Contribute
Register

[Success] Radeon RX 6800 XT - Big Sur

Joined
Dec 4, 2010
Messages
129
Motherboard
Probook 430 G3
CPU
i3
Graphics
HD 520
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Can Confirm!

Just updated my GigaByte Designiare 9900K Golden build to 11.4 and a little more than half way through my RX 470 stopped being the primary monitor and it switched to my Asus RX 6800 XT. Post update I removed the RX 470 and tested acceleration and was getting 120+ fps in Valley Ultra benchmark. I didn't do anything really since my initial Big Sur install except maybe update Open Core a month or so ago. I never bothered updating kexts or BIOSs or anything. Just normal Apple Update and Bingo! RX 6800 XT works with full acceleration.
My 6900 is getting FPS 57.5 on that one but my GB Metal score is 190000+
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
231
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Have you tried a different monitor? Some monitors act weird with certain video cards. De8auer just reported that the 3080ti founder’s edition was having vga not detected issues, causing motherboards to not post if it was connected to a certain Acer monitor.

That is my next and last tasks before I blame the monitor
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
231
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi! I had the same problem with an Asus z490 and RX580. Even sent the board (z490) to RMA twice, they sent it right back, twice :) I remember CSM solving the issue. But it was not the only thing I messed up with so I'm not totally sure. The issue was more about the BIOS of the graphics card. Something to do with UEFI/Legacy stuff. I would check the GPUs firmware update, and the boards if there is any. Update both. Then try CSM again. I don't know if your boards BIOS has any options around it, if there is, check them also. When I upgraded to a 5700XT, CSM didn't matter. but I couldn't make RX580 work without it, I mean accessing the BIOS and boot options etc., system was working otherwise. I remember being frustrated a lot, hope you won't. Good luck!
I could do that but I have 2 issues:
- i will need to connect my 6800 xt to the monitor via HDMI in order to select windows
- I have an issue with windows and the logging screen. When you press enter to enter your password, the logging screen usually gets blurry and your have the input field to enter your pwd or pin. Except that in my case, a while ago suddenly out of the blue, the screen went blurry but I have no input field to enter my pwd. This is a common issue in windows :)
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2011
Messages
13
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z490-A
CPU
i7 10700K
Graphics
Asus ROG Strix RX 5700XT
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I could do that but I have 2 issues:
- i will need to connect my 6800 xt to the monitor via HDMI in order to select windows
- I have an issue with windows and the logging screen. When you press enter to enter your password, the logging screen usually gets blurry and your have the input field to enter your pwd or pin. Except that in my case, a while ago suddenly out of the blue, the screen went blurry but I have no input field to enter my pwd. This is a common issue in windows :)
use onboard graphics, if possible. if I'm not mistaken what I did was: remove gpu, cmos reset, configure BIOS, boot windows, update BIOS, shut down and install gpu but use egpu, boot windows, update gpu firmware, cmos reset and setup again using gpu. even writing made me frustrated again :)
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,204
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That is my next and last tasks before I blame the monitor
Try upgrading to OpenCore 0.7.0 and setting GopPassThrough to Enabled. I'm curious whether or not this allows OpenCanopy Picker to appear on your monitor.
Screen Shot 2021-06-07 at 4.05.02 PM.png
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
231
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
use onboard graphics, if possible. if I'm not mistaken what I did was: remove gpu, cmos reset, configure BIOS, boot windows, update BIOS, shut down and install gpu but use egpu, boot windows, update gpu firmware, cmos reset and setup again using gpu. even writing made me frustrated again :)
I think I am going to try first a more recent monitor. Even reading it gives me headaches :)
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2013
Messages
231
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
I7-10700K
Graphics
5600XT & 6800 XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
but that would not fix the
Try upgrading to OpenCore 0.7.0 and setting GopPassThrough to Enabled. I'm curious whether or not this allows OpenCanopy Picker to appear on your monitor.
View attachment 521093
But that will not fix the "no video signal during POST"?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 20, 2017
Messages
27
Motherboard
Z170X-UH3
CPU
i7 6700
Graphics
GTX Titan
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hello everybody i have only rx580 4Go but i'm dreaming of RX6800 or rx6800xt, at this point is there any clear tutto?
-wegoff or no WEG at all ?
other setting, quirks need ?
i'm running clover 5136 and opencore 069 with z170 skylake and z390 coffe lake.
thanks
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2013
Messages
2,669
Motherboard
N/A
CPU
N/A
Graphics
N/A
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
hello everybody i have only rx580 4Go but i'm dreaming of RX6800 or rx6800xt, at this point is there any clear tutto?
-wegoff or no WEG at all ?
other setting, quirks need ?
i'm running clover 5136 and opencore 069 with z170 skylake and z390 coffe lake.
thanks

Depending on the SMBIOS, for example on my machine I'm on MacPro7,1 and not using WEG at all and completely removed it. DRM still works and everything is stable.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2020
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 6800xt
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. iMac
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey gang, been watching this thread since the start — was stoked to see driver support come around, but of course then there were no cards to be had. I'm an idiot and finally bought one from a scalper, because I apparently hate money and need to get rid of it right away.

I'm still running Catalina and a (by now) somewhat outdated OpenCore version. Current setup includes a 5700xt and WEG + agdpmod=pikera, SMBIOS iMac 19,1

I believe these will be my steps, please tell me if I have something wrong:

1) Update OpenCore to the latest stable release
2) Change SMBIOS to something else?? If so, do I need to generate a serial number to match?
3) Update Mac OS to Big Sur 11.4
4) bung in the new GPU and boot the whole thing up

I'm sure I've missed something.
 
Top