Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Mountain Lion, GA-Z77X-UD5H, i7 3770 Ivy Bridge, GTX 670

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 24, 2011
Messages
19
Motherboard
MacBook PRo
CPU
i7
Graphics
ATI
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
For some reason the system never performed as I expected.. For some reason booting takes way too long.. Drive lights go off for about 30 seconds during boot and then it continues and boots into the desktop.

The 10.8.3 update is a total no go.. It installs allright but I have all sorts of problems booting after that. Which I can only seem to do using the -x safe boot. Not sure what kext or device is causing the problem.

Given that even with an almost clean 10.8.2 system and only using multibeast no-dtst and audio config, the update to 10.8.3 just messes up something.

Cobra: did you ever update to 10.8.3 and get it working?

Also not sure about the extremely long boot time.. Lol. my G73JH boots up in under 12 seconds.. I would expect this beast to do better, not 10 times as long.

Hi!

Why your computer is booting so slow might be because you got tons of hardware connected thrue USB.. (from own experience)

BIOS have to check each USB object before proceed booting..

If you want fast boot, disconnect everything and use SSD, and use fastboot option in BIOS (maybe not recommended for Hackintosh and our MB maybe doesnt have that option either)

I updated to 10.8.3 without any big problems.. had to rerun MultiBeast but thats it..
Also running Windows in an other partition..
If you want an computer running OS X 100% go buy yourself a Mac, totaly worth it, saveing you alot of trouble with OS X
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2013
Messages
8
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Awesome build! I'll be doing something very similar to this.

As for the Fractal R4 case, did you add any additional fans to it? I'm thinking about this case but I'm not sure if I will have to do that.

How much upkeep does a hackintosh require?
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2011
Messages
525
Motherboard
Lenovo T440s
CPU
i5-4200u
Graphics
HD4400
Glad to hear 10.8.3 hasn't been giving EVERYONE trouble. Might try the update in a bit.

Awesome build! I'll be doing something very similar to this.

As for the Fractal R4 case, did you add any additional fans to it? I'm thinking about this case but I'm not sure if I will have to do that.

How much upkeep does a hackintosh require?

I added one more fan to my Fractal R4 (Corsair brand) but it really wasn't necessary. My temps rose quite a bit compared to my 1200 (probably 5-6 degrees), but the quietness can't be beat. My 1200 sounded like a train even on low. The R4 is whisper quiet.

Upkeep?? Well once you get it working, none :p You may run into a few things that don't work (or don't work out of the box) but a lot is possible. You just have to worry about system updates, as they can overwrite some files on your machine that allow the Hackintosh to run correctly.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,768
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Mountain Lion 10.8.3 is a safe as you can get upgrade using the Combo update.
  • Run Disk Utilities to Repair Permissions;
  • Backup your system with Time Machine, Copy Carbon Cloner or SuperDuper;
  • Download the 10.8.3 Combo Update (I always use the Combo Updaters);
  • Run the Combo Update, but before you reboot, run MultiBeast to just reload your audio kext;
  • Reboot; and
  • Run Disk Utilities to Repair Permissions.
BTW, I just did a fresh 10.8.3 install on my Batman system, and Mountain Lion runs great on it. (Batman is a 1156 socket system: GA-P55M-UD4 / i7-785K / GA HD 5770 "Batmobile" graphics card.) :thumbup:
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2013
Messages
8
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Glad to hear 10.8.3 hasn't been giving EVERYONE trouble. Might try the update in a bit.



I added one more fan to my Fractal R4 (Corsair brand) but it really wasn't necessary. My temps rose quite a bit compared to my 1200 (probably 5-6 degrees), but the quietness can't be beat. My 1200 sounded like a train even on low. The R4 is whisper quiet.

Upkeep?? Well once you get it working, none :p You may run into a few things that don't work (or don't work out of the box) but a lot is possible. You just have to worry about system updates, as they can overwrite some files on your machine that allow the Hackintosh to run correctly.

Thanks for the response! It's the first one I got.. haha. I think I'm going to make the purchases as soon as my income tax returns come in. I'm still worried that it won't be as seamless as my macbook pro or my imac at work, but I think I can make it work. I always wanted to build a computer and my 2009 macbook pro isn't really keeping up anymore.

This is my build.
http://pcpartpicker.com/user/Kevzaz/saved/1rmd

Do you have any cpu coolers? How much room is there for a cpu cooler in that case?
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2011
Messages
525
Motherboard
Lenovo T440s
CPU
i5-4200u
Graphics
HD4400
Thanks for the response! It's the first one I got.. haha. I think I'm going to make the purchases as soon as my income tax returns come in. I'm still worried that it won't be as seamless as my macbook pro or my imac at work, but I think I can make it work. I always wanted to build a computer and my 2009 macbook pro isn't really keeping up anymore.

This is my build.
http://pcpartpicker.com/user/Kevzaz/saved/1rmd

Do you have any cpu coolers? How much room is there for a cpu cooler in that case?

There's some room. I'm using this Zalman cooler: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835118074

It fits no problem. Larger coolers, might have an issue, but it's quite roomy. I'd maybe look around on Google or something first.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2013
Messages
6
Motherboard
Windows 7 64bit & Mac OSX 10.8.3
CPU
3.4 GHz Intel Core i5
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
can you delete the boot0md file after you do the mod tweak on both windows and osx.

EDIT:
seems my update and sleep didn't work after all. idk why

and my mistake, i think i am doing it wrong because when i do the bootd mod, i get this...
Screen Shot 2013-04-29 at 5.38.34 PM.jpg

usage: fdisk440 [-ieu] [-f mbrboot] [-c cyl -h head -s sect] [-S size] [-r] [-a style] disk
-i: initialize disk with new MBR
-u: update MBR code, preserve partition table
-e: edit MBRs on disk interactively
-f: specify non-standard MBR template
-chs: specify disk geometry
-S: specify disk size
-r: read partition specs from stdin (implies -i)
-a: auto-partition with the given style
-d: dump partition table
-y: don't ask any questions
-t: test if disk is partitioned
`disk' is of the form /dev/rdisk0.
auto-partition styles:
boothfs 8Mb boot plus HFS+ root partition (default)
bootufs 8Mb boot plus UFS root partition
hfs Entire disk as one HFS+ partition
ufs Entire disk as one UFS partition
dos Entire disk as one DOS partition
raid Entire disk as one 0xAC partition
localhost:~ VJTV$


Screen Shot 2013-04-29 at 5.39.54 PM.png
any idea as to what i am doing wrong?
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2011
Messages
525
Motherboard
Lenovo T440s
CPU
i5-4200u
Graphics
HD4400
can you delete the boot0md file after you do the mod tweak on both windows and osx.

EDIT:
seems my update and sleep didn't work after all. idk why

and my mistake, i think i am doing it wrong because when i do the bootd mod, i get this...
View attachment 54769

usage: fdisk440 [-ieu] [-f mbrboot] [-c cyl -h head -s sect] [-S size] [-r] [-a style] disk
-i: initialize disk with new MBR
-u: update MBR code, preserve partition table
-e: edit MBRs on disk interactively
-f: specify non-standard MBR template
-chs: specify disk geometry
-S: specify disk size
-r: read partition specs from stdin (implies -i)
-a: auto-partition with the given style
-d: dump partition table
-y: don't ask any questions
-t: test if disk is partitioned
`disk' is of the form /dev/rdisk0.
auto-partition styles:
boothfs 8Mb boot plus HFS+ root partition (default)
bootufs 8Mb boot plus UFS root partition
hfs Entire disk as one HFS+ partition
ufs Entire disk as one UFS partition
dos Entire disk as one DOS partition
raid Entire disk as one 0xAC partition
localhost:~ VJTV$


View attachment 54770
any idea as to what i am doing wrong?

Why are you using bash shell? Just run in Terminal. Make sure you go to your "downloads" folder where the fdisk440 and boot0md files exist.

I think I see the problem. Your path doesn't seem to be correct - if there's a space, it should be delimited by a "/" Terminal can do that automatically if you use the tab key to follow the path.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2013
Messages
6
Motherboard
Windows 7 64bit & Mac OSX 10.8.3
CPU
3.4 GHz Intel Core i5
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 2GB
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Why are you using bash shell? Just run in Terminal. Make sure you go to your "downloads" folder where the fdisk440 and boot0md files exist.

I think I see the problem. Your path doesn't seem to be correct - if there's a space, it should be delimited by a "/" Terminal can do that automatically if you use the tab key to follow the path.

I'm not sure what the difference between Bash Shell and Terminal is...
Screen Shot 2013-04-29 at 6.05.33 PM.png
is it not this
"sudo fdisk440 -f /Users/the\ Composer/Downloads/boot0md -u /dev/rdisk1"

and as for installing fdisk440, all i did was go to
http://forge.voodooprojects.org/p/chameleon/source/tree/HEAD/branches/ErmaC/Modules/i386/util/fdisk and click
Cconfig and run it.
im not sure if that's correct....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top