Contribute
Register

Success with Gigabyte H370M DS3H +i5-8400 coffee lake

Joined
May 22, 2018
Messages
17
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M D3H
CPU
Intel I5 8400
Graphics
Intel UHD 630
Hi Hussain,

Can you upload your clover file?

for HDMI you can try the HDMIinjection option n your clover file.
but you need to have the correct fake intel gfx ID in your clover file too.
how much graphics memory do you have when connected to VGA?
Hi there - I've attached my clover config file and my About this Mac as requested

EDIT - Turns out the guide I followed was for Intel HD 630 graphics and not UHD, However I'm not sure what changes need to be made for UHD 630
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 11, 2015
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M-DS3H
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
UHD 630 + GT 740
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac, SE/30
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi there - I've attached my clover config file and my About this Mac as requested

EDIT - Turns out the guide I followed was for Intel HD 630 graphics and not UHD, However I'm not sure what changes need to be made for UHD 630
Hi,

Please backup your actual confi.plist
Then can you try this config.plist and try to use the HDMI?
If not working, restart with the UEFI of the USB, put back your backed up config.plist and tell me
 

Attachments

Joined
May 22, 2018
Messages
17
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M D3H
CPU
Intel I5 8400
Graphics
Intel UHD 630
Hi,

Please backup your actual confi.plist
Then can you try this config.plist and try to use the HDMI?
If not working, restart with the UEFI of the USB, put back your backed up config.plist and tell me
Hi there, Thank you so much - it's working perfectly.
Just out of curiosity what was the solution?
Also, Will I be able to connect multiple displays?
- Only thing I noticed is on boot up, the apple logo flickers/bugs out into a red/blue box apart from that its perfect
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2015
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M-DS3H
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
UHD 630 + GT 740
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac, SE/30
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi there, Thank you so much - it's working perfectly.
Just out of curiosity what was the solution?
Also, Will I be able to connect multiple displays?
- Only thing I noticed is on boot up, the apple logo flickers/bugs out into a red/blue box apart from that its perfect
Hi glad to hear it works.
The UHD 630 with this board is really tricky.
- first you need to use 59128086 instead of 59168086 in device > fakeid
- the you don't need the HDMIInjection option.
- You also need to use an imac18.1 profile for your bios. (you can test with the 17.1, it may resolve your glitch issue.)
- the hard part is that because we are using a SkyLake frame Buffer for CoffeeLake, you need to do a new mapping port (the 4 line I had in kernel patch) without that, the HDMI is not recognised as HDMI (Thanks to Mald0n)

you probably can use dual display, but you have to know that there is still some issue, I think you have to hot plus the second screen after each restart (need to test)

For your audio :
- Put the AppleALC.kext on your EFI

In config plist :
-activate reset HDA
-put the layout 7 (just over the reset HDA option)
-you also need to replace HDAS to HDEF (search on google)

and test, I'm really not sur for audio, it works on mine, but I don't know really why
If not working, Voodoo works pretty well
 

Attachments

Joined
Aug 11, 2015
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M-DS3H
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
UHD 630 + GT 740
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac, SE/30
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi there, Thank you so much - it's working perfectly.
Just out of curiosity what was the solution?
Also, Will I be able to connect multiple displays?
- Only thing I noticed is on boot up, the apple logo flickers/bugs out into a red/blue box apart from that its perfect
You can also try my clover file :
- you need to have the F2 bios version
- the "really good" file is the bios profile you probably need to use
- you probably need to change the smbios as I made a custom one
- there is a dsdt patch on it so not sure it works on your mono
 

Attachments

Joined
May 22, 2018
Messages
17
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M D3H
CPU
Intel I5 8400
Graphics
Intel UHD 630
Hi glad to hear it works.
The UHD 630 with this board is really tricky.
- first you need to use 59128086 instead of 59168086 in device > fakeid
- the you don't need the HDMIInjection option.
- You also need to use an imac18.1 profile for your bios. (you can test with the 17.1, it may resolve your glitch issue.)
- the hard part is that because we are using a SkyLake frame Buffer for CoffeeLake, you need to do a new mapping port (the 4 line I had in kernel patch) without that, the HDMI is not recognised as HDMI (Thanks to Mald0n)

you probably can use dual display, but you have to know that there is still some issue, I think you have to hot plus the second screen after each restart (need to test)

For your audio :
- Put the AppleALC.kext on your EFI

In config plist :
-activate reset HDA
-put the layout 7 (just over the reset HDA option)
-you also need to replace HDAS to HDEF (search on google)

and test, I'm really not sur for audio, it works on mine, but I don't know really why
If not working, Voodoo works pretty well
You can also try my clover file :
- you need to have the F2 bios version
- the "really good" file is the bios profile you probably need to use
- you probably need to change the smbios as I made a custom one
- there is a dsdt patch on it so not sure it works on your mono
Cheers for your reponse, will do this shortly once my setups complete - Hopefully get back to you and shoot you a message if i run into any issues.
Thank you so much though!
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2018
Messages
7
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M DS3H
CPU
Intel I3-8100
Graphics
onboard
Hi rbrooker,

your issue is not really the "reinstall OS X" it's mandatory to have your hackintosh connect to internet. best by ethernet. for that check that intelmausi kext is in your kext file on the USB key. then try again.
That kext file is on the USB. Sadly no success. Still scratching around to see if I can find a solution. Hard to come up to speed when you're a n00b.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2015
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M-DS3H
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
UHD 630 + GT 740
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac, SE/30
Mobile Phone
iOS
That kext file is on the USB. Sadly no success. Still scratching around to see if I can find a solution. Hard to come up to speed when you're a n00b.
Be sure to not start from recovery
Try to create a new USB key just to check.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2013
Messages
1
Motherboard
Win
CPU
Q8300
Graphics
GIgabyte GT 9800
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
hi backward, i tried your clover file and it keeps reboot and stuck at kernel. cannot boot to the osx installer, any help?
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2015
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M-DS3H
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
UHD 630 + GT 740
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac, SE/30
Mobile Phone
iOS
hi backward, i tried your clover file and it keeps reboot and stuck at kernel. cannot boot to the osx installer, any help?
Where did you put me clover file? in the USB UEFI key or on the UEFI of the disk?
If you put it on the key the recreate a new one, if on the disk, start on the Key by pressing f12 at startup
 
Top