Contribute
Register

System Freeze - Z77-DS3H rev 1.1 - 10.9.1

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 26, 2011
Messages
15
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H Rev. 1.1
CPU
i3 3225
Graphics
Intel HD 4000 (Integrated)
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I am running 10.9.1 on a Z77-DS3H board, revision 1.1. CPU is an i3-3225 for what it's worth, 8 GB of RAM. Connected to my network via Ethernet.

I have a media server and have been working on a project to rip my home movie library via Handbrake for use with Plex. I also have some Blu-Rays that I run through MakeMKV first.

My computer connects to the network fine, connects to the Internet fine, no problems. However: when copying any amount of data to or from the NAS via SMB or AFP, my computer constantly freezes. Is it absolutely every time? No. But it is probably 60-70% of the time at this point, particularly if I have any applications open. The size of the files does not seem to matter - I have on occasion successfully transferred a 25+ GB file, but for example this morning it froze on a 1.5 GB file.

This issue has been raised before - see post 17 of this thread onward:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/network/79149-gigabyte-ga-z77-ds3h-rev-1-1-ethernet-fix-2.html

Also here:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/network/9...os-ar8161-gigabyte-ga-z77-ds3h-rev-1-1-a.html

Alagater seemed to have a fix that he posted in this thread at post 15, but then it sounds like the fix didn't stick:
http://www.tonymacx86.com/network/70039-need-driver-atheros-ar8161-2.html

My board has the Atheros AR8161 chipset rather than the 8151 chipset on the 1.0 revision. This means I am using Shailua's ALXEthernet kext through Multibeast. From what I am gathering from both this site and some other sites that shall not be namedit sounds like people have determined that there is some kind of memory leak that causes the issue. (See Post 34 in this thread: http://www.tonymacx86.com/articles/121091-article-multibeast-6-1-update-4.html)(See also Post 125 from this thread on another site: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/to...ar813132515261627172-driver-for-107108/page-7)

I can apparently buy a new NIC to fix this for like $10.00, but I really don't want to on principle. Is there a solution to this, other than buying a new NIC? Is the problem being worked on? Is the kext under active development? Any information would be appreciated.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
2
Motherboard
P5K
CPU
core 2 quad
Graphics
ATI 5570
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi, I have the exact same problem. AFAIK kext dev is stopped. You have to dev it yourself or buy a new card.
I think buying a working card will be faster and cheaper ;)
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2013
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77-DS3H
CPU
i7 > Need model # > See Rules!
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi guys,
i gave up now on the kext files. No luck for this motherboard yet. Coping files through the network fails in 30% of the cases.
I'm thinking about to buy a PCIe Network Card for the board, but it looks like with the default recommendations like Sonnet GE1000LA-E Presto Gigabit Ethernet Pro or HP NC360T are also some issues with the Z77.


Are there some recommendations for the Gigabit Z77-DS3H and a out of the box running wired network card ?
Experience much appreciated !!

Best,
n0e
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,199
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2 X Xeon E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
HP NC360T works OOB
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2013
Messages
36
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K OC@4.7Ghz
Graphics
Titan X
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Yeah I would also like an answer to this. I have the exact same issue cause I use a nas to store tons of video for my work but it freezes half the time trying to copy crap over. I've looked into both those cards but I need them to work 100% of the time guarantee that they will work OOB
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2013
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77-DS3H
CPU
i7 > Need model # > See Rules!
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,
as
P1LGRIM uses the same mobo, i'll give the HP a try. I'll let you know how it performs!

btw: Is there a way to check the rev of the mobo.
When i check the Bios it just says the Model Name and the Bios Version (F9)
but no revision. I remember it was written on the packaging, but i don't have it anymore.


Best,
n0e
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2012
Messages
2
Motherboard
P5K
CPU
core 2 quad
Graphics
ATI 5570
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I got an Intel EXPI9301CTBLK for 35€ which work with the oldest driver from MB in maverick
Other drivers give network freeze.
I think the HP is much much expensive isn't it ?
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2013
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77-DS3H
CPU
i7 > Need model # > See Rules!
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I got an Intel EXPI9301CTBLK for 35€ which work with the oldest driver from MB in maverick
Other drivers give network freeze.
I think the HP is much much expensive isn't it ?

I can confirm that the HP NC360T works out of the box. I get them on amazon.de for 40€ also on ebay you can get them cheap for 36€ currently. The original price was much higher i guess.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top