Contribute
Register

[Success] Mojave 10.14.6 GA Z170X UD5 TH i7 6700K 32GB Ram 2400MHz PowerCooler Radeon RX 580 8GB

Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
919
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Well, I'll be... I've just fixed the resolution problem on the monitor (dell ultrasharp). All patches, settings and tweaks failing, I decided to just plug in a dvi cable with an adapter. And voila, it works. No thunderbolt or hdmi, but an adapted dvi cable fixed it.

This is what I wrote before on this same thread: 1440p on my color calibrated Dell works fine for me via an $6 hdmi-to-dvi adapter...
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2013
Messages
89
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X UD5 TH
CPU
i7 6700
Graphics
Intel 530 (onboard)
This is what I wrote before on this same thread: 1440p on my color calibrated Dell works fine for me via an $6 hdmi-to-dvi adapter...
Hmm, not sure why I missed that, thanks though. Reading more attentively would have saved me a lot of fiddling and trying patches. Either way, glad it works. When I told a mate he mentioned this would be because by using the adapter you prevent HDCP protocols. Did install adobe and dxo on the machine now. They both seem to run well.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD4 F6
CPU
I7 2600k
Graphics
ATI 6870 OC / gt660 TI
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android

Perritone's Skylake Build: GA-Z170X-UD5-TH - i7-6700K - HD530
...
Hi Perritone,
Thanks for your post, i am thinking to make my second hack too and I would like to know if Thunderbolt is working properly so if it is possible to use it as thunderbolt 2.

Thank you in advance!!
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
32
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170-UD5-TH
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
GTX 660
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Color Classic, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
@Perritone: does shutdown work for you? My rig shuts down, but then immediately restarts...
I'm using the builtin HD530 GPU, that may be the culprit.
Please forgive my not replying sooner very serious family issues.
To answer your question, I never shutdown my Computer I always LOG OUT!
So no, I've never had that problem.

Peace
 
Joined
Feb 4, 2014
Messages
32
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170-UD5-TH
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
GTX 660
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Color Classic, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi Perritone,
Thanks for your post, i am thinking to make my second hack too and I would like to know if Thunderbolt is working properly so if it is possible to use it as thunderbolt 2.

Thank you in advance!!
I've not used thunderbolt yet. I'm sorry I can't give a definitive answer and i won't mislead you with BS.
I simply don't know!


Peace
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
919
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Please forgive my not replying sooner very serious family issues.
To answer your question, I never shutdown my Computer I always LOG OUT!
So no, I've never had that problem.

Peace
Never mind. It was my Firewire card that caused the restart. Bought another brand that shuts down just fine.

Best,

Zip
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
1
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Have u tested getting 4k via thunderbolt/minidp onboard port ?
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2012
Messages
919
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900k
Graphics
RX480
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Jerivalu' guide mostly. I didn't have to do anything special to make the 530 work. Except the hdmi to dvi adapter for 1440p res.
BTW, sleep doesn't work but this is normal for 530 GPU. I don't care.
Haven't upgraded to 10.12, BTW.
 
Top