Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Old Hack, New Tricks - Mojave on GA-Z77X-UP5 TH System

Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5TH
CPU
i7-860
Graphics
Intel
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Just want to say I started pricing out a whole new system and after finding this post it got my current one updated and working flawlessly! Thank you so freaking much!

one question I have is in the clover configuration it said to set the resolution to 1600x900 but is there a way to just have it auto detect? This resolution looks pretty grainy on all my displays. Thank you!
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
104
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
AMD RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. Power Mac
  3. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just want to say I started pricing out a whole new system and after finding this post it got my current one updated and working flawlessly! Thank you so freaking much!

one question I have is in the clover configuration it said to set the resolution to 1600x900 but is there a way to just have it auto detect? This resolution looks pretty grainy on all my displays. Thank you!

Sorry for the delayed reply...I've not worked too hard on auto-detecting resolution for Clover. I just set it to my monitor resolution and ignored it from there.
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
104
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
AMD RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. Power Mac
  3. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Are you running this with an Nvidia card or do you need a AMD.
I have
Fractal Design Define R4
GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
i7 3770K
GTX980TX

I'm running mine with an old Nvidia card that is natively supported in the OS (GTX 650 Ti). I might move to an AMD card at some point, not sure. But it works just fine without web drivers for this vintage of Nvidia card -- which admittedly, is pretty sold and slow by today's standards. But so is an Ivy Bridge processor. :)
 
Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5TH
CPU
i7-860
Graphics
Intel
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
I’m just using the onboard Intel Hd4000. I use it for audio production so the graphics don’t really matter.
 
Joined
May 20, 2012
Messages
24
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thanks. I actually have one of these in another PC. Ill try it.
 
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
31
Motherboard
Z390 AORUS Master / 32GB 3600 Ram /10.14.3
CPU
i9 9900k @ 5.0Ghz
Graphics
Dual AMD Vega64 (Gigabyte)
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi Guys,

I'm having a hell of a time with This.

I have the same board running 3570k and an r9 270x but without the thunderbolt. (Z77X-UD5H) Was ruining Mavericks/Chameleon forever and I decided to upgrade it to Clover/Mojave. Everything works perfectly. I've had no issues except one. I have no audio devices showing up. Not even the HDMI audio of the dGPU

I have
AppleALC 1.4.9
Lilu 1.4.4
WhateverGreen 1.3.9

I've Checked with kextstat and all the kexts are loading.

Did I miss something?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!!!
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
104
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
AMD RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. Power Mac
  3. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Guys,

I'm having a hell of a time with This.

I have the same board running 3570k and an r9 270x but without the thunderbolt. (Z77X-UD5H) Was ruining Mavericks/Chameleon forever and I decided to upgrade it to Clover/Mojave. Everything works perfectly. I've had no issues except one. I have no audio devices showing up. Not even the HDMI audio of the dGPU

I have
AppleALC 1.4.9
Lilu 1.4.4
WhateverGreen 1.3.9

I've Checked with kextstat and all the kexts are loading.

Did I miss something?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!!!

I use an old USB audio adapter to provide 2-channel audio for my setup (all I need). It avoided lots of audio headaches in the early Hackintosh days, and I've just kept running it since it works. If you can find a cheap one (some list as low as $9 on Amazon), give it a shot and see if it solves your problem. Good luck!
 
Joined
May 22, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5TH
CPU
i7-860
Graphics
Intel
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
So I originally followed this guide in November, and it went absolutely flawlessly. I wanted to wipe the drive and reinstall mojave due to some software conflicts (pro tools), and now im having issues. Ive followed your guide step-by-step multiple times and read all the comments. The install took 3 tries to actually complete, when last time i did this with the same USB drive, it worked first try. I have 2 main issues i cant solve:

1. Super slow boot time. Im using a brand new 256gb San Disk SSD, and previously it booted almost instantly. Now its closer to 2 minutes before it fully boots.

1. Using the internal Intel HD4000 graphics card, it doesnt dispaly at full resolution. The edge of my screen is cut off just about the thickness of the cursor all the way around. It wasnt until after i ran multibeast that this happened. Its like the graphics of OSX are not in HD. It has a lot of pixelation, like its set at a much lower resolution than it says it is. I have it hooked up to a 4k monitor, and two HD TVs and its the same across all 3.

If you can help with either of these id really appreciate it. Thank you!
 
Joined
Jul 13, 2013
Messages
104
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
AMD RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. Power Mac
  3. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So I originally followed this guide in November, and it went absolutely flawlessly. I wanted to wipe the drive and reinstall mojave due to some software conflicts (pro tools), and now im having issues. Ive followed your guide step-by-step multiple times and read all the comments. The install took 3 tries to actually complete, when last time i did this with the same USB drive, it worked first try. I have 2 main issues i cant solve:

1. Super slow boot time. Im using a brand new 256gb San Disk SSD, and previously it booted almost instantly. Now its closer to 2 minutes before it fully boots.

1. Using the internal Intel HD4000 graphics card, it doesnt dispaly at full resolution. The edge of my screen is cut off just about the thickness of the cursor all the way around. It wasnt until after i ran multibeast that this happened. Its like the graphics of OSX are not in HD. It has a lot of pixelation, like its set at a much lower resolution than it says it is. I have it hooked up to a 4k monitor, and two HD TVs and its the same across all 3.

If you can help with either of these id really appreciate it. Thank you!

Thanks for the comments on the guide...I'm by no means a Hackintoshing expert, but I can follow instructions reasonably well (just don't ask my wife's opinion). So I'm standing on the shoulders of others here quite a bit!

The best recommendation I have (since you're going back to an older version of the OS) is to ensure you're using the appropriate versions of the TonyMac tools for Mojave (UniBeast 9.30 and MultiBeast 11.3.0). If you're using the Catalina versions, it might be causing problems.

Good luck - I hope you get it working!
 
Top