[Success] SquadSeven's Build - i7 4770k - GA-Z87X-UD3H - 16GB RAM - GTX 780 3GB

Discussion in 'User Builds' started by squadseven, Sep 20, 2013.

  1. squadseven

    squadseven

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Sep 20, 2013 at 12:03 PM #1
    squadseven

    squadseven

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    [Success] [Mavericks] SquadSeven's Build - i7 4770k - GA-Z87X-UD3H - 16GB RAM - GTX 780 3GB

    [​IMG]

    Components

    Case: Corsair Carbide Series Black 500R
    http://www.amazon.com/B005E983JW

    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
    http://www.amazon.com/B00CU4L508

    CPU: Intel Core i7 4770K
    http://www.amazon.com/B00CO8TBQ0

    CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
    http://www.amazon.com/B005O65JXI

    RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 1600 MHz (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory (CMZ16GX3M2A1600C10)
    http://www.amazon.com/B006EWUO22

    Graphics Card: MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780 3GB GDDR5
    http://www.amazon.com/B00CWNYIBU

    Boot Disk: Samsung Electronics MZ-7PD128BW 840 Pro Series 2.5-Inch 128GB SATA 6Gbps Solid State Drive
    http://www.amazon.com/B009NB8WR0

    Other Disk: Western Digital WD1002FAEX Caviar Black 1 TB SATA III 7200 RPM
    http://www.amazon.com/B0036Q7MV0

    Power Supply: Seasonic 80Plus Power Supply M12II 620 BRONZE
    http://www.amazon.com/B003HE260I

    Optical Drive: Samsung 24x SATA DVD¡ARW Internal Drive 224BB/BEBE
    http://www.amazon.com/B003HE260I

    Wifi Card: TP-LINK TL-WDN4800
    http://www.amazon.com/B007GMPZ0A


    Already Owned

    DELL ST2420L Display
    They're not selling these anymore.


    IMPORTANT: The new revision of GTX 780s (GK110B) is not OpenGL compatible with OSX 10.9.1 and above. Mine is working because its the GK110 version.

    Note:
    -I couldn't get the HD4600 to play nice with the GTX780 for some reason so I disabled it.. But hey who needs it when you've got a GTX780.

    Installing OSX 10.10.3 Guide - 28th June 2015

    What Works (tested)
    - Sleep (audio works after sleep too)
    - USB 3.0
    - Audio (front port and rear green port)
    - FakeSMC Plugins + HWMonitor
    - Wifi
    - Bluetooth

    What Doesn't Work
    - Nothing so far

    Installation Instructions for OSX 10.10.3


    A) Initial Bios Configuration
    1. Update the motherboard's BIOS to version F8m via the instructions in the post below. You need to use F8m to get a stable system up and running. If you're on newer versions, I am uncertain if they'll work for you. If possible, try to get it downgraded to F8m.
    2. Enter the Bios and Press F2 to load the Classic View
    3. Press F7 to load optimized default values then proceed to change it.
    3.1. Under Peripherals > xHCI Mode, change it to AUTO
    3.2. Under Peripherals > xHCI Hand-OFF, change it to ENABLED
    3.3. Under Peripherals > EHCI Hand-OFF, Change it to Enabled
    3.4. Under Peripherals > Internal Graphics, Change it to Disabled.
    3.5. Under Peripherals > Init Display First, change it to the PCIe slot that you placed your graphics card in.
    3.6. Under Power Management > Wake on Lan, change it to Disabled.
    3.7. Under BIOS Features > Boot Options, change it to your boot disk but pick the one that starts with P2 or some number like that.
    - Do not select the UEFI version else you will get the missing operating system error.​
    4. Save and Exit Bios.

    B) Follow the guide here to get OSX Installed
    1. Follow the installation guide here for 10.10.3 by tonymacx86: http://www.tonymacx86.com/yosemite-...-x-yosemite-any-supported-intel-based-pc.html

    To boot from USB into installation, I did not need to include any boot flags.
    However after installation and the first reboot, I had to include -x to boot into safe mode.

    2. MultiBeast Configuration

    1) Download Multibeast 7.3.0 from here: http://www.tonymacx86.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=259

    2) Follow this configuration (As you will have noticed there's no audio selected. This will be done below.)
    Screenshot 2015-06-28 12.02.36.png

    Note:
    - The TRIM Enabler is only if you have an SSD
    - The WIFI card should work by default
    - 1080p display is if your monitor supports that resolution and you'd like to see a higher resolution boot screen, otherwise completely optional​

    3) Download Multibeast 6.2.2
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=224

    4) Run Multibeast 6.2.2 and check Realtek ALCxxx/Without DSDT/ALC898 ONLY!

    Screen Shot 2015-06-14 at 3.33.17 am.png Screen Shot 2015-06-14 at 3.33.24 am.png

    5) Cold restart your computer. (Do not select "Restart". Select "shutdown" and then manually turn the computer on again)​

    3. Reboot!
    See if your installation works by rebooting! If all goes well, you should have had no need to include any boot flags.​

    Super Basic Troubleshooting
    - Try booting with -x and -v, if you make it in, try repairing disk permissions via disk utility. That helped me a couple of times.
    - Boot Zero Error: Link
    - If you have random freezes: Link[/INDENT]

    Updating BIOS to F8m


    1) Update your BIOS to F8m here. Credits to Short. Thanks a whole lot mate.
    - Do not use the official version from the gigabyte website. They are version F8 and F9. Stay away from those. It is IMPORTANT that you use F8m.
    - Download the file from mediafire and put in into a FAT32 USB Flash Drive.
    - Go into the BIOS, and load Q-Flash (found at the "Save and Exit" screen), and select the F8m bios
    - After it's done updating, make sure you Load Optimized Default Values and follow the guide above to set up your bios correctly​
     
  2. shigeki

    shigeki

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    10.8.5
    CPU:
    4770K
    Graphics:
    GTX760
    Sep 21, 2013 at 6:38 AM #2
    shigeki

    shigeki

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    10.8.5
    CPU:
    4770K
    Graphics:
    GTX760
    I have a same machine(4770K+UD3H).
    It fully works, BIOS setting was really helpful for me.
    Good job, thank you!!:clap:
     
  3. squadseven

    squadseven

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Sep 21, 2013 at 4:16 PM #3
    squadseven

    squadseven

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Glad I could be of help! Took me really long to piece together the BIOS configuration from multiple sources but it was worth it!
     
  4. carlosvk

    carlosvk

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-D3H
    CPU:
    2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce 320M 256MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Plus
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 30, 2013 at 8:35 PM #4
    carlosvk

    carlosvk

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-D3H
    CPU:
    2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA GeForce 320M 256MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Plus
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Fantastic, I'm building my first machine and with every post I find about this MOBO and CPU I'm more convinced that this is the set up I will go with.
    Thanks for sharing!
     
  5. Antiorthodoxy

    Antiorthodoxy

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i5 4670k
    Graphics:
    DC2OC GTX 760
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 5, 2013 at 6:53 PM #5
    Antiorthodoxy

    Antiorthodoxy

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i5 4670k
    Graphics:
    DC2OC GTX 760
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have audio but it's stuttering. Do you know how to fix this?
     
  6. devdev001

    devdev001

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770
    Graphics:
    Intel 4600 HD
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 5, 2013 at 11:11 PM #6
    devdev001

    devdev001

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770
    Graphics:
    Intel 4600 HD
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    By stuttering, do you mean cutting out?

    If so, switching to the black audio port on the back worked for me.

    -devdev001
     
  7. squadseven

    squadseven

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Oct 6, 2013 at 1:14 PM #7
    squadseven

    squadseven

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    I've only experienced stuttering audio once but a reboot fixed that. Are you using the green rear audio port?
     
  8. Antiorthodoxy

    Antiorthodoxy

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i5 4670k
    Graphics:
    DC2OC GTX 760
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 6, 2013 at 8:25 PM #8
    Antiorthodoxy

    Antiorthodoxy

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-UD3H
    CPU:
    i5 4670k
    Graphics:
    DC2OC GTX 760
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Yes I'm using that one. Switching to the black audio port gives me nothing at all.

    EDIT: I tried your guide but this pops up when I double click audio_alc898-85_patch.command

    EDIT 2: I got rid of the pop up but the audio is still choppy :(
     

    Attached Files:

    • image.jpg  (19.5 KB, 763 views)
  9. cliffsun91

    cliffsun91

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Oct 7, 2013 at 12:52 AM #9
    cliffsun91

    cliffsun91

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Hi, huge thanks for posting this, I've been wanting to use the same components (barr the graphics card) and you've given me confidence that they work well and won't bring about too many issues. I'm also quite liking that corsair carbide 500r too. How is it to work with and did you install any extra fans or are the stock ones that are included sufficient for decent airflow?
     
  10. squadseven

    squadseven

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Oct 7, 2013 at 3:28 PM #10
    squadseven

    squadseven

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Couldn't really see the picture :| so i have no idea what's going on. That's strange. Are you sure you have the same motherboard? I don't see why it shouldn't work.
     

Share This Page