Contribute
Register

[success] novoodoo's build - GA-Z77M-D3H - Core i5-3570K - HD-4000 - 8GB

Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
GA-Z77M-D3H
CPU
i5-3570K
Graphics
HD-4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
novoodoo's build - GA-Z77M-D3H - Core i5-3570K - HD-4000 - 8GB

cooler_master_centurion_5.jpg

Components

Apple Mac OS X version 10.8 Mountain Lion
Mac OS X 10.8 - Bought at the Mac App Store

GIGABYTE GA-Z77M-D3H Motherboard
http://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-LGA1155-CrossFireX-Motherboard-GA-Z77M-D3H/dp/B007R21JW2/

Intel Core i5-3570K
http://www.amazon.com/Intel-Core-i5-3570K-Quad-Core-Processor/dp/B007SZ0E1K/

Seasonic S12II 520 BRONZE Power Supply
http://www.amazon.com/Seasonic-S12II-520-BRONZE-Supply/dp/B003M2YQYO/

Seagate ST2000DM001 Barracuda 7200RPM 2 TB SATA 6 GB/s
http://www.amazon.com/Seagate-ST2000DM001-Barracuda-3-5-Inch-Internal/dp/B005T3GRN2/

Kingston SSDNow V200 128 GB SATA III 6 GB/s 2.5-Inch
http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-SSDNow-2-5-Inch-Desktop-Bundle/dp/B0062IMALQ/

Sony AD-7280S-0B 24x SATA Internal DVD+/-RW Drive
http://www.amazon.com/Sony-AD-7280S-0B-Internal-Drive-Black/dp/B0057FRTPW/

7.1 Channel USB External Sound Card Audio Adapter
Bought a generic one at Brazilian ebay store
http://www.amazon.com/Channel-External-Sound-Audio-Adapter/dp/B0027EMHM6/

Kingston 8GB 1600MHz DDR3 (Kit of 2) XMP T1 Series
http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Technology-1600MHz-KHX1600C9D3T1K2-8GX/dp/B004K32QEG/


Already Owned

Samsung 750 GB SATA II Hard Drive
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-750-SATA-Hard-Drive/dp/B001492LG2/

Dell UltraSharp U2311H 23-inch Display
http://www.amazon.com/Dell-UltraSharp-U2311H-Widescreen-DisplayPort/dp/B003QTKV9W/

Microsoft Wireless Desktop (Keyboard and Mouse) 800
http://www.amazon.com/Microsoft-2LF-00001-Wireless-Desktop-800/dp/B003SVSJ1K/

Intel 320 Series 80 GB SSD
http://www.amazon.com/Intel-2-5-Inch-Solid-State-Drive-Brown/dp/B004TFTE0O/

COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119068


Comments:


This is my first hackintosh build. With the help of this community (forum and tools) I was able to achieve a very stable system. Thank you very much.

The primary purpose of this desktop is photo editing with Adobe Lightroom on Windows 7. However, as we are planing to replace our Windows notebooks with Macs, we decided to give OSX a try.

Preliminary steps:

  1. Windows 7 was installed on the Intel 80GB SSD. This is the Windows boot and applications drive. User folders are stored in the 750GB harddisk and photos in the 2TB harddisk.
  2. After install I enabled AHCI following this guide (should have done it before Windows 7 install, but was unaware of it).
  3. Bios parameters were adjusted according to this guide.


Mountain Lion installation (basically following by tonymac's guide):

  1. Using a Mac, a UniBeast 1.5 flash drive was prepared.
  2. All drives from the PC with exception of the 120GB SSD were disconnected .
  3. The PC was booted with the USB flash drive (no boot parameters were needed).
  4. The SSD was formatted.
  5. Mountain Lion was installed.
  6. Rebooted still using the UniBeast flash drive and landed on the desktop.
  7. MultiBeast 5.0.2 was downloaded and executed with the following options:
    • UserDSDT or DSDT-Free Installation
    • Drivers -> Disk -> Trim Enabler (needed for the SSD)
    • Drivers -> Network -> maolj's AtherosL1cEthernet (not sure if this is needed)
    • Customization -> System Definitions -> iMac -> iMac 12,2 [Edit:] see below - This setting was change to MacMini 5,1 after install in order to get AirPlay mirroring.
Notice that no Audio drivers were installed. As I read in the forum support for the Via sound chip is still flaky. I could not find anybody happy with the several voodoo driver alternatives. Thus, I went for a generic USB sound device instead (see below).

  1. Rebooted this time without the help of the USB flash drive.


At this point I had OSX installed and running stably. I reconnected the remaining drives. By pressing F12 during boot I am able to choose between OSX and Windows 7. OSX mounts automatically all windows partitions (read-only).


Some final adjustments were needed:

  • The USB sound card was plugged in. It is automatically recognized by OSX as "Generic USB Audio device". The sound is good enough for headphones and microphone. I don't need a digital output.
  • My keyboard follows the brazilian standard (ABNT-2). Following this guide, I was able to configure it correctly.
  • The fonts looked fuzzy to me when compared to Windows 7. This problem is reported in several Mac forums when non Apple displays are used. The following command solved the problem:
defaults -currentHost write -globalDomain AppleFontSmoothing -int 2

Not working:

  • On-board sound, but USB sound is working instead (see previous comment)
  • Did not manage to connect to an AppleTV with AirPlay. Must investigate further. Could be a configuration problem on the wireless router. [EDIT] Changed SystemDefintions to MacMini 5,1 and got AirPlay mirroring:)

Working:
  • System is very stable since first install.
  • Upgraded to Mountain Lion 10.8.1 without problems
  • Sleep and wake-up working
  • All USB ports (including USB 3) ports working

Changes since original install [EDIT]


  • I am now running this system for 8 months without any problems. Very stable. In the test phase I was dual booting with Windows 7. Now, as I seldom use Windows, the Windows 7 partition was removed and I am using VMware in the rare occasions Windows is needed.
  • Mountain Lion was updated twice to 10.8.2 and 10.8.3 directly from AppStore. After each install I had to reenable Trim for the SSDs with the TrimEnabler application.
  • The usb sound card I was using (see above) was giving really bad noise. I bought a pair of USB speakers (http://www.amazon.com/Pioneer-Powered-Computer-Speakers-S-MM301/dp/B005FE72Q6). Much better sound now.
  • A added a simple WebCam from Logitech that is used for Skype and as a microphone. Worked out of the box (http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-960-000617-Webcam-C210/dp/B003LVZO88).
  • At some point I was unable to login at iMessage. The solution was to update to Chimera 2.0 as described here.

OS X Mavericks

I am now using this system as my main computer for more than one year without any issues. All OS X updates went directly through AppStore without problems.

Today the system was updated to OS X Mavericks flawlessly (see message below).
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2013
Messages
7
Motherboard
GA-Z77M-D3H
CPU
i5 3570k
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
Mobile Phone
Hi
I've got same mobo and CPU and can't get HD4000 to work.
As VGA is apparently not supported, I tried HDMI with my TV without success.
Are your display connected via DVI ? Would be good to know as I may buy a new display monitor ...
Many thanks in advance for your answer.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2010
Messages
34
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390-UD
CPU
i5-9600
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I've got the Z77M-D3H and i5-3570K just like your successful build. Despite building several Hacks to date, I am completely stuck at the installation phase, with the machine going into a KP before getting to the GUI installation screen for ML. I think it is something to do with the CPU state - I get messages saying CPUID not recognised......

My questions:

What version of BIOS are you running?
What were your BIOS settings outside of the usual (AHCI not IDE, HPET=enabled, etc.)?

I've almost given up on the TonyMac method - not had any pointers on my request on the forum. I read somewhere to set the Internal CPU PLL Overvoltage to disabled - did you do this?

Thanks for any suggestions you can offer.......
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2013
Messages
7
Motherboard
GA-Z77M-D3H
CPU
i5 3570k
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
Mobile Phone
I have F7 BIOS. And I only make AHCI change after loading default settings.

I could have my Gigabyte GeForce 210 silent to work, but don't think it provides full QE/CI. That's why I'm struggling to get HD 4000 activated. My ultimate goal would be to have Airplay mirroring.

If I were you, I would retry the whole procedure from scratch. Rebuild Unibeast USB, and so on from the beginning.

Or may be a HW problem with your system. Did you try to have it running on Ubuntu for example ?

Keep on trying and let us know where you are ...
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
GA-Z77M-D3H
CPU
i5-3570K
Graphics
HD-4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi
I've got same mobo and CPU and can't get HD4000 to work.
As VGA is apparently not supported, I tried HDMI with my TV without success.
Are your display connected via DVI ? Would be good to know as I may buy a new display monitor ...
Many thanks in advance for your answer.

Hi! exactly, I have the display connected via DVI.
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
GA-Z77M-D3H
CPU
i5-3570K
Graphics
HD-4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have just checked the Bios version: it is F8.

Regarding to Bios settings, I just followed the steps described above (preliminary settings).

I have F7 BIOS. And I only make AHCI change after loading default settings.

I could have my Gigabyte GeForce 210 silent to work, but don't think it provides full QE/CI. That's why I'm struggling to get HD 4000 activated. My ultimate goal would be to have Airplay mirroring.

If I were you, I would retry the whole procedure from scratch. Rebuild Unibeast USB, and so on from the beginning.

Or may be a HW problem with your system. Did you try to have it running on Ubuntu for example ?

Keep on trying and let us know where you are ...
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2013
Messages
7
Motherboard
GA-Z77M-D3H
CPU
i5 3570k
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
Mobile Phone
Finally, it works ! :thumbup:
I have HD 4000 + AirPlay mirroring.
Sound with patched AppleHDA.kext.

Still have some random freezes, about once or twice a day, and some sleep/wake issues from time to time.
Don't know what to try to improve, but anyway, it's fairly usable.

But it's not a 100% success yet ...
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,661
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
What did you do to get HD4000 & AirPlay working? Other folks will want to know. :thumbup:
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2013
Messages
7
Motherboard
GA-Z77M-D3H
CPU
i5 3570k
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
Mobile Phone
Well I did nothing ... DVI connection allows HD4000 to work. I had to buy a new monitor, and as soon as I tried it, it worked. "About this Mac" tells "HD 4000 768 Mo" since.
Prior I get my DVI monitor, I tried HDMI connection to my TV set without success.

Then I had to change machine type to Mac Mini late 2012 in order to activate AirPlay mirroring to my ATV3.

I'm glad if that helps somebody :)
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
GA-Z77M-D3H
CPU
i5-3570K
Graphics
HD-4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Today I updated this system to OS X Mavericks without any issues.

First, the boot SSD (the one containing OS X and the programs) was backuped:

  1. Using SuperDuper the boot SSD was cloned.
  2. On the cloned disk I run Chimera (latest version).
  3. Booted from the cloned disk and tested it to be sure that everything is working.

I simply followed Tonymac's upgrade procedure:
  1. Using Unibeast the installation USB was generated.
  2. Booted with Unibeast and installed OS X Mavericks on the cloned disk.
  3. After instalion booted again with the Unibeast USB and run Multibeast with following options: no DSDT, atheros network driver and Tim enabler
  4. Restarted with OS X Mavericks.

So far everything seems to be working fine, except sound. I never bothered to try to install sound on this board and have been using USB speakers instead.

Thanks to everybody for the support!

[EDIT]

I noticed that my Magic Mouse connected through an IOgear Bluetooth adapter was not reconnecting after sleep, although it worked fine after a reboot.

the_gael pointed me to this post by toleda. Following toleda's instructions , I used the DPCIManager app to Rebuild Cache and now everything seems to be working fine again.
 
Top