Contribute
Register

SUPERMICRO X8DAH+-F SUCCESS [SORT OF]

Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
900
Motherboard
HP 250 G5 (81EF) Clover UEFI
CPU
i3 5005u
Graphics
HD 5500 (1366x768)
Mobile Phone
Android
The strange thing about this board is that according to Clover the HD audio controller is a 3a3e (alc1200/888) according to windows device manager the audio controller is an 888--(whilst using the 886 codec) -according to Linux codec dump -- also an 886. I have gotten as far as seeing devices in system preferences that even change between headphones and speaker if I insert the jack -- but still no sound. No sound assertion errors but no sound nonetheless -- VoodooHDA worked but that is such a band-aid solution. (Note: this is all in 10.6.8)

Even the newest Clover ALC patches do not work with this motherboard (10.10 +)--- probably speaking to no one in a dead thread but maybe there is hope out there........
Does the codec dump and Windows Device Manager show 10ec0886 or 10ec0888?
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2015
Messages
21
Motherboard
X8DAH+‑F‑LR
CPU
2x Xeon 5680
Graphics
GTX 480
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Other
Does the codec dump and Windows Device Manager show 10ec0886 or 10ec0888?
Codec form linux say 10ec0888 but using the 886 Codec -- Windows says 10ec0888 but the realtek manager indicates it is using the 886 codec
-- I can upload files. I have a patched AppleHDA i did myself that has no sound assertion errors and there are devices present -- but no sound. Only VoodooHDA works -- I am analyzing it's codec dump to see why/how it works.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
900
Motherboard
HP 250 G5 (81EF) Clover UEFI
CPU
i3 5005u
Graphics
HD 5500 (1366x768)
Mobile Phone
Android
Codec form linux say 10ec0888 but using the 886 Codec -- Windows says 10ec0888 but the realtek manager indicates it is using the 886 codec
-- I can upload files. I have a patched AppleHDA i did myself that has no sound assertion errors and there are devices present -- but no sound. Only VoodooHDA works -- I am analyzing it's codec dump to see why/how it works.
Same issue with my MSI motherboard and ALC888S in El Capitan. I used AppleHDA Patcher, devices show but no sound at all.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2015
Messages
21
Motherboard
X8DAH+‑F‑LR
CPU
2x Xeon 5680
Graphics
GTX 480
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Other
Same issue with my MSI motherboard and ALC888S in El Capitan. I used AppleHDA Patcher, devices show but no sound at all.
Have you made a code graph of your soundcard? I have this feeling that the routing in these particular iterations of the chipset are not just -pincomplex-mixer-output -- I believe NID11 which is also a mixer has something to do with it. No one really wants to help but maybe we can figure this out ---
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
46
Motherboard
supermicro
CPU
E5645
Graphics
ATI HD 5870
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Xserve
Mobile Phone
iOS
Is there any update(s) on the Supermicro X8 Dual Processor XEON build?
Mr. Photon how to get a hold of you to share knowledge?
I have the X8DTE-F which is very similar and I'd like to build it as a mackintosh (done it before) just looking for the latest GUIDES.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
46
Motherboard
supermicro
CPU
E5645
Graphics
ATI HD 5870
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Xserve
Mobile Phone
iOS
For AUDIO I have been using the USB Audio devices (for many Hackintoshes as well as the xServe server) and they work without any Problems no drivers needed. as little as $1.99 on eBay but I really like the $8 version with volume control, mute on the USB itself.
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2014
Messages
1
Motherboard
HP Z640
CPU
E5-2620 v3
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
Mac Pro
I have built my seventh hackintosh and this one was definitely the most difficult but also the strongest machine to date [dual x5680 @3.3GHZ 6-core] --- I have everything working except sound (Ethernet is provided by the AppleIGB kext) -- the sound chip is a Realtek 888 7.1. Using Chimera did not work most of the time so I went with Clover this time. During boot I see lots of sound assertion errors etc....in 'about this Mac' I see Intel HD audio with various in/outs but there is no output device in system preferences. Curiously, sometimes it says audio ID as 892, sometimes 885, sometimes 887. This install required a basic (non-patched) DSDT in the ACPI folder in clover. This motherboard doesn't have an HDEF or AZAL section in the dsdt --

I have to run Snow Leopard for certain applications but I also have a Yosemite install on the same computer (boots with the same clover install)---I know that the clover alc patch should work for Yosemite but is there any solution for snow leopard? It seems that for those of us having to maintain legacy hackintoshes that our options and our access to help is dwindling (for good reason I understand)------ I can upload my dsdt if requested or any other table from my ACPI. \

Any hope WORKING ONBOARD audio (alc 8888, clover boot, 10.6.8) ---if not, no worries, it is a Pro Tools computer and I can use the interface(s) though I prefer using Ableton with onboard audio ---




basically the question is --- is it possible to get realtek 888 7.1 working in Snow Leopard via Clover boot?
Hi Could you please share what configuration you put in the Clover config playlist?
I have: X8DAH+-F Dual x5690 3.46Ghz
And for almost 2 weeks I can’t install the High Sierra OS
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2011
Messages
3
Motherboard
Super Micro X8SAX
CPU
X5667
Graphics
HD 5770
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Could you please share what configuration you put in the Clover config playlist?
I have: X8DAH+-F Dual x5690 3.46Ghz
And for almost 2 weeks I can’t install the High Sierra OS
Dear,

This is the perfect configuration for the card:
Running on: 'X8SAX' with board 'X8SAX'
BrandString = Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU X5667 @ 3.07GHz

High Sierra 10.13.6

Enjoy it
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
46
Motherboard
supermicro
CPU
E5645
Graphics
ATI HD 5870
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Xserve
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have High Sierra running on Supermicro X8DTE with dual E5645. I also can not boot directly from the disk, but need to use the UniBeast USB. But after that H.S. runs smooth. I could Dual Boot as well if I have a separate WIN Disk installed, either by booting directly from the Win disk or selecting it from Clover menu. I have hot swap trays, so I just plug in the disk I want to boot from and all the ones I don't.
 
Top