Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Z170X-UD5 TH, i7-6700K, AMD Radeon Pro WX 7100, 64GB DDR4

Joined
Feb 15, 2016
Messages
42
Motherboard
GA-170X-UD5-TH - BIOS F22g
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
No, I did not remove it. Follow installation procedure. You have to use recovery procedure for first now if you got spinning wheel.
I still can't get High Sierra to install. Could you please send me a copy of your plist and which kexts you used to get it installed. Thanks in advance.
 
Joined
Aug 23, 2016
Messages
110
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
WX 7100
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I got an issue when running High Sierra, immediate wake after sleep. Amadeus, do you have any issues with sleep?
Well, Sleep never worked consistently for me. Same thing in HS. Sometimes it works flawlessly for a few times in a row. On other days the machine simply reboots after a few seconds of sleep.

But I never really took the time to track these issues down as I usually do not make my machines sleep anyways. Sorry to not be of more help here. :(
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
118
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7‑6700K
Graphics
2x GTX 980 Ti
- config.plist > Boot > Custom Flags: uia_exclude=HS07;HS08;HS09;HS10;USR1;USR2;SS04;SS05;SS07;SS08;SS09;SS10

- /ACPI/patched/ssdt-usb.aml (custom USB2/3 port mapping made by hand)

I'm using the same mobo+processor and these kill my USB ports. :(
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
118
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7‑6700K
Graphics
2x GTX 980 Ti
I solved this issue as well by replacing audio drivers with AppleALC/AppleALC: Native macOS HD audio method. Had to clean old audio install and app the new method. Sleep is working fine now! :)
How did you get sleep working? I've tried everything (in a High Sierra 10.13.3 (17D102) install) and can't seem to get it working. Did you set a darkwake bootflag? I had to use 'darkwake=8" to get sleep to work back in the day under El Cap. Are you using the FixWAK "NewWay" Patch?

I'm using the following kexts as well:
CodecCommander (no more audio loss after sleep/wake)
AppleALC (for ALC1150 audio)
Lilu
NvidiaGraphicsFixup

...and /drivers64UEFI/
apfs.efi
AppleImageCodec-64.efi
AppleKeyAggregator-64.efi
AppleUITheme-64.efi
DataHubDxe-64.efi
EmuVariableUefi-64.efi
FirmwareVolume-64.efi
FSInject-64.efi
OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi
SMCHelper-64.efi
VBoxHfs-64.efi​

Which Nvidia driver are you using? I used turtleguy's fix to install/patch the last Sierra Nvidia driver (378.10.10.10.25.106) because all High Sierra drivers are super slow/glitchy for me. Apparently I'm not alone. And benjamin.dobell has the following drivers blacklisted in his nvidia-update script:

(basically every current High Sierra driver)
387.10.10.10.25.156
387.10.10.10.25.157
387.10.10.10.25.158
387.10.10.10.25.159

Thanks!
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
118
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7‑6700K
Graphics
2x GTX 980 Ti
That's strange. I have two almost identical Hackintosh builds and this works on both of them.

Do you not get USB 3.0 speeds if you don't use the custom USB2/3 port mapping and flags?

Re: USB , I'm currently only using:
- USBInjectAll.kext
- config.plist > Acpi: FixUSB
- config.plist > Kernel and Kext Patches: 15 port limit to 26 in 10.13 XHCI kext

...and everything seems to be working fine but haven't tested USB 3.0 speeds yet.

On an unrelated note, I discovered the following:
1) OsxAptioFix3Drv-64.efi without EmuVariableUefi-64.efi = Nvidia web drivers load
2) OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi + EmuVariableUefi-64.efi = Nvidia web drivers load
3) OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi without EmuVariableUefi-64.efi = Nvidia web drivers do not load

I noticed you went with option 1. Is there any advantage over option 2? Thanks
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
118
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7‑6700K
Graphics
2x GTX 980 Ti
Update 2 (SSDT):
I added a custom SSDT. Had to download the Beta ssdtPRGen.sh as mentioned in the comments of Quick Guide to Generate a SSDT for CPU Power Management as the script otherwise was unable to recognize my CPU.

I think the script wasn't able to recognize the CPU because the hardware does not match the iMac14,2 system definition. I was able to generate a SSDT while using the iMac17,1 system definition.

Skylake System Definitions:
Retina 5K, 27-inch, Intel Core i7-6700K 4.0GHz
Mac-65CE76090165799A:iMac17,1
Retina 5K, 27-inch, Intel Core i5-6600 3.3GHz
Mac-B809C3757DA9BB8D:iMac17,1
Retina 5K, 27-inch, Intel Core i5-6500 3.2GHz
Mac-DB15BD556843C820:iMac17,1

Skylake
i7-6700T
i7-6700K
i7-6700
i5-6600T
i5-6600K
i5-6600
i5-6500T
i5-6500
i5-6400T
i5-6400
i3-6320
i3-6300T
i3-6300
i3-6100T
i3-6100

Haswell System Definitions:
Mac-031B6874CF7F642A:iMac14,1
Mac-27ADBB7B4CEE8E61:iMac14,2
Mac-77EB7D7DAF985301:iMac14,3
Mac-81E3E92DD6088272:iMac14,4

Intel Core i5-4690 @ 3.50 GHz
Mac-42FD25EABCABB274:iMac15,1
Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.0 GHz
Mac-FA842E06C61E91C5:iMac15,1

Mac-189A3D4F975D5FFC:MacBookPro11,1
Mac-3CBD00234E554E41:MacBookPro11,2
Mac-2BD1B31983FE1663:MacBookPro11,3
Mac-06F11FD93F0323C5:MacBookPro11,4
Mac-06F11F11946D27C5:MacBookPro11,5
Mac-35C1E88140C3E6CF:MacBookAir6,1
Mac-7DF21CB3ED6977E5:MacBookAir6,2
Mac-F60DEB81FF30ACF6:MacPro6,1
Mac-35C5E08120C7EEAF:Macmini7,1

Haswell
i7-4770K
i7-4790
i5-4690K
i7-4790K
i5-4430S
i7-4771
i7-4770
i5-4590K
i5-4590
i5-4670K
i5-4670
i5-4570
i5-4440
i5-4440S
i5-4430
i7-4790S
i7-4790T
i7-4785T
i7-4770R
i7-4770S
i7-4770T
i7-4765T
i5-4670R
i5-4690
i5-4690S
i5-4690T
i5-4670S
i5-4670T
i5-4590
i5-4590S
i5-4590T
i5-4570S
i5-4570T
i5-4570TE
i5-4460
i5-4460T
i5-4460S
i3-4130
i3-4130T
i3-4150
i3-4150T
i3-4160
i3-4160T
i3-4330
i3-4330T
i3-4330TE
i3-4340
i3-4340TE
i3-4350
i3-4350T
i3-4360
i3-4360T
i3-4370

Haswell E
i7-5960X
i7-5930K
i7-5820K​
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
118
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7‑6700K
Graphics
2x GTX 980 Ti
That's strange. I have two almost identical Hackintosh builds and this works on both of them.
...after some more testing, it turns out that only my front USB 2.0 and 3.0 ports were disabled (internal USB headers).
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
1,105
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You need to properly adjust(you can only have 15 ports) and map the usb ports on your hack. See Rehabman's excellent guide on this site for more info.
You can't just copy someone else's settings unless you have exactly the same setup(mobo, case, wifi/bluetooth etc).
Otherwise you will have some/lots of weirdness.
 
Top