Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Opus i9 Build: Gigabyte Gaming X Z390 - i9-9900K - Radeon RX 6900 XT Ultimate

Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
833
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
6900XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks a lot for your great replies!
I cleaned up a bit the kext folder by removing the unnecessary ones, and added instead what I needed (for example the one for the 10gbit Solarflare card) ; I used OCSnapshot in Propertree to update the config.plist.
I use the iMac 19,1 SMBIOS as well, and properly generated all needed data. Monterey is installed on a NVME drive.
On the same system, but on another SSD, I still have the old install with Clover and Catalina: over there, I used the iMacPro SMBIOS. I'll keep it as a backup in case of problems, or in case specific software runs better with that combo.

I think it freezes when I reboot, not when I shutdown; I'll try to just shutdown all the time and see if it happens again.
Another weird thing: I have 2 monitor plugged to the DP ports of my RX 570, and everything is fine. At one point I tried instead using the HDMI port on the mainboard, since you patched the framebuffer: the port works, but the screen was showing erratic behavior, so I put them back on the DP ports.
I like to keep that HDMI only as a backup in case the video card fails :)

I enjoy a lot my build overal, thanks a lot for your help!

Hi @thepawn -- I am curious to see why it is freezing on reboot. I'll search for that command. The only one I know is pmset -g log . Would you mind trying that next time it freezes? I use that primarily to debug sleep/wake problems, but it may show what is happening.

I haven't played with the iGPU framebuffer in a long time. I think it was back in Catalina. I managed to get it working and initially, it had problems redisplaying an output after sleep/wake. I had to unplug and replug the cable from the port. I fixed it with a boot argument, but after that, I never really checked on it after multiple OS upgrades/updates and multiple OpenCore updates. I think I've been reading that the HDMI isn't really optimal for MacOS and that the cable may make a difference. Anyway, I just moved entirely to the eGPU and DP.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2010
Messages
28
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i3 9700k
Graphics
RX570
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
I have a memory card reader, with a USB3 port, connected to the internal USB3 header. It was working on my previous install (Catalina + Clover + USBInjectAll): I guess the 15 ports limit was not a things back then.
I took the opportunity to learn how to do the port mapping, and generate myself a USBPorts.kext: it's a success! Not the internal USB3 header is working fine in Monterey+Opencore as well.
I share it in case anybody else is using it, together with the Hackintool screenshot of the mapped ports.
To comply with the 15 ports, I had to make compromises.
The internal USB2 header is used by the BT card, and is using just one of the 2 ports, so I skip the second.
I also had to skip one of the USB2 ports, and one USB3 ports on the back.
Enjoy!
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2022-05-04 at 16.07.56.png
    Screen Shot 2022-05-04 at 16.07.56.png
    90.6 KB · Views: 29
  • USBPorts.kext.zip
    1.8 KB · Views: 29

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,233
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i5-12600K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Congratulations on being selected a Golden Build! :clap::thumbup: :headbang:
 
Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
833
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
6900XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Updated to OpenCore 0.8.1. My EFI is attached here and to the first post, with some minor changes to make it shareable.

If you have a 6900XTXH, make sure you enable ACPI > Add > 0 (Enable Radeon 6900XT WEG spoof - enable only if 6900XTXH is installed) BEFORE you use the EFI. This is disabled as default because I'm not sure what will happen if it is enabled on a system that doesn't have a 6900XTXH card.

The other thing is that if you DON'T have a 6900XTXH, make sure you change the values in DeviceProperties > PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0).

If you use this EFI:

Rename EFI > OC > Opus - Rename to config.plist to config.plist
In the config.plist:

1. Confirm the values in DeviceProperties > PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0).

2. Add your values in PlatformInfo > ROM. PlatformInfo > SystemProductName, PlatformInfo > SystemSerialNumber, PlatformInfo > SystemUUID
 

Attachments

  • OC 0.8.1 Opus - Shareable EFI.zip
    15.9 MB · Views: 27
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-EG43M-S2H
CPU
i5-6600
Graphics
HD 6000 series
Well hello @tedyun !
Try to replace you last openCore 0.8.1 configuration = copy/paste BOOT and OC folder into already mounted EFI partition, but got that unavailable space for copping.
Current EFI folder contains APPLE/BOOT/MICROSOFT/OC folders and size 64,9 mb
But EFI partition 192,6 mb from 209,7

admin@iMac-Neumann EFI % ls -al
total 16
drwxrwxrwx@ 1 admin staff 1024 14 июн 11:49 .
drwxr-xr-x 6 root wheel 192 14 июн 11:32 ..
drwxrwxrwx 1 admin staff 512 3 янв 14:16 .Spotlight-V100
drwxrwxrwx 1 admin staff 512 9 апр 14:38 .Trashes
-rwxrwxrwx 1 admin staff 4096 9 апр 14:32 ._EFI
drwxrwxrwx 1 admin staff 512 14 июн 11:32 .fseventsd
drwxrwxrwx@ 1 admin staff 1024 14 июн 11:18 EFI
drwxrwxrwx 1 admin staff 512 3 янв 13:59 System Volume Information

Which garbage must delete here?

or reformat partition next mount it and copy files again ?

Thank you!
 
Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
833
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
6900XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well hello @tedyun !
Try to replace you last openCore 0.8.1 configuration = copy/paste BOOT and OC folder into already mounted EFI partition, but got that unavailable space for copping.
Current EFI folder contains APPLE/BOOT/MICROSOFT/OC folders and size 64,9 mb
But EFI partition 192,6 mb from 209,7



Which garbage must delete here?

or reformat partition next mount it and copy files again ?

Thank you!

Hi @Dr.Hofmann - When updating a version of OC, I would make an "OC Test" USB thumb drive and leave your fully functioning EFI alone.

When replacing an EFI, delete the current EFI folder from the EFI partition (I actually make a backup to the standard partition of the USB drive). That would involve dragging the folder to the trash then emptying the trash.

My EFI is based on pastrychef's Z390M Gaming EFI and he has a number of audio samples in the OC > Resources > Audio. I'm not sure how necessary these are. If you don't use them, you can just keep a backup of them somewhere, then you shouldn't have a problem with space.

I'm not sure if you can reformat it, especially your main drive, because I think you have to reformat the whole drive (thereby wiping out your system and any data). But you can reformat your tester USB thumb drive. But deleting the old folder (by dragging and emptying the trash) works well.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-EG43M-S2H
CPU
i5-6600
Graphics
HD 6000 series
Hi @Dr.Hofmann - When updating a version of OC, I would make an "OC Test" USB thumb drive and leave your fully functioning EFI alone.

When replacing an EFI, delete the current EFI folder from the EFI partition (I actually make a backup to the standard partition of the USB drive). That would involve dragging the folder to the trash then emptying the trash.
ok
but next:
it's not activate display after booting and go in sleep mode.
you wrote:
1. Confirm the values in DeviceProperties > PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0).
my hardware has Radeon rx560 with 4gb, and how can I got values for this variables in my system?
Thank you!
 
Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
833
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
6900XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ok
but next:
it's not activate display after booting and go in sleep mode.
you wrote:

my hardware has Radeon rx560 with 4gb, and how can I got values for this variables in my system?
Thank you!
@Dr.Hofmann -

I actually don't know how to set it up with an RX560. I would just compare what you had with a previously working OpenCore version, then just use those values.

You can just upload both versions (old, working) and your 0.8.1 and I can take a look.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
31
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-EG43M-S2H
CPU
i5-6600
Graphics
HD 6000 series
You can just upload both versions (old, working) and your 0.8.1 and I can take a look.

I didn't fix or edit config only use your version of EFI
Just edit now.
 

Attachments

  • Снимок экрана 2022-06-14 в 20.05.52.png
    Снимок экрана 2022-06-14 в 20.05.52.png
    263.7 KB · Views: 26
  • Снимок экрана 2022-06-14 в 20.07.51.png
    Снимок экрана 2022-06-14 в 20.07.51.png
    1.2 MB · Views: 26
  • Снимок экрана 2022-06-14 в 20.16.07.png
    Снимок экрана 2022-06-14 в 20.16.07.png
    414.7 KB · Views: 27
  • EFI.zip
    32.2 MB · Views: 28
Joined
May 29, 2012
Messages
833
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
6900XT
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. LC
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I didn't fix or edit config only use your version of EFI
Just edit now.

It looks like you edited it correctly. It still doesn't boot?

Maybe take out agdpmod=pikera from the boot arguments.
 
Top