Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Intel DH67GD, Core i7-2600k, HD3000, ML 10.8.2...

Joined
Dec 11, 2012
Messages
22
Motherboard
Acer
CPU
i7-2600k
Graphics
ATI
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
BTW, let me know what you need to change for your ATI 5570, and I'll add it to the step-by-step...
Yeah, I'm struggling at the moment, but I definitely will once I get it working. :)
Thanks again RehabMan. Your support is very much appreciated.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,252
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yeah, I'm struggling at the moment, but I definitely will once I get it working. :)
Thanks again RehabMan. Your support is very much appreciated.
At least one person had to remove the 'IGPU' section from the DSDT patches so that the HD3000 drivers wouldn't load. It was more an issue with sleep, if I recall, but maybe something to try.

(you will see the patch if you search dh67gd.txt for 'IGPU')
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2012
Messages
22
Motherboard
Acer
CPU
i7-2600k
Graphics
ATI
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
At least one person had to remove the 'IGPU' section from the DSDT patches so that the HD3000 drivers wouldn't load. It was more an issue with sleep, if I recall, but maybe something to try.

(you will see the patch if you search dh67gd.txt for 'IGPU')
I was just about to ask lol.

I've re-installed again, but this time wanted to ask what "breaks" the graphics in the step-by-step procedure, as the graphics are working fine on a fresh install, suggesting OOB support. Will give editing the IGPU out a go.

EDIT >

Do I just comment this section out, or is there more?
Code:
# rehabman:# Change device ID of IGPU to 0x0116 for compatibility with native HD3000 kexts
into device name_adr 0x00020000 insert
begin
    Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)  // _DSM: Device-Specific Method\n
    {\n
        Store (Package (0x02)\n
        {\n
            "device-id",\n
            Buffer (0x04)\n
            {\n
                0x16, 0x01, 0x00, 0x00\n
            }\n
        }, Local0)\n
        DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))\n
        Return (Local0)\n
    }\n
end;
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,252
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I was just about to ask lol.

I've re-installed again, but this time wanted to ask what "breaks" the graphics in the step-by-step procedure, as the graphics are working fine on a fresh install, suggesting OOB support. Will give editing the IGPU out a go.

EDIT >

Do I just comment this section out, or is there more?
Code:
# rehabman:# Change device ID of IGPU to 0x0116 for compatibility with native HD3000 kexts
into device name_adr 0x00020000 insert
begin
    Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)  // _DSM: Device-Specific Method\n
    {\n
        Store (Package (0x02)\n
        {\n
            "device-id",\n
            Buffer (0x04)\n
            {\n
                0x16, 0x01, 0x00, 0x00\n
            }\n
        }, Local0)\n
        DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))\n
        Return (Local0)\n
    }\n
end;
If you are re-patching, just remove it, or as you say, comment it out with '#'.
Also, you could just edit your DSDT to remove it. Either way, with it gone, the HD3K driver kexts will not load.

Graphics works out-of-box in any case, but often times in limited non-accelerated 1024x768 VGA-compatible mode...
You'll want to figure out how to get the ATI drivers to load for your 5570.

No need to re-install to make DSDT changes either... It is just the one file /Extra/dsdt.aml.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2012
Messages
22
Motherboard
Acer
CPU
i7-2600k
Graphics
ATI
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I had to re-install as teh graphics got screwed by those kexts I installed.

In anycase, editing out that section hasn't changed anything. I still get 800x600 after reboot and when I change to 1920x1080 it's bunched to the right.

So - probably back to the drawing board but waiting on some other members on here with the same card to see how they got it working.

Unless you can think of something else?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,252
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I had to re-install as teh graphics got screwed by those kexts I installed.

In anycase, editing out that section hasn't changed anything. I still get 800x600 after reboot and when I change to 1920x1080 it's bunched to the right.

So - probably back to the drawing board but waiting on some other members on here with the same card to see how they got it working.

Unless you can think of something else?
I don't have that card, so I can't be of much help. I do have an nvidia gt430, but the HD3000 graphics on board work so well, that I haven't even bothered to try with it. If I was you, I'd do some searching...
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2012
Messages
22
Motherboard
Acer
CPU
i7-2600k
Graphics
ATI
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I don't have that card, so I can't be of much help. I do have an nvidia gt430, but the HD3000 graphics on board work so well, that I haven't even bothered to try with it. If I was you, I'd do some searching...
Yeah I'm just going around in circles. Gonna resort to asking for help on here :) (I'm not ashamed of it!)

Happy New Year RehabMan!
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2012
Messages
22
Motherboard
Acer
CPU
i7-2600k
Graphics
ATI
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
@RehabMan:

I saw lots of people talking about "GraphicsEnabler=No" and also found that this is in the boot.plist.

So I edited the file you had me download and used the terminal to cp it to /Extras as before.

This is now giving me full screen and correct resolution.

Though I'm not sure if this is completely working as I read other threads talking about QE/CE. So off to google I go for that! Thanks again mate, and please add this info to your guide :)
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,252
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
@RehabMan:

I saw lots of people talking about "GraphicsEnabler=No" and also found that this is in the boot.plist.

So I edited the file you had me download and used the terminal to cp it to /Extras as before.

This is now giving me full screen and correct resolution.
I just want to clarify. So you did GraphicsEnabler=No (because it was Yes in my attachment)? If so, I will add a note that you can use GraphicsEnabler=No in Multibeast Customization -> Boot Options -> GraphicsEnabler=No.

Though I'm not sure if this is completely working as I read other threads talking about QE/CE. So off to google I go for that! Thanks again mate, and please add this info to your guide :)
QE/CI is graphics acceleration. Easy way to check is look at your menu bar -- if the desktop background picture is 'showing through' (eg. the menu bar is partially transparent), then it is probably working. You can also enable magification on the OS X dock, and see if you get smooth animation.
 
Top