Contribute
Register

[Success] PYNTy-Mac i7 8700 - Z390 I AORUS PRO WIFI - 16GB RAM - Sapphire RX 580 - Mojave 10.14.3

Joined
Apr 19, 2020
Messages
57
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390i Aorus Pro WIFI
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have read the whole thread and there are a few attempts to get wifi & BT working. Anyone with a working system for the ITX version of this board? I will try to get it working on the back side m2 slot since I am using a dGPU.

I have bought two wifi cards: DW1560 and BCM94360CS2.

Ordered adapter from China: BCM94360CS2 BCM943224PCIEBT2 Wireless Card to NGFF M.2 Key A/E Adapter

Ordered cables, MHFA to RP-SMA to connect to the card.

I was expecting a card in the adapter in m2 slot would be enough but apperantly I need an additional adapter?

This motherboard is really testing my patience, really happy with the performance and stability, but I regret trusting the buyers guide on this site since it's really complicated to get wifi working. Should have bought Asrock Phantom Gaming or Asus Z390 ITX.
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2019
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 I AORUS Pro Wifi
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
After trying a couple of EFI´s finally had a simple installation, stable and fast boot Mojave with Pynty´s EFI and Markoskz Post. One of the keys to install was stop trying with the HDMI Out and change to one DisplayPort Out from the RX580 GPU with a DP to HDMI cable.

Just a few comments:
-- I really like to have some BlueTooth USB Dongle but on the other side I have one real Apple MacBookPro 15" and Bluetooth always gave me problems, fails to connect iPhones, can´t see devices...so I don´t know if it´s really worth it.
-- With 15€ WIFI USB TPLink T2U Plus (2,4G+5G WIFI DUAL) works perfectly after installing the TPLink official Mac Driver and reboot. I have my Hackintosh 10 mts far + 1 solid wall between my Modem-150Mb/s Fiber and the speedest gave me: 210Mb/s Download-180Mb/s Upload !
-- I have also one external Sandisk Extreme Dual SSD Disk Raid (Max Speed 800MB/s) with native USB-C/USB-C interface and another cable USB-C to USB3. Blackmagic Speed Test gave me in different USB ports:
WRITE - READ
USB3 = 380MB/s - 430 MB/s
USB3_1 = 707MB/s - 826 MB/s
USB-C = 606MB/s - 860 MB/s
Thanks everybody !
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
72
Motherboard
Gigabyte Auros Pro WiFi[disabled wifi] Z390
CPU
i7 9700
Graphics
Sapphire RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. eMac
  3. iMac
  4. LC
  5. Performa
  6. Plus
  7. Power Mac
  8. PowerBook
  9. Quadra
  10. Xserve
Followed guide in post #1...so using Clover.
Gigabyte Z390 Auros Pro WiFi
i7 9700
32GB RAM
RX 580 Sapphire
BIOS: F11

Booting up I get the screen attached. I've tried onboard HDMI no RX 580 installed, and DP to DP with RX 580.

Used EFI from #1 post and copied "working config.plist" from later post.
Attached EFI folder
Attempting Catalina fresh install.

Anyone done a clean install of Catalina yet on this board? Maybe that's my issue that I am not using Mojave?
I guess I could try Mojave and therefore I'd be following the guide correctly.

Any help much appreciated. Thanks!
 

Attachments

  • noboot - 2.jpg
    noboot - 2.jpg
    326.5 KB · Views: 20
  • noboot - 1.jpg
    noboot - 1.jpg
    284.6 KB · Views: 22
  • EFI.zip
    17.7 MB · Views: 35
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,518
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro WFI
CPU
i7 << need model # >> See Forum Rules !!
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Followed guide in post #1...so using Clover.
Gigabyte Z390 Auros Pro WiFi
i7 9700
32GB RAM
RX 580 Sapphire
BIOS: F11

Booting up I get the screen attached. I've tried onboard HDMI no RX 580 installed, and DP to DP with RX 580.

Used EFI from #1 post and copied "working config.plist" from later post.
Attached EFI folder
Attempting Catalina fresh install.

Anyone done a clean install of Catalina yet on this board? Maybe that's my issue that I am not using Mojave?
I guess I could try Mojave and therefore I'd be following the guide correctly.

Any help much appreciated. Thanks!
Update your BIOS to the latest version which I Think is either 12c or 12d, best check on Gigabytes official site and I will attempt to have your system running as smooth as possible.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
72
Motherboard
Gigabyte Auros Pro WiFi[disabled wifi] Z390
CPU
i7 9700
Graphics
Sapphire RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. eMac
  3. iMac
  4. LC
  5. Performa
  6. Plus
  7. Power Mac
  8. PowerBook
  9. Quadra
  10. Xserve
Update your BIOS to the latest version which I Think is either 12c or 12d, best check on Gigabytes official site and I will attempt to have your system running as smooth as possible.

Just finished updating to BIOS F12c.

The screenshots of the verbose log is attempting to boot from the macOS Catalina Install.
I have not even installed macOS yet...

I'm ok with the USB mapping that has been done on this specific posts build.
Thanks for your help!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
72
Motherboard
Gigabyte Auros Pro WiFi[disabled wifi] Z390
CPU
i7 9700
Graphics
Sapphire RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. eMac
  3. iMac
  4. LC
  5. Performa
  6. Plus
  7. Power Mac
  8. PowerBook
  9. Quadra
  10. Xserve
Just finished updating to BIOS F12c.

The screenshots of the verbose log is attempting to boot from the macOS Catalina Install.
I have not even installed macOS yet...

I'm ok with the USB mapping that has been done on this specific posts build.
Thanks for your help!

Creating a Mojave install now - will try with Mojave first, but would really like Catalina fresh install.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
72
Motherboard
Gigabyte Auros Pro WiFi[disabled wifi] Z390
CPU
i7 9700
Graphics
Sapphire RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. eMac
  3. iMac
  4. LC
  5. Performa
  6. Plus
  7. Power Mac
  8. PowerBook
  9. Quadra
  10. Xserve
What is stopping you from doing a fresh install of Catalina?
Whatever is in the verbose log I posted 2 pictures of earlier. I understand some of this stuff, but not enough to know what's going on...black screen, ++++++++ signs and wont boot to installer.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,518
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro WFI
CPU
i7 << need model # >> See Forum Rules !!
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Whatever is in the verbose log I posted 2 pictures of earlier. I understand some of this stuff, but not enough to know what's going on...black screen, ++++++++ signs and wont boot to installer.
Try plugging into a different USB port.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
72
Motherboard
Gigabyte Auros Pro WiFi[disabled wifi] Z390
CPU
i7 9700
Graphics
Sapphire RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Color Classic
  2. eMac
  3. iMac
  4. LC
  5. Performa
  6. Plus
  7. Power Mac
  8. PowerBook
  9. Quadra
  10. Xserve
Try plugging into a different USB port.
Tried every single USB port, same message. Trying a different jump drive. Older sandisk, now installing fresh with UniBeast to a new USB flash drive and will try again.

Created a clean vanilla UniBeast install on a newer flash drive. Had to do inject ATI and USB ownership, but it booted ok and am installing Catalina now...so far so good. Will try again with the copied EFI from the post, and see if that's messing it up or not next...

Ok - confirmed. UniBeast vanilla install, can install macOS just fine. If I copy the EFI in this post, for Catalina, it won't boot the installer correctly, which it is a guide for Mojave not Catalina so....go figure right?
- creating a Mojave installer to see if that works, which is then following the guide correctly :)

markoskz have you done a clean install of Catalina on this build yet? If so can you update with EFI for that?
 
Last edited:
Top