Contribute
Register

[Success] Radeon RX 6800 XT - Big Sur

Joined
Jul 25, 2020
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6800xt
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. iMac
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey gang, been watching this thread since the start — was stoked to see driver support come around, but of course then there were no cards to be had. I'm an idiot and finally bought one from a scalper, because I apparently hate money and need to get rid of it right away.

I'm still running Catalina and a (by now) somewhat outdated OpenCore version. Current setup includes a 5700xt and WEG + agdpmod=pikera, SMBIOS iMac 19,1

I believe these will be my steps, please tell me if I have something wrong:

1) Update OpenCore to the latest stable release
2) Change SMBIOS to something else?? If so, do I need to generate a serial number to match?
3) Update Mac OS to Big Sur 11.4
4) bung in the new GPU and boot the whole thing up

I'm sure I've missed something.
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2016
Messages
54
Motherboard
Dell XPS13 9360 - Clover
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
HD 620, 1920x1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I could do that but I have 2 issues:
- i will need to connect my 6800 xt to the monitor via HDMI in order to select windows
- I have an issue with windows and the logging screen. When you press enter to enter your password, the logging screen usually gets blurry and your have the input field to enter your pwd or pin. Except that in my case, a while ago suddenly out of the blue, the screen went blurry but I have no input field to enter my pwd. This is a common issue in windows :)
For the windows issue just click with the mouse instead of pressing enter. For me it works 10/10 times
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
507
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K OC @ 5.1Ghz
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
BTW has anyone come up with a way to get temperature sensors and stuff with Navi2? Maybe creating an EC device that VirtualSMC can pass on or some other fancy trick?
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2020
Messages
185
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 6800
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey gang, been watching this thread since the start — was stoked to see driver support come around, but of course then there were no cards to be had. I'm an idiot and finally bought one from a scalper, because I apparently hate money and need to get rid of it right away.

I'm still running Catalina and a (by now) somewhat outdated OpenCore version. Current setup includes a 5700xt and WEG + agdpmod=pikera, SMBIOS iMac 19,1

I believe these will be my steps, please tell me if I have something wrong:

1) Update OpenCore to the latest stable release
2) Change SMBIOS to something else?? If so, do I need to generate a serial number to match?
3) Update Mac OS to Big Sur 11.4
4) bung in the new GPU and boot the whole thing up

I'm sure I've missed something.
I think you can omit step 2. I’m running Big Sur with a RX6800 on iMac19,1 - didn’t change anything from when I was using my RX580 except to add agdpmod=pikera to the boot arguments. As you’re coming from a 5700XT, you already have that.

In that case, pretty sure you just need to update opencore, then update macOS. Then put your new card in and all should be well!
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2020
Messages
119
Motherboard
AORUS Z390 Master
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey gang, been watching this thread since the start — was stoked to see driver support come around, but of course then there were no cards to be had. I'm an idiot and finally bought one from a scalper, because I apparently hate money and need to get rid of it right away.

I'm still running Catalina and a (by now) somewhat outdated OpenCore version. Current setup includes a 5700xt and WEG + agdpmod=pikera, SMBIOS iMac 19,1

I believe these will be my steps, please tell me if I have something wrong:

1) Update OpenCore to the latest stable release
2) Change SMBIOS to something else?? If so, do I need to generate a serial number to match?
3) Update Mac OS to Big Sur 11.4
4) bung in the new GPU and boot the whole thing up

I'm sure I've missed something.
No, that should work.
iMac19,1 with pikera
MacPro7,1 with Memory config, -wegoff
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
358
Motherboard
Z690 Gaming X
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX560
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Joined
Jul 25, 2020
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6800xt
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. iMac
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No, that should work.
iMac19,1 with pikera
MacPro7,1 with Memory config, -wegoff
I think you can omit step 2. I’m running Big Sur with a RX6800 on iMac19,1 - didn’t change anything from when I was using my RX580 except to add agdpmod=pikera to the boot arguments. As you’re coming from a 5700XT, you already have that.

In that case, pretty sure you just need to update opencore, then update macOS. Then put your new card in and all should be well!
Thank you both! I'm pretty excited for this thing to show up so I can get it in there. Not SUPER pleased about going to Big Sur, but I guess I'll deal ;)
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
244
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ Reporting on my pb with no video signal during POST. Today I replaced my old monitor with a brand new 43" 4k 144hz monitor, not because my old monitor was giving me some issues with POST but because I wanted to turn it into a digital frame using a raspberry pi. That was a perfect opportunity. I was hoping that I would get a video signal on POST but nothing. First time I switched it on and first boot, I got to see the OC picker but then subsequent restarts, same issue; no video signal until Macos is loaded. I have not tried shutting down and restarting yet (just tried a few restart). But one thing is sure is that now I can not blame the monitor. Something definitely not right with the video card. But /I have exhausted all my options now.I tried CMS enabled/disabled, flashing the Z490 F20, etc. I think the last thing I hav enot tried is CMOs resetting. One question for the community; if I reset the CMOs, then select Load defaults settings, then can I reload the settings I have saved specifically for the hackintosh? I have fine tuned my settings and saved them in a profile. But when I flashed the bios, I could not reload them. They were stored on a usb stick but upon trying to load then got an error msg that the profile had been saved under a different version of the bios. You would have thought that the new bios would have been backward compatible with previous versions but it was not. Hence the question.
One last thing I have not tried yet on the new monitor is to check if there is video signal during POST when using an HDMI cable.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,916
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@CaseySJ Reporting on my pb with no video signal during POST. Today I replaced my old monitor with a brand new 43" 4k 144hz monitor, not because my old monitor was giving me some issues with POST but because I wanted to turn it into a digital frame using a raspberry pi. That was a perfect opportunity. I was hoping that I would get a video signal on POST but nothing. First time I switched it on and first boot, I got to see the OC picker but then subsequent restarts, same issue; no video signal until Macos is loaded. I have not tried shutting down and restarting yet (just tried a few restart). But one thing is sure is that now I can not blame the monitor. Something definitely not right with the video card. But /I have exhausted all my options now.I tried CMS enabled/disabled, flashing the Z490 F20, etc. I think the last thing I hav enot tried is CMOs resetting. One question for the community; if I reset the CMOs, then select Load defaults settings, then can I reload the settings I have saved specifically for the hackintosh? I have fine tuned my settings and saved them in a profile. But when I flashed the bios, I could not reload them. They were stored on a usb stick but upon trying to load then got an error msg that the profile had been saved under a different version of the bios. You would have thought that the new bios would have been backward compatible with previous versions but it was not. Hence the question.
One last thing I have not tried yet on the new monitor is to check if there is video signal during POST when using an HDMI cable.
Have you seen the recent activity in our Gigabyte Z390 Designare thread? @Elias64Fr has been working on a modified BIOS that surgically implants Apple’s Thunderbolt-related PEI and DXE drivers into the Gigabyte BIOS. We are seeing some amazing consequences that might (which does not mean “will”) solve a lot of the remaining Thunderbolt problems including the possibility of having active video signal during BIOS and OpenCore Picker. Again, we are not making any guarantees and we don’t want to set unreasonable expectations, but this is absolutely the next logical step to making Hackintosh a better approximation of a real Mac.

If it works on Z390 Designare, we’ll try to bring it to Z490 Vision D.

UPDATE:
  • Looks like this reply of mine is a non sequitur. I saw the phrase "flashing the Z490" and everything else you said just vanished, and I assumed this was a Thunderbolt monitor problem.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 23, 2018
Messages
428
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master
CPU
i9-12900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Have you seen the recent activity in our Gigabyte Z390 Designare thread? @Elias64Fr has been working on a modified BIOS that surgically implants Apple’s Thunderbolt-related PEI and DXE drivers into the Gigabyte BIOS. We are seeing some amazing consequences that might (which does not mean “will”) solve a lot of the remaining Thunderbolt problems including the possibility of having active video signal during BIOS and OpenCore Picker. Again, we are not making any guarantees and we don’t want to set unreasonable expectations, but this is absolutely the next logical step to making Hackintosh a better approximation of a real Mac.

If it works on Z390 Designare, we’ll try to bring it to Z490 Vision D.
And z390 Aorus Master. :silent:
But, better the way to do it, if it is not too technical.
 
Top