Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] i7-5820k / GTX 970 / GA-X99-UD4 El Capitan 10.11.2 [Clover Guide] (100% Working)

Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Messages
15
Motherboard
MSI X99S SLI Plus (MSI X99S chipset)
CPU
Intel i7 5820k (haswell)
Graphics
GTX 980 (Gigabyte)
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hey I followed your instructions to the letter, and some unexpected things came up, as well as some instructions that weren't clear. Unfortunately this (or perhaps that I have a gtx 980 instead of 970) lead to the failure of this. I have made a thread detailing it here, in case you would be willing to lend a hand. Thank you for this tutorial! It gives me hope to see someone successfully do this.

Also you have SOOO MAAANNNY threads about the same guide with only slight changes.... I really dont know which one is the most "updated" or best for my system (mostly because I dont know what version my installer is). Also when you say "Updated MO/DAY/YEAR" does that mean that this post has been edited, or that I should look for a newer post from your account?

Thanks much!
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
2
Motherboard
ASUS X99 Sabertooth
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
ASUS GTX 970
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hey, new here and am trying to find some instructions that match my build. This guide seems pretty close: ASUS GTX 970, ASUS X99 Sabertooth, i7-5820k.

I was following your instructions, but after I select OS X installation from Clover, the Apple logo and loading bar appear for a few seconds before the PC reboots. Any ideas on how to diagnose or what might be wrong? Pretty sure I followed everything to a T but I'll try again tomorrow from scratch. Thanks.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
502
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Lisa
Mobile Phone
Android
Everything works here as well.
Same hardware, I've followed the guide carefully and encountered 0 problem.
Everything is explained, best X99 guide I've ever seen !

:beachball: THANK :beachball: YOU :beachball: MALKI :beachball:

Only one question :
I use 2133 Mhz DDR4 Corsair Vengeance 32GB of ram, and I can't select any XMP on the Bios, I guess that's because my ram is only 2133 Mhz ?
> Do you think I still can auto-overclock my CPU @4 or 4.3 Ghz like you did ?
2400 Mhz Ram would have been better for video production ?

Thanks again :)
if you can't select xmp then probably your ram is not designed to use it, although you may still be able to overlock your ram. Try updating bios i am currently using f13b, but they have bios f21a out right now (going to try that now).

You should be able to auto overclock to 4.3ghz with the preset in the bios. Make sure you are in the "Classic" bios page. press f2 to get there that is the one I like to use. 2133 mhz for ram is the native speed for ddr4, there won't be much of a difference between 2133 / 2400

Glad you got it working!
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
502
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Lisa
Mobile Phone
Android
Big thanks to Malki for his El Cap 10.11.2 guide!, I managed to get my system up and running smooth with a Geekbench 64bit score of =26459

Unfortunately I decided to give El Cap 10.11.3 a go, everything was fine except for my loss of Audio...:crazy:
Tried reinstalling following the same procedure with Malki's guide but still didn't work (greyed out in System Sound Preferences).... So I'm now back to 10.11.2 until a fix can be found.

My following build is -

(Overclocked 4.3ghz - Memory 2400mhz)

Gigabyte UD4 X99 v1.1
Intel 5820k CPU
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
2 x 1TB Western Digital HDD
Noctua nh-d15s Cooler
Corsair 16GB LPX RAM
Cosrair RM750 PSU
Fractal Define R5 Case
Oh yeah!!! Gearslutz ftw!!!!
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
502
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Lisa
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi,

Great article, thanks a lot.

I've got pretty much the same hardware but the app store downloaded version 10.11.3.
Everything is working perfectly apart from the sound.

Is it possible to either get the sound working with 10.11.3 or force the app store to download 10.11.2?

My build is:

Gigabyte UD4 X99 v1.1
Intel 5930k CPU
Samsung 850 EVO 250GB (Mac)
Samsung 850 PRO 250GB (Windows)
1 x 2TB Western Digital HDD
Corsair H110i GTX Hydro Cooler
16GB Kingston HyperX Fury DDR4
Corsair HX750i PSU
Corsair 750d Dominator Case
Msi GTX 970 Graphics
I have not tried 10.11.3 you might have to wait until Toleda comes out with an updated method. Look at this thread, it looks as if he updated it, although I can't help you as I could only figure out the method I explained:

http://www.tonymacx86.com/audio/143757-audio-realtek-alc-applehda-guide.html
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
502
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Lisa
Mobile Phone
Android
Hey I followed your instructions to the letter, and some unexpected things came up, as well as some instructions that weren't clear. Unfortunately this (or perhaps that I have a gtx 980 instead of 970) lead to the failure of this. I have made a thread detailing it here, in case you would be willing to lend a hand. Thank you for this tutorial! It gives me hope to see someone successfully do this.

Also you have SOOO MAAANNNY threads about the same guide with only slight changes.... I really dont know which one is the most "updated" or best for my system (mostly because I dont know what version my installer is). Also when you say "Updated MO/DAY/YEAR" does that mean that this post has been edited, or that I should look for a newer post from your account?

Thanks much!
I have two guides out. Just this one and a Yosemite guide for booting with Chimera.

If you are having problems with El Capitan try installing Yosemite. Chimera is a much easier bootloader to figure out when you are just starting, my Yosemite guide explains everything step by step. I am currently running Yosemite / Chimera due to my favorite program (Pro Tools HD 11) being incompatible with el capitan.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2011
Messages
502
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Lisa
Mobile Phone
Android
Hey, new here and am trying to find some instructions that match my build. This guide seems pretty close: ASUS GTX 970, ASUS X99 Sabertooth, i7-5820k.

I was following your instructions, but after I select OS X installation from Clover, the Apple logo and loading bar appear for a few seconds before the PC reboots. Any ideas on how to diagnose or what might be wrong? Pretty sure I followed everything to a T but I'll try again tomorrow from scratch. Thanks.
This is explained in my guide. Try either OsxAptioFix2Drv or OsxAptioFixDrv (but not both at once). Here is the solution (copied from my guide):

If it does not boot, this is where you either need another copy of OS X that is running, or another flash drive. The file that is preventing OS X to boot is either a lack of OsxAptioFix2Drv or OsxAptioFixDrv. You can't have them both on the flash drive at the same time. It looks like the installer won't boot unless OsxAptioFix2Drv is present, but OSX itself won't boot unless OsxAptioFixDrv is present. You will either need to edit the usb installer after installing osx, or have 2 flash drives each with a different one. That way you will always be able to boot.

The easiest way to get OsxAptioFix2Drv or OsxAptioFixDrv file is to mount the efi partition with a working copy of clover, and open config.plist with Clover configurator. Go all the way down to "install drivers" on the sidemenu. Either OsxAptioFix2Drv or OsxAptioFixDrv will be grey (meaning it is installed) if it won't boot at any time, just unclick the one that is installed and install the other one. Any time you run into a boot problem just alternate which one you are using, and it should boot perfect. (But you may be lucky and not have this problem, I did though)

I like to have 2 USB drives and have OsxAptioFix2Drv on one of them, and OsxAptioFixDrv on the other one, so you can just alternate usb drives when it doesn't boot. I tried using both at once and it did not work so have both options ready!

If you have problems booting clover from both usb drives (I had many) and need to edit your settings, make 1 more flash drive with unibeast and install Chimera / Yosemite to it. My guide on that here: [SUCCESS] i7-5820k / GTX 970 / GA-X99-UD4 Yosemite 10.10.x [Full Temp Guide] (100% Working) After installing El Capitan, you risk not being able to boot it at all. You would need to go to another mac to edit your usb drive and try to make it bootable, or have another version of osx installed with a separate bootloader. In a lot of cases but that may not be very easy. Using a chimera / yosemite usb drive you can always reinstall yosemite if worse comes to worst, then you can edit your usb drives from yosemite, re install el capitan and try again. The chimera / yosemite drive always boots and installs, it's reliable. Plus you will need the chimera bootloader anyway: If you try to boot from clover usb and boot fails too many times, it will stop booting alltogether. Changing usb ports, restarting or shutting the computer down, even unplugging the computer from the wall, waiting a while, and plugging it back in may not get it to load clover again from the usb! The only way to get the clover usb to boot again after many failed boots, is to load up your chimera bootloader, then when it gets to the chimera screen, restart. Then boot again from clover usb and it will let you boot again! (doesn't gaurentee osx will load though, but keeps you working!)

I hope you get El Capitan to boot from usb using my guide, every computer setup is slightly different so it might take some trial and error. Once you have it booting, its time for the next step!!!!
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2014
Messages
50
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99-UD4
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
RX 580
if you can't select xmp then probably your ram is not designed to use it, although you may still be able to overlock your ram. Try updating bios i am currently using f13b, but they have bios f21a out right now (going to try that now).

You should be able to auto overclock to 4.3ghz with the preset in the bios. Make sure you are in the "Classic" bios page. press f2 to get there that is the one I like to use. 2133 mhz for ram is the native speed for ddr4, there won't be much of a difference between 2133 / 2400

Glad you got it working!
Thanks for you answer.
I have one more question :

@4.3Ghz, my Cpu temp was over 85 running Prime95 and the system went off automatically.
@3.4Ghz, my Cpu temp is 60 running Prime95 and all is fine.

My CPU Cooler is Dark Rock TF in a S340 NZXT Case with 2 NZXT 120mm fans (1 front 1 back).

I am very worried about that and I don't know what to do.
Do you think it's a bad OC issues, since I didn't change anything on my memory (no XMP) ? Bios issue ? Bad CPU ?

I know it's not a real hackintosh problem but maybe you have an idea ?

Thanks.
 
Joined
Jul 17, 2012
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte UD4 X99 v1.1
CPU
Intel Core i7 5930k
Graphics
MSI Nvidia GTX 970
Mac
Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
I ended up reverting to El Capitan 10.11.2 as I couldn't get sound working with 10.11.3 but everything is fine.

Thanks for this great guide.
 
Top