[Success] Yosemite 10.10 on Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD4 / MSI GTX 970

Discussion in 'Yosemite Desktop Guides' started by MrPopman, Mar 28, 2015.

  1. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,841
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Apr 10, 2015 at 9:36 PM #11
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,841
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    That Crucial model uses Advanced Formatting (4K) which causes the boot0 errors.
     
  2. dealstack

    dealstack

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Mobo:
    4530s a7k06ut
    CPU:
    i3 2350
    Graphics:
    hd 3000
    Jan 20, 2016 at 4:53 PM #12
    dealstack

    dealstack

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Mobo:
    4530s a7k06ut
    CPU:
    i3 2350
    Graphics:
    hd 3000
    Anyone know if this board will work with clover? Any major reasons why it wouldn't?
     
  3. MrPopman

    MrPopman

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-860 2.8 GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 21, 2016 at 3:55 PM #13
    MrPopman

    MrPopman

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-860 2.8 GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yes, I believe it is possible to use Clover to install El Capitan on this board. Life has gotten in my way of playing with my computer, it is my only system, so I haven't tried yet. There are a couple of resources to get started with:
    and there is the help forums
    Based on their info, it should work. It is mostly a case of reviewing them and identifying the information that is relevant to the P55 chipset and our GA-P55M board, and putting together a plan to test the install.

    Update 6/25/2016: I did a preliminary test install and found that Clover/El Capitan does work. One issue to be aware of is that you have to edit the Tonymac DSDT to make audio work with the current Multibeast. See my guide No Audio Devices in El Capitan on Series 5 motherboards Fix [Guide] for details. I will put together a full guide at some point, but life has continued.

    My plan for testing an OS update is the following. Before doing this, make sure you have 2 good backups you can restore from. Test your ability to read files off of both of them. Review all of the applications you have installed and use and verify each either works with El Capitan or has an update available. If neither exists, determine your plan for replacing the application. When you start, unplug your main drive OS/boot drive and work exclusively off of a second drive that has no data on it. Assume everything on the 2nd drive will be lost during this process. Then you can do a test install on the 2nd drive, see what works, what doesn't, go back to the forums and read some more, refine the install, and repeat until you are happy. Once you are happy, then work on installing over your current boot drive, or do a clean install and use migration assistant to restore your data. From everything I have read so far, installing El Capitan using Clover on top of Yosemite using Chameleon is doable, so I don't expect a clean install is required.
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2016
  4. dealstack

    dealstack

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Mobo:
    4530s a7k06ut
    CPU:
    i3 2350
    Graphics:
    hd 3000
    Jan 22, 2016 at 3:22 PM #14
    dealstack

    dealstack

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Mobo:
    4530s a7k06ut
    CPU:
    i3 2350
    Graphics:
    hd 3000
    Thanks for reply! Its actually a great board and I'd love to get some more life out of it. Now to find some testing hard drives...
     
  5. BasementFruit

    BasementFruit

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    Asus z270G
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 23, 2016 at 12:04 PM #15
    BasementFruit

    BasementFruit

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    Asus z270G
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hey Mr. Popman.
    Nice guide you did there. :)

    I see that you are using the msi gtx 970.
    How do you like it? Does the no-fan-mode in idle work for you?

    Cheers.
    BFruit
     
  6. MrPopman

    MrPopman

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-860 2.8 GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 25, 2016 at 4:45 PM #16
    MrPopman

    MrPopman

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-860 2.8 GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    With the WebDriver from Nvidia the no-fan mode works perfectly. When booting OS X when the Nvidia driver loads, the fans briefly go to high speed. After that they seem to do the right thing as the GPU temperature never seems to get too high, the fans are stopped or very slow (not audible above CPU fan) for normal desktop usage, and speed up when gaming.
     
  7. Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,841
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 25, 2016 at 9:33 PM #17
    Stork

    Stork Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10,841
    Mobo:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VIII GENE Z170
    CPU:
    i5-6600K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 950 2GB OC WindForce 2X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Please post your El Capitan guide in a new thread in the El Capitan Desktop Guides forum section. As a user of P55M-UD2 and -UD4 systems, still, I'm looking forward to your guide. I updated my P55M-UD4 Batman build here.
     
  8. MrPopman

    MrPopman

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-860 2.8 GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jul 27, 2016 at 2:45 AM #18
    MrPopman

    MrPopman

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-P55M-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-860 2.8 GHz
    Graphics:
    MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have now completed my El Capitan install for this motherboard and video card and posted my guide for it.
     
  9. mcharles

    mcharles

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte p55m-ud4
    CPU:
    2ghz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 9400 GT
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 3, 2017 at 3:51 AM #19
    mcharles

    mcharles

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte p55m-ud4
    CPU:
    2ghz Intel Core i7
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 9400 GT
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Thanks to your well-written and informative guide, I have finally got my upgrade to Yosemite working on my dependable Gigabyte P55M-UD4 10 (Using MB 7.5)
    Virtually everything works perfectly (including my USB 3.0 card, lan connection, and graphics).
    However, although I added the 889a Realtek codec, I can't get the audio working, and I am still getting the "no output devices found" in sound preferences.

    Any suggestions to get the audio working? I have tried the Optional ID 1 as well.

    Thanks in advance.



    Screen Shot 2017-01-02 at 7.45.17 PM.png




    Screen Shot 2017-01-02 at 7.45.17 PM.png
     

Share This Page