Contribute
Register

[Success] Radeon RX 6800 XT - Big Sur

Joined
May 11, 2011
Messages
1,975
Motherboard
Gigabyte B550 Vision D
CPU
Ryzen 5900X
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You're not the first to see this lol, I've been seeing it in Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator (Graphics Settings) and GeekBench for a while now.
Apple forgot to rename it.

I had a Radeon VII before this and it showed the correct naming convention.

I recommend you submit a bug report to Apple they probably forgot to rename it.
As I said before it’s not a renaming issue. I was using both cards and also a SSDT-GPU-Spoof to enable this on an unsupported card, so it has nothing to do with being an Apple bug.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2019
Messages
131
Motherboard
Gigabyte X299X Designare 10G
CPU
i9-10980XE
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
As I said before it’s not a renaming issue. I was using both cards and also a SSDT-GPU-Spoof to enable this on an unsupported card, so it has nothing to do with being an Apple bug.

Seems to me to just be a renaming issue anyway. I get the same "compute prototype" name in i.e. Photoshop's settings.
It also says gpu-controller for me in System Info.
As such I doubt it has anything to do with anything special in your setup, this is just the way a somewhat-unsupported card is handled when it's not natively supported by macOS with the correct names being pulled from somewhere in the driver.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,669
Motherboard
N/A
CPU
N/A
Graphics
N/A
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
As I said before it’s not a renaming issue. I was using both cards and also a SSDT-GPU-Spoof to enable this on an unsupported card, so it has nothing to do with being an Apple bug.

It's a cosmetic bug. Why are you saying its not? lol

I had a Radeon VII before this and the naming was proper.

They will fix it in .6 of Big Sur. I don't think it's fixed in .5. I will send a bug report via the Feedback app, they're usually spot on fixing any issues.

It's not a big deal anyway. My 6900XT works perfectly and very stable.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
475
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K OC @ 5.1Ghz
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
a first gen 6900XT name shows up fine. a seond gen one (XTX/H models) show up as unknown prototype even if spoofed to load as a first gen XTX card because deep down driver can still tell it's an unsupported card even if it was tricked into loading it under false pretenses. when I used a flashed bios to load my card, name was correct, but when i restored cards original bios and used spoofing, even though spoofing fixes cards name in about this mac, the driver can still recognize it as an unsuppoted card, thus the fallback generic prototype name and being unable to report metal capabilities in system information. I covered all this earlier in thread.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
295
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
HD 630HD + RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Has anyone tried the new Monterey public beta with a new rx 6800/6900 xt gpu? Curious if the behavior of a dp monitor turning off/on during boot has changed?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2018
Messages
796
Motherboard
Gigabyte TRX40 Aorus Xtreme
CPU
Ryzen 3970X
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Has anyone tried the new Monterey public beta with a new rx 6800/6900 xt gpu? Curious if the behavior of a dp monitor turning off/on during boot has changed?

Just the same for me, no change.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2016
Messages
43
Motherboard
Asrock TRX40 Creator
CPU
AMD 3970x
Graphics
Sapphire RX 6900XT Toxic Extreme Edition (Device ID 0x73AF)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am still using Big Sur and I only see the screen go blank if I use the verbose mode (-v).
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2013
Messages
797
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z590 Vision D
CPU
i7-11700K OC @ 5.2GHz
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Has anyone tried the new Monterey public beta with a new rx 6800/6900 xt gpu? Curious if the behavior of a dp monitor turning off/on during boot has changed?
Using DP, and the only time my monitor goes off is after kernel has booted and the window server has started. It goes off for about 1-2 seconds and then it comes back. Same whether I use hdmi or DP. I’m using DP since my monitors are high resolution and very high refresh rate.
 
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
295
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
HD 630HD + RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Using DP, and the only time my monitor goes off is after kernel has booted and the window server has started. It goes off for about 1-2 seconds and then it comes back. Same whether I use hdmi or DP. I’m using DP since my monitors are high resolution and very high refresh rate.
I have 3 monitors- LG4K (DP), LG4K UltraFine (TB3) and Acer HD (HDMI). The DP monitor activates first and gets through verbose, then deactivates at least once. Then the other two monitors activate, but remain black until the login screen. Sometimes the DP monitor shuts off twice. Once I'm past the login screen, no problems whatsoever. Never had this problem with RVII. Not that big a deal, just annoying.
 
Top