Contribute
Register

Success with Gigabyte H370M DS3H +i5-8400 coffee lake

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
6,780
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
GT 1030
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Sorry for the ambiguity, the System Preferences says it needs to restart. Usually after I click the restart button, an extra boot option will appear in Clover. But it doesn't appear now, I can only go back to my usual boot where the System Preferences will again tell me that there's an update.

So far, I've tried:


From your description it sounds as though the updater doesn't find the file archive it needs when you select the option from Clover. The first part of the install is to copy necessary files over to a temporary location on the main drive.

Your build has a couple of Windows disks present. The 1TB one has it's own EFI folder. My guess is the extracted files for the update are being stored in the wrong place, by mistake. The installer can't find them and reverts to the previous version. Given the Windows drive should be in NTFS format, this seems an unlikely scenario, but something is causing the problem ...

So, I would disconnect the Windows drives (120GB and 1TB) and try the update again.

:)
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M-DS3H
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks for the trouble. Yes I have 3 drives connected at all times:
  1. 250GB for macOS (APFS).
  2. 120GB for Windows (NTFS).
  3. 1TB non-bootable disk, just straight up personal files accessible to both OS (ExFAT).
What confuses me the most is that the 3rd drive has its own EFI folder. I have attached the EFI folder in question, and I can't decide whether or not it is important. If not, how do I get rid of it?
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    4.2 MB · Views: 67
Joined
Nov 30, 2011
Messages
117
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M-D3H-Clover
CPU
i3-8350K
Graphics
RX 570, 1920x1080
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm having the same problem and I have the same motherboard. Hmm...Select update from Software update and its the same thing, no choice to select the update boot option. Downloaded the stand alone, same thing. I do have a secondary drive installed that has a vanilla 10.15.4 version for testing. Going to try that and see what happens.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2016
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte H370M-DS3H
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Screen Shot 2020-05-29 at 11.10.30 PM.png

I have successfully installed the update using a bootable macOS installer flash drive. I did not actually use the installer, only the Clover bootloader provided by UniBeast 10.1.0-4. Using that bootloader instead of the one my internal drive, I was able to see the extra drive meant to install the update.

I did not delete the EFI partition on my 3rd disk. Thank you for all the help.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2020
Messages
1
Motherboard
Intel NUC
CPU
Intel Core i5-7260U
Graphics
Intel Iris Plus Graphics 640 2048 MB
Hi,

My system is:

Intel Core i5-9600KF 3.7 GHz 6-Core Processor
Gigabyte b365m ds3h
Asus Radeon HD 7790 1 GB Video Card Deepcool
TP-Link TL-WN881ND PCIe x1 802.11a/b/g/n Wi-Fi Adapter

I successfully installed Catalina 15.5 but still got some issues:

1. After taking full backup/clone in External HDD or Another Internal HDD I can't boot it, it automatically shutdown
2. All the USB ports are working well but it takes too much time to power-off or reboot. If I remove the USB related .kext it reboots perfectly but USB 3.0 isn't working.

I attached my clover file into this post, if someone has an answer please let me know.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    3.4 MB · Views: 67
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
112
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Hi and thanks for your supplied Clover folders. Can I ask which internal USB2 header you're using to attach the USB lead from the Broadcom adapter? I purchased a similar adapter and can't get the Bluetooth component working with either USB2 header.

As an aside, is it necessary to keep the uia_exclude string in the Boot section of config.plist since USBPorts.kext is present? Or the USB port limit patch?
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2018
Messages
11
Motherboard
Asus m51AC
CPU
i7-4770
Graphics
R9 290
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi, Im going to build a new system 32 gb ram, same motherboard you are using, i7-9700 CPU and an AMD r9 fury booting from an m.2 drive. I'll be using a FENVI 1750mbs pci wifi card.

What EFI do I download, besides the changes for the video card, what should I change to make it work with my CPU?
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2018
Messages
11
Motherboard
Asus m51AC
CPU
i7-4770
Graphics
R9 290
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
EDITED 28/01/20 : Success With same Mobo/Cpu/iGPU/eGPU on CATALINA 10.15.2 and OpenCore

Hi every body, this is my first thread here so if I missed something, just tell me..
I start this thread because I encounter lot of issue to build an hackintosh with the H370M DS3H so it may help someone

The builds :
OS : High Sierra 10.13.5
Case : Powermac G5
MB : Gigabyte H370M DS3H
CPU : Intel Coffee Lake I8400
GPU : EVGA GT 740SC Single Slot + intel UHD 630
Firewire : PCI Express car with 2x1394b + 1x1394a + 1 header :
Wifi : Broadcom BCM943602CS by PCI Express
SSD : Samsung EVO 860
BIOS vs : F2

Working :
USB 2 and 3/3.1
Sleep/wake
Firewire
reboot/shutdown
Audio with VOODOO

Not working :
Wake by USB

Didn't test yet :
iMessage
Display port

  • I had long delay to shutting down with the last version of multibeast, so I used the clover installer and it works fine.
  • For Usb you need to use the USBInjectAll Kext
  • For ethernet, need to keep the intelmausi kext
  • I also use the XHCI-300-series-injector.kext and AHCI-300-Series.kext.
  • For IGPU working accelerated : need IntelGraphicsFixup.kext, 0x59120000 IG-Platform-ID, 0x59128086 IntelGFX FakeID And some patches in config.plist
  • I also add an .aml in ACPI/Patched

I'm not sure if my settings are perfect, but it working pretty well. So again, it can be a good starting point for other.
If you see something seems to be wrong please tell me and I will try.

I add all my Clover File in attachment

Finally, a big THANK YOU to all people in this website (and others), It's the 2nd Hackintosh I made thanks to you, and me and my brother are doing a third one with a nuc in an iMac G4 20 inche..


EDIT : Success With same Mobo/Cpu/iGPU/eGPU on MOJAVE

Hello everybody and first of all, thank's a lot for your support. I'm really glad that this thread can help some of you.

So now here is the second shot for this config with Mojave. And I can tell you, that's rocks!! especially for sleep..

Some point to know :
  • Mojave and 10.13.6 support UHD 630 and coffeeLake really better because of new coffelake Framebuffer
  • For all graphics setting, you just need Whatevergreen.kext and lilu.kext in there last version and maybe some setting in config.plist. No more intelgrapghicsfixup or IntelGFX fake id.
  • There is 3 new IG Plateform for UHD 630 :
    • (0x3E910003 Compute only)
    • (0x3E920003 Compute only)
    • (0x3E9B0007 when screen connected to it) the one I use.
  • You absolutely need to use the latest vs of clover as there there is news from aptiomemoryfix and emuvariable
  • About aptiomemoryfix, this one not work well with sleep on my Mobo, so I'm using the combination of osxaptiofix3drv and emuvariable which is kind of deprecated. but work well for me.


I give you the clover file (v2), it is based on the first one I just made some change :
  • I'm using clover vs 4769
  • In device/property in config.plist to change all port type of the UHD 630
  • In the DSDT patch to make the UHD 630 appear as built in.
  • For sleep working well I use the "sudo pmset -a standby 0" command in terminal and ERP need to be activate in bios.
  • AGDP Patch is mandatory in kernel patch
  • I deleted the serial number in SMBIOS, you need to add one.

All working fine except the audio.. I'm using an USB plug for audio instead so if you have idea or feedback to give me.. I will try.

Have fun guys!!!!!

EDIT : Success With same Mobo/Cpu/iGPU/eGPU on CATALINA 10.15.2 and OpenCore

Hi Everyone, if someone interesting to use this Board with OpenCore, here is an EFI which can help.
Everything working really well and I suggest everyone to go threw OpenCore as it is more clear and easy to know what we do. Moreover it is we'll document.

About what it is working, I think everything...

- Bios F13
- Native NVRAM Supports (possible since few days)
- Audio Working
- USB 3 working
- Sleep/Wake Working
- iMessage working
- UHD accelerated working with display on DisplayPort or HDMI (Framebuffer mapping made)
- work with 3 display.
- SideCar enable
- Night shift enable

Don't forget to make a new serial number and SSDT-UIAC for your USB using Hackintool.

I can help if someone want but I will receive a new board in few days because I need thunderbolt and I will not be able to test with the h370m DS3H anymore after the new one install.

Have Fun!!
So I am eating on my AMD fury r9 Water cooled Video card.

I tried your EFi and can not get my machine to boot.

Gigabyte H370M DS3H mother board
Intel i7 -9700 cpu (not a K)
NVME WD 500 gb
4x 8gb ram 32 gb total.
Sitting in a Thermaltake Core v21 case.


I have only used clover in the past.
I tried the Catalina clover with no luck. I am assuming the IGPU settings are different from your CPU to mine.

I have a GTX 1050ti SC sitting around I can boot from the Irish Catalina installer USB with it. But I can not boot without the video card. and with your EFI I can not boot at all.
 
Top