Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Z170X-UD5 TH, i7-6700K, AMD Radeon Pro WX 7100, 64GB DDR4

Joined
Sep 22, 2016
Messages
449
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5 TH-Clover
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX Vega 56
Mac
Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
I initially created my own USB SSDT from scratch by measuring out all the ports with USB2 and USB3 sticks.
Thank you! Seems that your file is available on various forums :D

Anyway, I have created a more detailed instructions how to create native USB, so USBInjectAll.kext not needed anymore at all. USBInjectAll.kext is needed only for mapping ports.
Thanks to USBInjectAll.kext and OSX-USB-SSDT is possible to create "native" USB for Z170X-UD5 TH. No need after that to use USBInjectAll.kext. Also it helps easily to disable desired ports.

port-mapping-01.jpg
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2016
Messages
109
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
WX 7100
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Anyway, I have created a more detailed instructions how to create native USB, so USBInjectAll.kext not needed anymore at all.
Oh wow, very interesting! Thanks for sharing! Will try that for sure as I am always on the look to simplify my already very reliable Hackintosh.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2013
Messages
8
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5 TH - F22g
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hi, I tried a new GPU (Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Nitro+). The GPU should work OOTB. But I ended with a black screen. My setup is pretty much the same than your Bitwig Studio Hackintosh. I would like to compare Bios/Clover Setting. On my System is no SSDT installed.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2016
Messages
109
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
WX 7100
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi, I tried a new GPU (Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Nitro+). The GPU should work OOTB. But I ended with a black screen. My setup is pretty much the same than your Bitwig Studio Hackintosh. I would like to compare Bios/Clover Setting. On my System is no SSDT installed.
Hey Hahn, sure. My BIOS settings are on my build page. I always keep them up to date. However, I only keep track of the things that I changed after resetting with "Load Optimized Defaults".

- BIOS version: F21
- Smart Fan 5 = Silent (all fans)
- BIOS > Fast Boot = Disabled
- BIOS > Full Screen LOGO Show = Disabled
- BIOS > Storage Boot Option Control = UEFI
- BIOS > Boot Option Priorities > set my primary disk as the ONLY boot option
- Chipset > Audio Controller = Disabled
- Chipset > Internal Graphics = Enabled
- Chipset > IOAPIC 24-119 Entries = Disabled
- Chipset > PCH LAN Controller > Wake on LAN Enable = Disabled
- Chipset > VT-d = Disabled
- Peripherals > Super IO Configuration > Serial Port = Disabled
- Peripherals > Thunderbolt(TM) Configuration > Security Level = No Security
- Peripherals > USB Configuration > XHCI Hand-off = Enabled
- Peripherals > Ambient LED = Off

I hope this helps.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2013
Messages
8
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5 TH - F22g
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hey Hahn, sure. My BIOS settings are on my build page. I always keep them up to date. However, I only keep track of the things that I changed after resetting with "Load Optimized Defaults".

- BIOS version: F21
- Smart Fan 5 = Silent (all fans)
- BIOS > Fast Boot = Disabled
- BIOS > Full Screen LOGO Show = Disabled
- BIOS > Storage Boot Option Control = UEFI
- BIOS > Boot Option Priorities > set my primary disk as the ONLY boot option
- Chipset > Audio Controller = Disabled
- Chipset > Internal Graphics = Enabled
- Chipset > IOAPIC 24-119 Entries = Disabled
- Chipset > PCH LAN Controller > Wake on LAN Enable = Disabled
- Chipset > VT-d = Disabled
- Peripherals > Super IO Configuration > Serial Port = Disabled
- Peripherals > Thunderbolt(TM) Configuration > Security Level = No Security
- Peripherals > USB Configuration > XHCI Hand-off = Enabled
- Peripherals > Ambient LED = Off

I hope this helps.
Thanks. Can you help me with the clover setting? Do you use the DSDT on your page? Do I have to copy the DSDT to EFI/CLOVER/APCI/patched?
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2016
Messages
109
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
WX 7100
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks. Can you help me with the clover setting? Do you use the DSDT on your page? Do I have to copy the DSDT to EFI/CLOVER/APCI/patched?
I just updated the files that are on my profile page with the ones I currently use. So, yes, you can take them and put them in /EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched/.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2013
Messages
8
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5 TH - F22g
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Thank you. But something is still not working. I will upload my Clover Settings and the content of my EFI Partitition. Would you mind to take a look at them?
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2013
Messages
8
Motherboard
Z170X-UD5 TH - F22g
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
MacBook, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I tried to install a AMD Sapphire Radeon RX 580 Nitro+ without success. I ended with a black screen. So I installed the
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 2047 MB. There are no Nvidia Web Driver installed. Nvidia Cuda is uninstalled. I would like to replace the GPU but still get the black screen. I think it must be a missing kext file. Attached are my clover setting and my clover file list. Hope you can see what is missing. Thanks for help. I need the AMD GPU because Final Cut X is very slow rendering with NVIDIA GPU.
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 23, 2016
Messages
109
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
WX 7100
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey Hahn

Let me say this first:
I always try to go as clean as possible with my Clover settings. I have no Acpi patches and also no Kernel and Kext Patches in my setup. Because of this I also have only little to no experience with most of the patches out there.
Therefore I think it makes no sense for me to comment on your modifications, patches and settings – also because I am assuming you made those changes on purpose and that they work(ed) for you.

Now, I don’t know what you already have gone through while trying to debug your issue, but here’s what I would do, if I were you:
* make a backup of your current Clover EFI
* clean install the latest Clover version
* start only with the following drivers, kexts and Clover settings

Drivers:
- /drivers64UEFI/ApfsDriverLoader-64.efi
- /drivers64UEFI/AptioMemoryFix-64.efi
- /drivers64UEFI/DataHubDxe-64.efi
- /drivers64UEFI/FSInject-64.efi
- /drivers64UEFI/PartitionDxe-64.efi
- /drivers64UEFI/SMCHelper-64.efi
- /drivers64UEFI/VBoxHfs-64.efi

kexts:
- /kexts/Other/FakeSMC.kext
- /kexts/Other/USBInjectAll.kext

Clover settings:
- config.plist > Acpi: FixShutdown
- config.plist > Acpi: FixUSB
- config.plist > Boot: dart=0
- config.plist > Kernel and Kext Patches: KernelPm, Apple RTC
- config.plist > Rt Variables > CsrActiveConfig: 0x3
- config.plist > SMBIOS: iMac14,2

In two systems I recently built (with the Z170X-UD5 TH motherboard), that alone was sufficient to have the machines successfully boot with AMD cards.

If you like (or need) you can then add back in (step by step) the patches and modifications of your old setup. That way you would also be able to see what actually causes the black screen.

I am sure there are more advanced approaches to debugging your issues, but that’s what I would do.

I hope this helps.
 
Top