they always tend to go back up for some reason/excuse that the big three ram manufacturers create. Yes, there are only three in the world, despite all the different brand names. They are Samsung, Micron and SK Hynix, the company that makes this ram.
 
Last edited:
Top