Contribute
Register

Successful Sierra install -- How to backup / restore?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-170X-UD3 Ultra
CPU
CPU:i7-6700K
Graphics
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 950 (GV-N950XTREME-2GD)
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi there,

New to this forum and Hackintosh building. I have a general question. I'm sure it's been addressed on forums and guides out there, but I'm having a hard time finding it stated clearly.

I just finished tweaking my Sierra 10.12.1 install. It's now stable and at a point where I am happy thus far.

Is it possible to create a backup or clone of my disk to easily restore if something goes wrong?
What are some options /to achieve this? Or am I stuck rebuilding if I need to do a clean install?

Any links to resources would be great. I'm fairly new to this, so the more detailed, the better.

Thanks for any help / suggestions !

Hi there.. I don't want to hijack this thread at all, but the title sounds like I should be here rather than start a new thread.. I second the OP... (Ledde)

I have the same question. I've reinstalled Sierra/Clover over a dozen times and I've gotten good. I even know the VERY moment the system gets BORKED (I'm reusing a word I read here lately). Every time I try to deal with Audio, something goes wrong, and I'm left with reinstalling. I'd rather not.

(I'll deal with audio in another thread)

Several pages talk about backing up the system, but recovering is hardly covered at all.. for example, you make a copy of your EFI folder and both main kexts folders to a usb thumb drive.. but when the system won't start again, how do you get your data copied to the drive into the correct folders on the main drive... and then rebuild the cache.. and then permissions...

Or you use a clone software. Back up where? and then how do you run the restore software to re-image you partitions?