Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] ThinkServer TS140 - i3 4330 - HD4600 - Yosemite - Clover

Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
7
Motherboard
Lenovo TS140 / Intel C226 Chipset
CPU
Xeon E3-1225v3
Graphics
Intel P4600
Can you please let me know how did you fix the HD4600 (Xeon version) on El Capitan using the guide you provided. I can't seem to make it work and I keep having the "flicker" issue.

Thanks!
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
23,930
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Can you please let me know how did you fix the HD4600 (Xeon version) on El Capitan using the guide you provided. I can't seem to make it work and I keep having the "flicker" issue.

Like it says in the guide, I didn't use the integrated graphics on my Xeon.
I installed using the integrated graphics on the i3 4330 that came with my ThinkServer and then changed to a Geforce GT 640 before upgrading to El Capitan.
I then upgraded the processor to a Xeon E3-1245 v3.
I am currently using a GT 740 graphics card.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
7
Motherboard
Lenovo TS140 / Intel C226 Chipset
CPU
Xeon E3-1225v3
Graphics
Intel P4600
To answer my own question, and in case anyone else was asking it too, the built in graphics can definitely be used for both video and surround sound. I purchased a TS140 i3-4130 and with a little bit of fiddling using the guides below, I got it working.

http://www.tonymacx86.com/graphics/...ics-fix-full-support-alternate-cpus-os-x.html
http://www.tonymacx86.com/hdmi-audio/143760-audio-hdmi-audio-applehda-guide.html

The audio was a slog, lotsa reading, but very doable. The video was super easy. I thought about doing my own write up for anyone else in my situation, but yours is already so thorough that I think posting the additional links I used should suffice. Thanks again for the guide. Because of it, I've got a great little server and HTPC for $250.

Sorry for the confusion, I thought I clicked reply to Tsur's comment and I wanted to ask him how he fixed the HD 4600 issue using the link above.

By the way, this is my first time installing OSX on a PC and your post P1LGRIM, made it so simple! Thanks a lot for the great guide!
 

corei3cpu

Banned
Joined
Oct 20, 2015
Messages
337
Motherboard
HP Intel 6300
CPU
Intel i5-3470
Graphics
Nvidia GT 710, Dual HDMI, 1080p
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Color Classic
  3. iBook
  4. iMac
  5. Performa
  6. Power Mac
  7. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Can you please let me know how did you fix the HD4600 (Xeon version) on El Capitan using the guide you provided. I can't seem to make it work and I keep having the "flicker" issue.

Thanks!


I could not get it to work also with Display port and Intel HD graphics.
However I am using a 32-inch 1080p HDTV for display with HDMI ports.
So that could have been the problem.

Solution:
Get yourself an inexpensive Nvidia GT 610 graphics card.
Try to Boot with no injected graphics kexts in Clover config.
Try using Native OS-X Support in boot up.

Worked for me.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
23,930
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry for the confusion, I thought I clicked reply to Tsur's comment and I wanted to ask him how he fixed the HD 4600 issue using the link above.

@Tsur used an i3 4130 not a Xeon :

I purchased a TS140 i3-4130

By the way, this is my first time installing OSX on a PC and your post P1LGRIM, made it so simple!
Thanks a lot for the great guide!

Thanks for the feedback - It's good to know that the guide helped you too.
 

corei3cpu

Banned
Joined
Oct 20, 2015
Messages
337
Motherboard
HP Intel 6300
CPU
Intel i5-3470
Graphics
Nvidia GT 710, Dual HDMI, 1080p
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Color Classic
  3. iBook
  4. iMac
  5. Performa
  6. Power Mac
  7. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My TS140 will not power off when selected to power off in OS-X Yosemite 10.10.5

Any Idea why?

I know sleep is not supported.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
23,930
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My TS140 will not power off when selected to power off in OS-X Yosemite 10.10.5

Any Idea why?

I know sleep is not supported.

Sorry, no idea at all. I have never had any trouble with mine.

Maybe try generating a new config.plist.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2015
Messages
16
CPU
E3-1225 v3
Graphics
K620
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I see you are using an old BIOS B3A. Did your try with the new one B7A? Do you think may work with the last one? By the way. I'm using a Quadro K620 GPU. Do you think it will work?
It will be great to have our own forum webpage. One dedicated to ours lovedTS140.
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
23,930
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I see you are using an old BIOS B3A. Did your try with the new one B7A? Do you think may work with the last one? By the way. I'm using a Quadro K620 GPU. Do you think it will work?
It will be great to have our own forum webpage. One dedicated to ours lovedTS140.

I originally installed with BIOS B3A which was the latest available at the time, I am currently using B7A.

I have no idea about the Quadro K620 as I don't have one to test.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2015
Messages
16
CPU
E3-1225 v3
Graphics
K620
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I originally installed with BIOS B3A which was the latest available at the time, I am currently using B7A.

I have no idea about the Quadro K620 as I don't have one to test.

Thanks. I'll install it.
 
Top