[Success] i7-8700K | Gigabyte Z370N WIFI | EVGA 1060 SC 6GB | High Sierra

Discussion in 'User Builds' started by EagleEyzz, Jun 24, 2018.

  1. EagleEyzz

    EagleEyzz

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370N WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-8700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1060 SC 6GB
    Jun 24, 2018 at 5:11 PM #1
    EagleEyzz

    EagleEyzz

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370N WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-8700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1060 SC 6GB
    EagleEyzz Silent Video Editing "NINJA" Hackintosh

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    COMPONENTS

    FRACTAL DESIGN Define Nano S Black Silent Mini ITX Mini Tower [Amazon] [Newegg]

    INTEL Core i7-8700K Coffee Lake 6-Core 3.7 GHz (4.7 GHz Turbo) [Amazon] [Newegg]

    GIGABYTE Z370N WIFI Mini ITX LGA1151 [Amazon] [Newegg]

    NOCTUA NH-C14S Premium Quiet CPU Cooler [Amazon] [Newegg]

    EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 SC GAMING (Single Fan) 6GB [Amazon] [Newegg]

    BALLISTIX Sport LT 32GB Kit (16GBx2) DDR4 2666 [Amazon] [Newegg]

    CORSAIR Certified RMx Series RM650x 650W 80 Plus Gold [Amazon] [Newegg]

    SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB NVMe MZ-V6E500BW [Amazon] [Newegg]

    SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 250GB NVMe MZ-V6E250BW [Amazon] [Newegg]

    SAMSUNG 860 EVO 2.5" 500GB SATA III MZ-76E500B/AM [Amazon] [Newegg] *(2 drives installed)

    EDUP EP-1607 Wireless USB Adapter 5.8GHz / 2.4GHz [Amazon]

    LOGITECH M570 Wireless Laser Trackball [Amazon] [Newegg]


    COMMENTS

    This is my first hackintosh build. It is intended for 4K video editing, and I wanted it to be quiet and portable. I plan to add 2 Seagate IronWolf 10TB 7200 RPM drives and stripe them RAID 0 for fast source media (for editing, not for long term storage of original media). I installed High Sierra on the 500GB M.2 drive, the 250GB M.2 drive is a scratch disk for media cache, one 500GB SSD is for Adobe Premiere Pro project files, the other is for exports and backup.

    macOS High Sierra 13.5.04
    UniBeast 8.3.2
    MultiBeast 10.3.0
    BIOS version F4

    It took me a few tries changing BIOS settings to achieve a successful boot, but everything is very stable after using if for a few days. I plan to overclock the CPU to 5.0GHz after using the system successfully on a project. Below are some of my current BIOS settings.

    Extreme Memory Profile (X.M.P.) [Disabled]
    Fast Boot [Disabled]
    CSM Support [Disabled]
    Secure Boot [Disabled]
    Intel Bios Guard Support [Disabled]
    Network Stack [Disabled]
    VT-d [Disabled]
    Wake on LAN Enable [Disabled]
    Legacy USB Support [Enabled]
    XHCI Hand-off [Enabled]
    USB Mass Storage Driver Support [Enabled]

    I had some trouble initially getting audio to work, but I think it was because I selected the wrong check boxes in MultiBeast. After cleaning everything up, I was able to get audio working with Internal Speakers, but HDMI wasn't working. I installed VooDooHDA and that seems to work (4 x Digital Out (HDMI) are visible, but only works with second enabled)

    SUMMARY

    What Works:
    • Audio (rear, HDMI)
    • Graphics (NVIDIA Webdriver-387.10.10.10.35.106)
    • Shutdown / Restart
    • Ethernet
    • WiFi (with USB adapter)
    • USB 3.0
    • Display Sleep
    • iMessage
    What Does Not Work:
    • Audio (front) *it works, but sounds like interference in the signal
    • Bluetooth (not tested)

    BENCHMARKS (not overclocked)
     

    Attached Files:

    • IMG_3527.jpg  (1.3 MB, 167 views)
    • IMG_3533.jpg  (1.1 MB, 161 views)
    • GeekBench Score.png  (84.8 KB, 166 views)
    • Cinebench Score.png  (84.2 KB, 146 views)
    • Heaven Score.png  (65.9 KB, 146 views)
    • IMG_3526.jpg  (1.1 MB, 132 views)
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2018
  2. limyingpio2300

    limyingpio2300 Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Motherboard:
    GA-B75M-D3V
    CPU:
    i5 3570
    Graphics:
    GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac
    Sep 6, 2018 at 9:51 AM #2
    limyingpio2300

    limyingpio2300 Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Motherboard:
    GA-B75M-D3V
    CPU:
    i5 3570
    Graphics:
    GT 640
    Mac:
    iMac
    Looks good, I may build one too.
     
  3. b.kind

    b.kind

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Motherboard:
    GigaByte-Z370N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i5-8400
    Graphics:
    HD 630 / GTX 1060
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 7, 2018 at 4:04 AM #3
    b.kind

    b.kind

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2018
    Messages:
    38
    Motherboard:
    GigaByte-Z370N-WIFI
    CPU:
    i5-8400
    Graphics:
    HD 630 / GTX 1060
    Mac:
    MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Nice build.

    You and I and several others here have noticed that same interference signal
    in the audio front port only.

    Can't believe we all screwed it up.
     
  4. EagleEyzz

    EagleEyzz

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370N WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-8700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1060 SC 6GB
    Sep 7, 2018 at 4:20 AM #4
    EagleEyzz

    EagleEyzz

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370N WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-8700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1060 SC 6GB
    Everything else is still solid, so I don't want to mess around until I need other updates or someone posts a fix.

     
  5. Erosin

    Erosin

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    5
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370N
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    Intel UHD 630
    Sep 18, 2018 at 3:25 AM #5
    Erosin

    Erosin

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    5
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370N
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    Intel UHD 630
    Did you have to buy a Broadcom chip along with the EDUP Wifi Adapter? I am building a very similar rig with the same Motherboard and CPU combo and was unsure.
     
  6. EagleEyzz

    EagleEyzz

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370N WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-8700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1060 SC 6GB
    Sep 18, 2018 at 3:36 AM #6
    EagleEyzz

    EagleEyzz

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370N WIFI
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-8700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1060 SC 6GB
    I just use the EDUP Adapter for Wi-Fi.
     
  7. Erosin

    Erosin

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    5
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370N
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    Intel UHD 630
    Sep 18, 2018 at 4:32 AM #7
    Erosin

    Erosin

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    5
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370N
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    Intel UHD 630
    Ah okay, thank you!
     
  8. Erosin

    Erosin

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    5
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370N
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    Intel UHD 630
    Sep 19, 2018 at 7:06 AM #8
    Erosin

    Erosin

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Messages:
    5
    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte Z370N
    CPU:
    i7-8700K
    Graphics:
    Intel UHD 630
    Another question since I booted the system, I am attempting to install High Sierra and I get to the Apple logo followed by the forbidden logo (Circle with a line through it) Did you have to deal with this? If so what did you do to circumvent the problem?
     
  9. DouggieB2

    DouggieB2

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Motherboard:
    Z370N WI-FI
    CPU:
    i7-8700
    Graphics:
    Onboard
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 19, 2018 at 9:02 PM #9
    DouggieB2

    DouggieB2

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Motherboard:
    Z370N WI-FI
    CPU:
    i7-8700
    Graphics:
    Onboard
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I am building one just like this with an Intel BX80684I78700 8th Gen Core i7-8700 Processor. I have followed your BIOS settings but the USB drive containing either UniBeast (Sierra or High Sierra) both tried, will not move past the Apple Logo on a black background and the loading progress bar will not appear. Moving to any other USB port gives the same. The same Hardware will boot Windows 10 on another SSD drive, so its not SSD cable fault or something silly. If I take the very same Unibeast 16G Pen drive and test it on my old Hackintosh it works fine; fully installs on new empty SSD. So it's not a bad pen drive or Unibeast install. I am getting a bit stuck for ideas to try next because I have not built a Hackintosh for a few years :(.
     
  10. DouggieB2

    DouggieB2

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Motherboard:
    Z370N WI-FI
    CPU:
    i7-8700
    Graphics:
    Onboard
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 20, 2018 at 6:20 AM #10
    DouggieB2

    DouggieB2

    Joined:
    May 7, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Motherboard:
    Z370N WI-FI
    CPU:
    i7-8700
    Graphics:
    Onboard
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    SOLVED: I should have erased the SSD after the first install of Hi Sierra failed to install.
     
    b.kind likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice