Contribute
Register

System Compatibilty - HDD sharing

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
Intel i5 3570
Graphics
560ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello there,

I have the following system and would like to know if it´s compatible with the hackintosh project. Do I have to change some component or take care about some specific things?

- CPU: Intel i5 3750 CPU
- Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
- Graphic card: Geforce GTX 560 Ti
- HDD: Samsung SDD 830
- RAM: Kingston HyperX blu. black DIMM Kit 8GB

In addition, i would like to know, if there must be a seperate hdd installed or if both – windows and mac – can use the same HDD?

As a boot HDD I use a Samsung SSD 830, this one should stay the boot hdd for windows and should it also for the mac.

Thanks in advance for all your help!
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2012
Messages
11
Motherboard
HP 250 G5
CPU
i3 5005u
Graphics
Intel HD5500
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
You will be able to create a partition during set up for OS X. So yes, you can use a single drive for both OS.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
Intel i5 3570
Graphics
560ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
You will be able to create a partition during set up for OS X. So yes, you can use a single drive for both OS.

Thank you for your post. Are my listed hardware components also fine?

Best regards,
Steltek
 

Jamesbond007

Moderator
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
6,522
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700KF
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello there,

I have the following system and would like to know if it´s compatible with the hackintosh project. Do I have to change some component or take care about some specific things?

- CPU: Intel i5 3750 CPU
- Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
- Graphic card: Geforce GTX 560 Ti
- HDD: Samsung SDD 830
- RAM: Kingston HyperX blu. black DIMM Kit 8GB

In addition, i would like to know, if there must be a separate hdd installed or if both – windows and mac – can use the same HDD?

As a boot HDD I use a Samsung SSD 830, this one should stay the boot hdd for windows and should it also for the mac.

Thanks in advance for all your help!

I don't think there is a Core i5 3750 CPU. Do you actually have a Core i5 3570? Otherwise the hardware seems compatible.

You can use one hard disk for both OS, but we generally recommend using separate hard disks since in the event of problems it is much easier to troubleshoot if the systems are on separate hard disks.

Now if your SSD already has Windows on it, you may need to wipe it clean and repartition it (in the Disk Utility) since Windows and OSX uses different hard disk partition schemes (MBR vs GPT). Of course in such a scenario you will need to reinstall Windows as well. Are you sure you want to do this?
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
Intel i5 3570
Graphics
560ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I don't think there is a Core i5 3750 CPU. Do you actually have a Core i5 3570? Otherwise the hardware seems compatible.

You can use one hard disk for both OS, but we generally recommend using separate hard disks since in the event of problems it is much easier to troubleshoot if the systems are on separate hard disks.

Now if your SSD already has Windows on it, you may need to wipe it clean and repartition it (in the Disk Utility) since Windows and OSX uses different hard disk partition schemes (MBR vs GPT). Of course in such a scenario you will need to reinstall Windows as well. Are you sure you want to do this?

To be true, except the grapic card, I´m going to buy those components.

This CPU exists, take a look here: http://ark.intel.com/de/products/65702 (Or here I would buy: http://www.idealo.de/preisvergleich...box-sockel-1155-22nm-bx80637i53570-intel.html)

It´s 20 Euro cheaper and can´t be that easy overclocked, but I´m actually not planning to overclock the cpu so I thought i save that 20 Euro. Do you have any other idea about that?

Good Hint regarding the repartitioning, I thought i could reduce the partition i use for microsoft at the moment and create a new partition with the OSX partition scheme (GPT), dont you think that would work?
 

Jamesbond007

Moderator
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
6,522
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i7 9700KF
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
To be true, except the grapic card, I´m going to buy those components.

This CPU exists, take a look here: http://ark.intel.com/de/products/65702 (Or here I would buy: http://www.idealo.de/preisvergleich...box-sockel-1155-22nm-bx80637i53570-intel.html)

It´s 20 Euro cheaper and can´t be that easy overclocked, but I´m actually not planning to overclock the cpu so I thought i save that 20 Euro. Do you have any other idea about that?

Good Hint regarding the repartitioning, I thought i could reduce the partition i use for microsoft at the moment and create a new partition with the OSX partition scheme (GPT), dont you think that would work?

As I said the CPU is a Core i5 3570, not a 3750 as you originally stated.

For the repartitioning, no, it won't work that way. In all probability your hard disk is partitioned using the MBR (Master Boot Record) scheme, and in such a case you have to wipe out your hard disk (including Windows and all data) before you can repartition your hard disk using the GPT partition scheme.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
Intel i5 3570
Graphics
560ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thanks Mr. Bond!!

Hopefully my last question. I´ve already searched for an answer but haven´t found something yet.

Is it equal which OS I install first?

At the moment I would like to install first MacOS on my SSD, after that is finished, i´m going to install windows 8 on another hdd I have. Is there any tutorial how to do this? I think, installing MacOS wont be that hard, but how can i install windows after that and how can I choose what OS should be booted?

Thanks in advance for any help!

BR
Steltek
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2013
Messages
13
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
Intel i5 3570
Graphics
560ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thanks Dude, thats what I searched for. Maybe I just used the wrong words for the search! :)

Have a nice evening.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top