Contribute
Register

T450s Yosemite only works with existing install

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 9, 2015
Messages
8
Motherboard
Thinkpad T450s
CPU
Intel Core i5 5200U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 5500
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello everyone,

I had a T440s and was able to install Yosemite on it, but now I got a T450s as a replacement, and I'm having quite a hard time setting it up. I've seen two relevant threads already (http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-laptop-support/164005-installing-yosemite-lenovo-t450s.html) (http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-...hd-graphics-5500-os-x-yosemite-10-10-3-a.html), and the only thing that I have not tried was the BIOS patch. But the interesting thing is: When I use the HD from my T440s as an external HD, Yosemite runs very well. If I try to boot Yosemite from any other media it will throw me a kernel panic.

Could anyone shed a light on this? I am not against trying the patch, but I can't understand why the external HD is working without it.

Kernel panic on trying to boot installer:
IMG_20150616_225312.jpg


Messages on initialization of external HD implying that the driver got loaded ([IGPU] lines):
IMG_20150616_230314.jpg

I've attached my Clover folder; the panic logs, when booted with Legacy support and without; and the external HD's IOReg.

Thank you all for your time and help in advance.

View attachment panic_leg.txt
View attachment panic_uefi.txt
View attachment CLOVER.zip
View attachment Saulo’s MacBook Pro.ioreg
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,103
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Did you set DVMT-prealloc in BIOS as required?
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2015
Messages
8
Motherboard
Thinkpad T450s
CPU
Intel Core i5 5200U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 5500
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Did you set DVMT-prealloc in BIOS as required?

I didn't. I was looking on how to dump my BIOS, because I don't know how to do it, but all I found was on how to flash it. Could you please help me on it?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,103
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I didn't. I was looking on how to dump my BIOS, because I don't know how to do it, but all I found was on how to flash it. Could you please help me on it?

Read the guides linked from the FAQ. Easiest way is if there is a BIOS update available, you can extract the BIOS from the image/EXE provided by the OEM.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2015
Messages
8
Motherboard
Thinkpad T450s
CPU
Intel Core i5 5200U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 5500
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Read the guides linked from the FAQ. Easiest way is if there is a BIOS update available, you can extract the BIOS from the image/EXE provided by the OEM.

OK, I was able to get the BIOS file out of the Lenovo ISO. Found the variable and the values, and after struggling a little to boot the EFI Shell, it doesn't do a thing with the command "setup_var 0x37 0x4", it just prints "Looking for setup variable...".
Looking around, I saw that I have a similar BIOS file to the user on this post. The variable has the same number (0x37) and the values are the same (0x1, 0x2, 0x4). It seems like they weren't able to fix it, or haven't shared the results yet.

Any ideas on how to fix it?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
184,103
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
OK, I was able to get the BIOS file out of the Lenovo ISO. Found the variable and the values, and after struggling a little to boot the EFI Shell, it doesn't do a thing with the command "setup_var 0x37 0x4", it just prints "Looking for setup variable...".
Looking around, I saw that I have a similar BIOS file to the user on this post. The variable has the same number (0x37) and the values are the same (0x1, 0x2, 0x4). It seems like they weren't able to fix it, or haven't shared the results yet.

Any ideas on how to fix it?

I think the fix is to rollback to an earlier BIOS.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2015
Messages
8
Motherboard
Thinkpad T450s
CPU
Intel Core i5 5200U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 5500
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I think the fix is to rollback to an earlier BIOS.
Sigh... It's a pity. Well, I'll give it a shot, and once I have done it I'll post the results. Thanks for the suggestion, probably it'll work.

I just wanted to know what BIOS version this user had, but his topic is old already, and I don't see a PM function in this forum.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2015
Messages
8
Motherboard
Thinkpad T450s
CPU
Intel Core i5 5200U
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 5500
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
[SOLVED] T450s Yosemite only works with existing install

Well, for some reason, now it's working. I still have the patch masking the assertion, but I'm not exactly willing to flash my BIOS so that *maybe* it will allocate the right amount of memory. If someone with a working Lenovo BIOS version shows up I will try it.

So let me explain better what happened and what I did: I had this Yosemite installation working on my previous T440s, and adapted it, step by step, to work on the T450s, following the X1 Carbon guide. Then I tried to copy the config.plist file, DSDT/SDDT and kexts over to the SSD drive on the new laptop, that's when the kernel panics began.

After some (frustrating) days I decided to ask here. When I couldn't fix the BIOS and RehabMan suggested flashing an older version, I decided to try step by step the guide again, instead of copying the config files. It worked! Go figure, now the thing is working smoothly. If anyone has the same model of laptop, it *might* work without BIOS patching. I know the kext patch is (way too) far from optimal, but OS X is not my main OS, so it will work out for me.

RehabMan, thanks for your help!
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2012
Messages
22
Motherboard
Thinkpad T450s
CPU
i5-5300U
Graphics
HD5500 (1920x1080)
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Well, for some reason, now it's working. I still have the patch masking the assertion, but I'm not exactly willing to flash my BIOS so that *maybe* it will allocate the right amount of memory. If someone with a working Lenovo BIOS version shows up I will try it.

So let me explain better what happened and what I did: I had this Yosemite installation working on my previous T440s, and adapted it, step by step, to work on the T450s, following the X1 Carbon guide. Then I tried to copy the config.plist file, DSDT/SDDT and kexts over to the SSD drive on the new laptop, that's when the kernel panics began.

After some (frustrating) days I decided to ask here. When I couldn't fix the BIOS and RehabMan suggested flashing an older version, I decided to try step by step the guide again, instead of copying the config files. It worked! Go figure, now the thing is working smoothly. If anyone has the same model of laptop, it *might* work without BIOS patching. I know the kext patch is (way too) far from optimal, but OS X is not my main OS, so it will work out for me.

RehabMan, thanks for your help!

Hi Lordao,
I've got my unit week ago, which is exactly the same as yours... have you managed to setup your T450s to work with 10.10.3 or 10.11? In the past I did a hackintosh build, but most of the stuff worked out of the box (I didn't apply any patches etc. just simple clover entries)... could you share your experiences/setup with your t450s?
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2015
Messages
11
Motherboard
MSI z170 gamer pro
CPU
i7 6700k
Graphics
MSI GTX 970
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello
did you get the t450s running?
Also what configuration do you have? I wonder because it has 3 options for a drive. If I buy it I would use it for mac os only, and of course would like to have it on ssd.

best regards
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top