Contribute
Register

Success - Sierra build - Mini Guide to get Thunderbolt 3 working

Joined
May 15, 2012
Messages
8
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H, GA-Z270X-UD5
CPU
i7 3770K, i7 7700K
Graphics
GT 640, GTX 1060 6GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Built my latest Hackintosh specifically for the Antelope Orion 32+ Thunderbolt using Sep/Oct CustoMac 2017 buyer's guide.

Went through 4 days of hell figuring out how things have changed since I built my first Hackintosh (New OOB drive doesn't show in Disk Utility, 18,3 workaround for Nvidia) - but base system (10.12.6) is stable now and a wonderful machine. Through my install problems with Sierra/High Sierra and what I read about High Sierra Nvidia drivers, I opted with what was stable (Sierra) on my current Hackintosh - new GA-Z270X-UD5 strictly for Thunderbolt/Orion 32+.

Now, the Antelope Orion 32+ is detected in System Properties, I can access it via Orion 32+ Launcher and configure routing, same as @Burgs. Also, Pro Tools 12.8.1 sees it and uses it as an interface. Can play a mix but no activity on the Orion 32+.

Using Apple USBC/Thunderbolt adapter and Apple Thunderbolt cable. Antelope Orion 32+ works via same Thunderbolt cable/adapter on latest 2017 MBP running High Sierra.

No hope for Hack?
 
Joined
May 15, 2012
Messages
8
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H, GA-Z270X-UD5
CPU
i7 3770K, i7 7700K
Graphics
GT 640, GTX 1060 6GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Just as an update, I returned the Antelope Orion 32+ and replaced it with two Universal Audio Apollo 16s - worked right out of the box.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2011
Messages
12
Motherboard
GA-Z270X-UD3
CPU
i7 7770
Graphics
GTX 650
Now, the Antelope Orion 32+ is detected in System Properties, I can access it via Orion 32+ Launcher and configure routing, same as @Burgs. Also, Pro Tools 12.8.1 sees it and uses it as an interface. Can play a mix but no activity on the Orion 32+.
Thanks for this info @WomStud - I'm looking at doing the same thing (but with Cubase).

I have a z270X-UD3 and have bought the Alpine Ridge expansion card ... I wonder if that might be a bit different from the Thunderbolt port at the back of your UD5?

I haven't found anyone around that has managed to get the 32+ to work with Thunderbolt 3 on a Hackintosh yet.
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
108
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X UD5 TH
CPU
I7-6700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Running Gigabyte Z170-UD5-TH board here. So Thunderbolt 3 x 2 ports. Star tech adapter and apple adapter for thunderbolt 3 to thunderbolt 2. Got Thunderbolt working, will work with firewire adaptor as well when connecting a RME Fireface 800 and all funcations as it should. However, also in similar boat regarding Antelope, I have a Orion 32+ and haven't been able to get it to work on a hackintosh with El Capitan or Sierra. It will detect and connect and can be controlled the unit, so mixer and routing respond, but no audio will flow over thunderbolt with this setup (on some boots it does, but it's all craclked and not right the audio, then next boot nothing), routing matrix was correct and using TB Play on the outs. Works on USB connection and all functions with audio flowing.
Tested on latest mbp via thunderbolt 3 to thunderbolt 2 adaptor and find that audio flows and interface works as it should over thunderbolt. So seems to me at this stage Antelope Thunderbolt interfaces are not at all liking non apple hardware like we use in hackintosh's....

Sorry don't have an answer for you, but thought would let you all know my experiences so far with Antelope on hackie's... Maybe someone else has been successful and can enlighten us as to what made it work :) It would be great to use it via Thunderbolt as latency will be better and can run more channels of course.
Hi Burgs, I have your MB and with El Capitain TB3 worked. Now I'm on Sierra 10.12.6 and TB3 won't work at all. Can you tell me if you solved the problem and how? I use the apple adapter TB3-TB2.
Thanks!
Al.
 
Joined
Dec 21, 2016
Messages
30
Hi Burgs, I have your MB and with El Capitain TB3 worked. Now I'm on Sierra 10.12.6 and TB3 won't work at all. Can you tell me if you solved the problem and how? I use the apple adapter TB3-TB2.
Thanks!
Al.


would this help?
NEW --- INTEL THUNDERBOLT SOFTWARE / DRIVER VERSION 16.3.61.275 WHQL

JHL6240 Series - "Alpine Ridge LP"
https://www.necacom.net/index.php/i...thunderbolt-software-version-16-3-61-275-whql

download link

https://downloadmirror.intel.com/264...6.3.61.275.zip
 
Joined
May 31, 2016
Messages
108
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X UD5 TH
CPU
I7-6700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
38
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H
CPU
Intel i7 4770K
Graphics
Intel HD Graphics 4600
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
¡Hello guys!

Im trying to get my thunderbolt 3 USB-C working.

My system are:
-Gigabyte Z170X Ultra Gaming
-i7 6700K
-32 Gb RAM DDR4 3000 Corsair.
-500GB NVME Samsung Evo 960
-500GB SSD Samsung Evo 850
-MSI Nvidia Geforce GTX 980

All the system is working for several months , but in that moments I hasn't got any thunderbolt device to test the connections.
I have done the requested firmware Thunderbolt update from windows. And im in the latest Bios of this moment (f.23d)
I think also that I have the correct bios configuration to get the system working.

Now, I have a MacBookPro 15" i7 2017 with thunderbolt 3 USB-C , so I supposed capable to use the computer as an HD.
I boot in the HDD mode , pressing T in the boot time, and then I connect via USB-C to USB-C cable my Macbook and the hackintosh.
then I power the hackintosh and after of clover and everything, Im at the desktop without any thunderbolt connection.

The USB-C port works , because I have used the USB-C to USB-3.0 A + ethernet. And connect without problem.

what could I do to get it working?
in a future I want to get an Apollo UAD interface .

¡¡¡Thanks you so much!!!
 
Joined
Mar 5, 2012
Messages
2
Motherboard
Intel
CPU
2500k
Graphics
Ati6850
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thanks for the reply! So I ended up using a spare SSD I wasn't using for much and loaded OS Sierra on it. Got almost everything working after a lot of tweaking and starting completely over once. I actually just had the exact same experience with the Orion Studio and I'm glad someone else on here is trying to get an Antelope interface working through Thunderbolt besides me.

I tried the Orion Studio through Thunderbolt to no avail even though my UAD Octo was working through TB. I even got a support guy from Antelope to remote connect and see what he could do (I didn't tell him it was a hack). Same exact thing with the interface working but no audio going through with my Orion Studio. He couldn't resolve it so I ended up trying USB and saw that it worked, so I'm just going to live with that for now. An expensive interface with a some latency that works is better than an expensive interface with very little latency that just sits in the rack to look good :p haha. Let me know if you get yours working through TB!

Same issue here only I think I've narrowed it down to something that doesn't make sense... I installed Sierra onto a normal 500g 7200 HDD.. right out of the gate, I got TB connection (on my GA Z97-UD7-TH) and all works nice and dandy with my Zen Tour. Did the EXACT same install, onto an SSD drive, and the TB connection works, but no audio pass thru. WTF?!?!!? So at this point, I'm convinced there's something correlated to the type of HDD being used... But like you, I'm now stuck with an awesome and expensive interface that I have to run thru USB until I either bite the bullet and go actual MAC, or return it for something else. UGH.....

OSK
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2018
Messages
3
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey, guys! This is my first personal build for a hackintosh, and I wanted to shed some light on the use of Thunderbolt for audio interfaces.

First, let me list my build:

- Gigabyte Z170x Gaming Ultra Rev 1.0
- 32gb crucial ballistix ram
- Gigabyte GEFORCE 950 GTX
- I7 Skylake 6700k
- 500GB SATA Samsung Evo 850 SSD
- 1TB SATA Seagate HD
- TP link- n900 wireless adapter
- Startech TB3 to TB2 thunderbolt converter
- Thermaltake X9 case

All in all, I followed the instruction guide to install Sierra onto this fresh build. I went into BIOS to check that the settings were right. Make sure XHCI Handoff is enabled and anything else they listed that pertains to you done. Booted up the USB drive, formatted my SDD, installed Sierra with quick settings in MultiBeast once at home screen along with some extras for USB and audio according to my motherboard.

Now for TB 3, after install and MultiBeast, the computer started normally and seems to be fully functioning. I realized, when I bought these parts, that the installation of Sierra would be easy. I wasn't, however, convinced that the Thunderbolt functionality would work, and, as I am an audio engineer, I needed the Thunderbolt ports to work most of all because my hardware audio interface and converters connects via TB2. To get them running, I had to unplug my drives and go back into the BIOS and change some of the Thunderbolt settings. I had to set the Thunderbolt to accept Legacy, enabled the Thunderbolt boot support and also enabled the Ignore Thunderbolt Option ROM; saved settings, rebooted into Sierra and the ports worked. I connect to the USB c/TB3 port on the motherboard to the Star Tech adapter and, then, to my Apollo 8. Only hiccup is that the interface needs to be connected and on before starting the computer. That seems to be the only issue and works wonders.

I wanted to share this because there seems to be little to no information regarding thunderbolt capable motherboards other than the GA UD5 TH and or UD7.

If you guys have any questions on how to get TB working let me know!

--------- I wanted to know if the thunder bolt is working as thunder bolt 3? and if it is , does the drivers need to be install after the boot or before... sorry i read some guy needed to install this in a dual boot thru windows first to make a flash of the drivers for tb3. I just wanted to know so i could but the right parts before.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2016
Messages
179
Motherboard
AsrockZ270M Extreme4
CPU
I5-7600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Apple
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm very glad to report that I have an Asrock Z270M Extreme4, with an Asrock Thunderbolt 3 AIC, and a LaCie 3TB d2 which has both USB 3 and TB2 interfaces. I have Thunderbolt 3 working! I'm not worried about hot plug at this stage.

I'd read a recommendation to run it in Windows first. I had overlooked Asrock's advice on the MB manual to install the TB AIC in PCIe slot 4, so initially it wasn't recognised. Today I changed the slot, and it was recognised in Windows 10. I then booted my High Sierra 10.13.4 and it the LaCie was recognised. It is connected to the AIC via an Apple TB3--TB2 adapter. Strange thing is that About this Mac says no Thunderbolt drivers are loaded, but there are a bunch of Apple TB kexts, but I don't know that they help. In Windows I have Intel Thunderbolt 16.3.61.275 driver install.

So I'm very happy. TB3 was my reason for migrating to the Asrock Z270M.
 
Top