Contribute
Register

Swapped out GTX560 for GTX680

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 12, 2011
Messages
7
Motherboard
GIGAbyte Z77X-up5TH
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 640 and GTX 680
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Portable
  2. Power Mac
  3. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
I had a 10.8 system fully running on a seperate drive on a GIGAbyte Z77X-UP5TH MB with a Nvidia GTX560 video card. I came across a deal to swap the card out for a GTX 680 (kinda no brainer). Since I use windows 7 on this machince as a gaming rig i thought i might be able to swap out with little or no issues. OSX appears to load, but of course I now have the wrong video card drivers loaded. Is there a way to get back into my OSX setup without having to reload from scratch. I have been doing a search, but haven't come across a definitive answer yet. Since this site has some of the best guides I have used i thought I might get some assistance here.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
1,364
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Ultra
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
u will need to change GraphicsEnabler=YES to NO for the new GFX card
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2011
Messages
7
Motherboard
GIGAbyte Z77X-up5TH
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 640 and GTX 680
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Portable
  2. Power Mac
  3. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
It was already setup with the GraphicsEnabler=NO when I had the other card in the system. So it changed becuase I swapped out the vid card?? That doesn't sound logical or right....
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
1,364
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Ultra
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
GE=NO is right
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2011
Messages
7
Motherboard
GIGAbyte Z77X-up5TH
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 640 and GTX 680
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Portable
  2. Power Mac
  3. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
Ok... Maybe i'm not giving you all of the info. I get the Mac logo and thge loading spinner and then it finishes to a gray screen and all drive ativity stops. How do I get into the system to enable the GraphicsEnabler=NO to see if that will allow the system to finish the boot. I would rather not have to start over from the start once again if I don't have to. What I was saying is that the GTX560 booted without issues and I already had GraphicsEnabler=NO set.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
1,364
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Ultra
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 590
let me explain the differances chimera uses these default flags for gfx GE=NO npci=0x2000 PCIRoot=1 where the main chamelon branch uses PCIRoot=0 GE=no by default so if root=1 isnt working then use root=0 does this help u at all?
 
Joined
Sep 12, 2011
Messages
7
Motherboard
GIGAbyte Z77X-up5TH
CPU
i7 3770
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 640 and GTX 680
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Portable
  2. Power Mac
  3. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  2. Other
Thanks!!

After booting with those entries on the boot line I was able to get back into the system...

Its been a while since I had used the boot loader functions and was having a senior moment. my two braincells are fighting over who gets control...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top