Contribute
Register

[Success] PYNTy-Mac i7 8700 - Z390 I AORUS PRO WIFI - 16GB RAM - Sapphire RX 580 - Mojave 10.14.3

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 31, 2019
Messages
12
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 I AORUS PRO WiFi
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 580
Thanks for the quick reply: Yes, I tried RehabMan's BT Injection, with the kexts in /Library/Extensions, /System/Library/Extensions, and the Clover Extra kext folder (one at a time, not all 3 at once). I also tried several other guides... nothing makes the BT chip appear in System Profiler on OS X.

If I decide to go with one of the BCM94360CS2 cards, I'll have to get *another* adapter that fits into the one I already have? So it'll go BCM94360CS20 -> NGFF Adapter -> M.2 Adapter -> NVMe slot on motherboard?

I think I'll wait to see if this really works for you before I buy more hardware. ;-)

You asked for some pictures of my installation. Here are 3 different angles:
CRymA3G.jpg


18AwPLq.jpg


EGgClAx.jpg


As you can see, I have the 2 antenna connectors running off the end of the card towards the back of the case, exiting the case in the same holes the original Intel WiFi/BT card used (the original card has been removed, and I'm using its mounting bracket for these antennas instead.) I've also connected the USB header on the red adapter card to one of the active USB headers on the motherboard (the USB 1/2 header for the front panel, which I believe *is* active with your USB Port map). I am using your USB port map directly. I double checked how you set things up, and you enabled the same ports I wanted to use as well.

Any other thoughts or questions I can answer?

Thanks!
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2013
Messages
134
Motherboard
Z390 I AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If I decide to go with one of the BCM94360CS2 cards, I'll have to get *another* adapter that fits into the one I already have? So it'll go BCM94360CS20 -> NGFF Adapter -> M.2 Adapter -> NVMe slot on motherboard?
Hi, that's right, there would be 2 adapters and the card

I think I'll wait to see if this really works for you before I buy more hardware. ;-)
In this week I would have to get the BCM94360CS20, but I would miss the other red adapter that you have to test it in the port M.2 NVMe. I's a shame I do not order it. But I understand that other users have worked well on motherboards H370N that have the same interface CNvi.

As you can see, I have the 2 antenna connectors running off the end of the card towards the back of the case, exiting the case in the same holes the original Intel WiFi/BT card used (the original card has been removed, and I'm using its mounting bracket for these antennas instead.) I've also connected the USB header on the red adapter card to one of the active USB headers on the motherboard (the USB 1/2 header for the front panel, which I believe *is* active with your USB Port map). I am using your USB port map directly. I double checked how you set things up, and you enabled the same ports I wanted to use as well.
Thanks for sharing your photos, it's exactly how I would do it. Since you removed the original Wfi-BT card did you also try without my USB port map?

Any other thoughts or questions I can answer?
Do you have a single SSD? Or do you have several connected? I mean if you have one where Mojave is installed and then another one for data, and another for Windows.

I was looking at the messages on the console, and I see the diskarbitration process very repetitive. I think it has to do with assembling and dismantling a unit, but I'm not entirely sure.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2019
Messages
12
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 I AORUS PRO WiFi
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 580
Do you have a single ssd? Or do you have several connected? I mean if you have one where Mojave is installed and then another one for data, and another for windows.

Ah, yes, sorry: I do not have any NVMe drives installed at all. I have 1 Western Digital SATA SSD (1TB) which has clover as well as MacOS installed on it, and it is set up as the boot drive in the bios. I also have an old 7200 rpm spinning 1TB hard drive which has Windows 10 installed on it. When I boot the machine, clover correctly detects the Windows and Mac drives, and allows me to boot either.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2019
Messages
12
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 I AORUS PRO WiFi
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 580
Since you removed the original Wfi-BT card did you also try without my USB port map?
No, not yet, as I don't need to enable any other ports that your map does not already, so I didn't see any reason to bother with switching it. I'll see if I can make time to try that later this week.
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2013
Messages
134
Motherboard
Z390 I AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
No, not yet, as I don't need to enable any other ports that your map does not already, so I didn't see any reason to bother with switching it. I'll see if I can make time to try that later this week.

Hi, I'm seeing in console.app that this process is repeated a lot, Does he also appear to you? Thanks
398623
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2019
Messages
12
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 I AORUS PRO WiFi
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 580
I see a similar message, but not nearly as frequently as you do (note the timestamps - 6-8 new messages appear in my console every minute or 2):

398670


diskarbitrationd is the daemon responsible for mounting drives when they are attached to the system (external drives, usually). How many disks to you physically have connected to the computer?
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2019
Messages
12
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 I AORUS PRO WiFi
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 580
If you open a terminal and type "mount" at the prompt, what do you see? Here is what I get:

398671


As you can see, I have only 2 physical volumes connected: /dev/disk2 and /dev/disk0. There are 2 partitions mounted from disk2 ( / and /private/var/vm), and 1 from disk0 (this is my windows drive).

Your diskarbitrationd messages are mentioning /dev/disk2, /dev/disk4, and /dev/disk6, and possibly others not included in your original screenshot. Do you have a bunch of usb drives plugged in? Do you have a case full of SATA SSD's or hard drives?
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2013
Messages
134
Motherboard
Z390 I AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I see a similar message, but not nearly as frequently as you do (note the timestamps - 6-8 new messages appear in my console every minute or 2):

View attachment 398670

diskarbitrationd is the daemon responsible for mounting drives when they are attached to the system (external drives, usually). How many disks to you physically have connected to the computer?

Hi, sorry for the delay in responding. I was with some inconveniences. :D I currently have the following:

- 250GB SSD NVMe Samsung 970 EVO M.2 (Located on the front with heatsink, with Mojave Installed) - APFS
- 1TB SSD WD Blue M.2 (Located on the back motherboard, only data) - APFS
- 480GB Kingston A400 SATA (data with Mojave home folder) - APFS
- 250GB Crucial MX500 SATA (Windows Installed) - NTFS
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 28, 2013
Messages
134
Motherboard
Z390 I AORUS PRO WIFI
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If you open a terminal and type "mount" at the prompt, what do you see? Here is what I get:

View attachment 398671

As you can see, I have only 2 physical volumes connected: /dev/disk2 and /dev/disk0. There are 2 partitions mounted from disk2 ( / and /private/var/vm), and 1 from disk0 (this is my windows drive).

Your diskarbitrationd messages are mentioning /dev/disk2, /dev/disk4, and /dev/disk6, and possibly others not included in your original screenshot. Do you have a bunch of usb drives plugged in? Do you have a case full of SATA SSD's or hard drives?
Hi, I do not have units for USB. For USB I have only connected printer, keyboard and mouse receiver Logitech.

The result of * mount * in terminal effectively shows me the connected disks, they are all internal,

399028


I was observing other topics. I will try with the MultiBeast kexts for eSATA and SATA not authorized. I will not install them in my system, but I will extract them and place them in EFI folder. So I have the system clean of other kexts, and it is easier to update in case you have to.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,187
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i5-12600K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Heads up. MultiBeast for Mojave v11.2.0 will be released today. Stay tuned for the announcement.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top