Contribute
Register

[Success] Radeon RX 6800 XT - Big Sur

Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
29
Motherboard
<< need only 1 model # >> See Forum Rules !!
CPU
<< need only 1 model # >> See Forum Rules !!
Graphics
<< need model # >> See Forum Rules !!
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
If this is real, can you enlighten us a bit?
I think you would be the first one I see that has the new 6X00 running with Hardware Acceleration
I only followed the OpenCore Guide. I have a full AMD build so don't know how true it will be for an Intel build.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
29
Motherboard
<< need only 1 model # >> See Forum Rules !!
CPU
<< need only 1 model # >> See Forum Rules !!
Graphics
<< need model # >> See Forum Rules !!
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Anyone confirmed is 6800 6800xt 6900xt support 4k 120hz or 144hz in latest beta Big Sur? (assume display support 4k 144hz)
I have support for 2k 144hz so 4k 120z or 144hz should be supported.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2012
Messages
504
Motherboard
Asus Z490 Prime A
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have a stock 6900 XT (so, not XTXH), and it is working beautifully with 11.4 beta 1.
6900 XT is out of my budget but I have the doubt that 6800 XT cards that are fully compatible (having Device ID 0x73BF) are the ones with usb-c output which is the standard Radeon configuration for that model...
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
62
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Extreme Omega
CPU
Core i9 10980XE
Graphics
Radeon 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My XFX Merc 319 RX 6800 XT has Device ID 0x73BF, works great on macOS and the card itself next to silent when fully loaded. Recommended - if you can find one.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2017
Messages
6
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270X ULTRA GAMING
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
RX 580
Hello, before I had a rx 580 working perfectly next to the igpu, but with the 6800 xt if I have the igpu enabled it loads the system and just when the first screen appears the monitor loses the 'image, however if I turn it off works fine but not I have igpu acceleration.
any suggestion
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 22, 2020
Messages
106
Motherboard
AORUS Z390 Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
When using MacPro7,1 SMBIOS I get an error message that I have too much RAM, more than 768GB (I have 4x8GB) and that only one RAM module will be used. Using iMac19,1 for now.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,894
Motherboard
Asus Z690 ProArt Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
When using MacPro7,1 SMBIOS I get an error message that I have too much RAM, more than 768GB (I have 4x8GB) and that only one RAM module will be used. Using iMac19,1 for now.
Have a look at this:
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
796
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello, before I had a rx 580 working perfectly next to the igpu, but with the 6800 xt if I have the igpu enabled it loads the system and just when the first screen appears the monitor loses the 'image, however if I turn it off works fine but not I have igpu acceleration.
any suggestion

Try adding agdpmod=pikera to your boot-args.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
796
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I tried it, but the same thing happens, I don't notice anything

Did you clear NVRAM? Whenever we make changes to the boot-args we need to clear NVRAM on the next boot or they won't be applied.
 
Top