Contribute
Register

Success - Z370-HD3 i5-8600K - GTX 1060 Build

Joined
Oct 31, 2014
Messages
94
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 HD3
CPU
i3-8100
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Hi!

Could you tell me what guides you followed to make the hackintosh to your computer?

I am trying to do it with a similar configuration without success:
  • Motherboard: Gigabyte Z370 HD3
  • CPU: Intel Core i3 (8100) -- which I plan to replace with an i5 or i7 in the near future
  • RAM: G.Skill RipjawsV 2x8GB at 3000MHz
  • GPU: NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB (Gigabyte)
Thanks :)


Did you ever get it figured out because I have almost the exact same setup as you and it won't work as well. It won't see my SSD drive after install and MultiBeast.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2011
Messages
53
Motherboard
Z390 Aorus Pro Wi-Fi
CPU
i7-3720QM / QM77
Graphics
K2000M
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello, I try to install on this system, tried all versions - Sierra, High Sierra, Mojave. No matter, if i try with my Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti, graphics always shows 8MB VRAM. Only when i inject Nvidia shows correct GPU but with 256MB RAM. Tried all solutions from this site regarding this Z370-HD3 board... to no avail.. some help please? This is my 7th install rig and the only one I am stuck. Thanks.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2019
Messages
62
Motherboard
GA-Z370N WiFi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You said you did something that prevented HS form converting the drive to APFS, what do I ned to do to do that? I'm a this is my first hacintosh build so the more detailed the better. Thanks.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2015
Messages
6
Motherboard
Z370 HD3
CPU
i5 8400
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey. I updated the BIOS of the Gigabyte Z370-HD3 motherboard to version F11, and my system stopped loading. Having made a downgrade bios to the version F10, I again received a successful download. Has anyone else been like that?
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2019
Messages
62
Motherboard
GA-Z370N WiFi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What benefits were u looking to get out of upgrading bios? Since my system is fully functional it’s never crossed my mind.
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2015
Messages
6
Motherboard
Z370 HD3
CPU
i5 8400
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
update - improved microcode, as promised by the manufacturer. always try to update that system, that periphery
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2019
Messages
1
My config.plist is at the bottom of Post #1. As to the USB issues, have you created an SSDT for USB as per Rehabman's guide to dealing with the usb port limit? I have mine in the EFI folder (ACPI/patched) attached in post #1 but it might not be appropriate for you if the ports you are using are different. In my case the USB 2 and USB 3 ports all work fine, aside from those that are turned off in the SSDT.

Thanks so much. Putting your files from the patched folder under ACPI fixed my USB issues.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2019
Messages
62
Motherboard
GA-Z370N WiFi
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello agrajag, i have this same board with a 8700k and a RX 580 Nitro+ 8GB. Were you ever able to get your sleep to work perfectly? Everything for mine works perfect except when I put it to sleep, if i don't wake it back up until the morning the machine has rebooted itself and the screen is sitting on clover boot menu. Theres also a minor USB glitch but I can deal with that after I get the sleep issue fixed.
 
Joined
May 16, 2010
Messages
249
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370-HD3
CPU
i5-8600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello agrajag, i have this same board with a 8700k and a RX 580 Nitro+ 8GB. Were you ever able to get your sleep to work perfectly? Everything for mine works perfect except when I put it to sleep, if i don't wake it back up until the morning the machine has rebooted itself and the screen is sitting on clover boot menu. Theres also a minor USB glitch but I can deal with that after I get the sleep issue fixed.
Mine has worked since flashing the mobo to the F8 BIOS. I'm still using that since I don't see any reason to use the later ones. There could be other reasons for the issue you see- does the Console (e.g. system.log) show anything particular when it dies? The minor USB glitch could be the issue too. Sleep can get messed up by any number of issues.
 
Top