Contribute
Register

[Success] Radeon RX 6800 XT - Big Sur

Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
62
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Extreme Omega
CPU
Core i9 10980XE
Graphics
Radeon 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The only problem I have is the size of the mouse cursor when using HiDPI modes other than 2:1. It's way too big, but besides that, everything works flawlessly. Also, I just discovered a refreshingly new use case: WoW in 8K. I strongly believe and can not think otherwise, that's what Apple had in mind when they provided the drivers for Big Navi. :lol:
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
816
Motherboard
Asus ProArt B550 Creator
CPU
Ryzen 9 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The only problem I have is the size of the mouse cursor when using HiDPI modes other than 2:1. It's way too big, but besides that, everything works flawlessly. Also, I just discovered a refreshingly new use case: WoW in 8K. I strongly believe and can not think otherwise, that's what Apple had in mind when they provided the drivers for Big Navi. :lol:
What "resolution" & UI "look like" are shown in Sytem info ➧ Display ?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
273
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
AMD 6900XT
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I have a question. My main is windows as I play lots of games. I do have a seprate ssd which I can test for the mac but how should I start doing it ? Windows is already installed on main ssd. is their a way that I can do things without loosing windows and its data and making it a dual boot system.
Yup, dual boot on two SSDs is easy to do.

Follow the Dortania guide for full instructions on installing macOS: https://dortania.github.io/OpenCore-Install-Guide/

As you already have Windows installed and are installing macOS on a second SSD, you can follow the above guide exactly - there's nothing special you need to do. Just be careful when you get into the macOS installer that you format the right SSD! To make things safer, you could even unplug the Windows SSD/NVMe drive before installing macOS, just to be sure you're not wiping the wrong drive. Then plug it back in once macOS is installed.

After following the Install Guide you'll be booting macOS, via the OpenCore bootloader, from a USB stick. After that's done, move on to the Dortania Post Install guide to get everything fully working. One step of that Post Install guide will show you how to copy the OpenCore bootloader and config to your macOS SSD, at which point you won't need the USB to boot any more (though always keep it around as a backup method of booting macOS.)

From that point onwards you will be able to choose to boot either OpenCore (for macOS) or Windows from your BIOS boot picker.

Or, you can choose to boot OpenCore always, and then choose between boot Windows or macOS from the OpenCore picker. However that does mean that, at least by default, OpenCore will change your motherboard name in Windows and you might need to re-activate Windows. Personally I prefer to boot Windows direct from the BIOS boot picker, and only boot macOS from OpenCore.

In no scenario should you lose any Windows data, and in future you'll have an easy dual-boot setup.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
29
Motherboard
<< need only 1 model # >> See Forum Rules !!
CPU
<< need only 1 model # >> See Forum Rules !!
Graphics
<< need model # >> See Forum Rules !!
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Anyone tried it on AMD system ? mine is AMD system :p
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2015
Messages
4
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 AORUS PRO
CPU
Ryzen 5 5600x
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is there an way to disable SAM for macOS (which wont work?) but keep it enabled for Windows?
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
62
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Extreme Omega
CPU
Core i9 10980XE
Graphics
Radeon 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@oli.mathieu Just like before (meaning with the "old" 5700 XT and 11.2) it's at 6016 x 3384 while looking like 3008 x 1692 @ 60.00Hz on my 4K display. I just discovered that when I zoom in (Accessibility -> Zoom) with Ctrl the mouse cursor turns to the normal size relative to the UI.

Should look like this:
1619200335398.png


But the cursor has the size of the Full HD HiDPI setting:
1619200382298.png
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2020
Messages
42
Motherboard
Aorus Pro Wifi i x570
CPU
3950x
Graphics
6900xt
@oli.mathieu Just like before (meaning with the "old" 5700 XT and 11.2) it's at 6016 x 3384 while looking like 3008 x 1692 @ 60.00Hz on my 4K display. I just discovered that when I zoom in (Accessibility -> Zoom) with Ctrl the mouse cursor turns to the normal size relative to the UI.

Should look like this:


But the cursor has the size of the Full HD HiDPI setting:
System Preferences>Accessibility>Display>Cursor

There is an option to change the size there but by default I think it should be at its smallest.... You can make it even bigger though if you wanna go crazy.
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,537
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
So far no luck on my end on 11.4. My 6900XT is not recognized.
I switched off WEG and moved to MacPro7,1 but no dice.
Did you remove any SSDTs for the previous graphics card? Disable IGPU?
Device Properties section?
Is it all vanilla? No prior graphics settings or fixes? NVRam reset.
 
Top