Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] jbarnette's Build - Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming + i9-9900K + Sapphire RX Vega 64 8GB + 32GB RAM + MacOS 10.14.3 w/ USB3 working!

Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
51
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I was trying to get the IGPU to work prior to installing the DGPU. The plan is to have both GPUs working
I'll try somethings suggested by @CaseySJ and his threads with the Z390 Designare, and maybe go to Mojave if needed.
Thanks for the reply!!
P.S. Tell us about the Thunderbolt card when you can.

@joanareis so here is where I am with the GC Card-Titan Ridge...After careful reading there is as with all Hackintosh a bit more steps that are involved. It's not as simple as just inserting the card and adding kexts....

Here is something I just read on @CaseySJ 's thread and it states the following:

There's a very good chance that it will work with GC-Titan Ridge add-in-card. Note, however, that Thunderbolt add-in-cards require Windows for initiation from a full power-down state, meaning:
  • Run Windows and install Thunderbolt driver to initialize the card.
  • Now you can reboot into MacOS and use the card.
  • You can shutdown and restart MacOS and still use the card.
  • But if you do a full power-down (pull power cable from the wall or flip the power switch on power supply) you will need to run Windows again to initialize the card
So, after the long weekend, I had doing personal stuff, and fine-tuning my build I am not going to tackle this until the end of the week.

I have read that it's best to remove the Hackintosh SSD then install windows on another SSD. The reason for this is if you keep your Hackintosh SSD connected, the windows installs something on the Hackintosh SSD. I can't recall where I read it but, I read it last night. I don't want anything dealing with windows os on my Hackintosh.

So, I have to think this through and do more reading and plan my attack.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
51
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I did get everything working...I am just fine tuning my system, and, like I mentioned above, the GC Titan Ridge card takes more than just plug and adding kexts. So I am going to work on that this weekend...
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i3-8100
Graphics
UHD 630 + RX 580
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I thought about adding a Titan Ridge card. But from what I have read, you do need Windows to initialize the card. Also, hot plugging Thunderbolt devices is hit or miss...sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. As I don't have a Thunderbolt Display that needs to be driven, I'm more than OK not having thunderbolt. As for IGPU and DGPU, use Lilu and whatevergreen along with Framebuffer patches to get it to work.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2013
Messages
44
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I did get everything working...I am just fine tuning my system and like I mentioned above the GC Titan Ridge card takes more than just plug and adding kexts. So I am going to work on that this weekend...
I had 2 builds with Gigabyte motherboards with Thunderbolt onboard. Both of them I had to install Windows first. After all this, Thunderbolt ports worked easily except for hot plug. They were all Thunderbolt 1.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
51
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I had 2 builds with Gigabyte motherboards with Thunderbolt onboard. Both of them I had to install Windows first. After all this, Thunderbolt ports worked easily except for hot plug. They were all Thunderbolt 1.
Yeah, that was what I was reading. So, that is why I am going to work on it this weekend, and, since I don't want anything to do with Windows on this machine, I am going to have to remove my NVMe and install Windows on a spare SSD that I have...So, that will be my project this weekend....

@joanareis, did you manage to inject the audio? I have it working but was curious if anyone here managed to get it working via the injecting onto the motherboard.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2013
Messages
44
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
it's working through AppleALC i guess.....what do you mean "injecting onto the motherboard"? sorry for my ignorance :/

btw @gyrene2083 do you use SSDt for USB? how many ports are u using? I'm trying to make USB3 to work on my front case panel...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 9, 2019
Messages
31
Motherboard
ASUS Z390-F
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
UHD 630 + Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Are you using the Sapphire Radeon RX Vega 64 Nitro+ 8GB? I have it installed on a Z390-F board with SMBIOS 19,1 and 10.14.5 Public Beta 2. But when using DP on my LG 4K HDR monitor my system suffers a mouse lag every 1-2 seconds.
When switching to HDMI it seems to show no lag or at least barely noticeable (not sure whether I'm maybe just imagining it :D).
Did you use any frame buffer patch in your build?
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2017
Messages
51
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
@joanareis below you will find a snippet of what I am talking about from @CaseySJs thread. If you get a moment you should drop in on that thread as there is a wealth of knowledge there.

Injecting Audio and Enabling On-Board HDMI
In order to keep the build procedure simple, we took the liberty of maximizing point-and-click options in Clover Configurator. But now that the installation is complete, everyone is encouraged to apply the following procedure to inject audio properly and to enable onboard HDMI port. If you plan to run the system in headless mode where the iGPU will not be driving any displays, then you should only make the change for audio injection.

Inject Audio Layout 16 only
For audio injection only, the procedure is:
  • Start by mounting the EFI partition on the Mojave internal SSD and run Clover Configurator. In Clover Configurator, open your config.plist and set Devices --> Audio --> Inject = NO.
  • Then copy-paste the indicated lines directly into config.plist, just after <key>properties</key>.
XML:
<key>Properties</key>
<dict>
// 1. Copy the lines shown below
// 2. Paste them into your config.plist under <key>Properties</key>
<key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1f,0x3)</key>
<dict>
<key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
<string>Built In</string>
<key>device_type</key>
<string>Audio Controller</string>
<key>layout-id</key>
<data>
EAAAAA==
</data>
<key>model</key>
<string>Realtek ALC1220-VB</string>
</dict>
 
Top