[SUCCESS] i7-5820k @ 4.3ghz, 2x GTX 970, GA-X99-UD4 Yosemite Hackintosh!

Discussion in 'Yosemite Desktop Guides' started by Colton328, Dec 14, 2014.

  1. Colton328

    Colton328

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-5820k @ 4.3ghz
    Graphics:
    2x Gigabyte GTX 970 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Dec 14, 2014 at 11:50 PM #1
    Colton328

    Colton328

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-5820k @ 4.3ghz
    Graphics:
    2x Gigabyte GTX 970 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    A lot of people have been wondering if Hackintosh works on the X99 Platform. I have successfully setup Yosemite on my GA-X99-UD4 build with dual GTX 970s - both being recognized - along with a 5820k, SSD, 16GB DDR4 of RAM and more.

    What's working: Full CPU performance (no power step though), Ethernet, both GTX 970s are recognized with full hardware acceleration (and CUDA support on both GPUs), App store/iMessages etc, all USB ports, all connected storage devices (3 SSDs, 2 hard drives.)

    What's not working: onboard audio (can be fixed, but I use cinema display's audio)

    The build:
    Intel Core i7 6-Core 5820k w/Hyperthreading @ 4.3ghz (Haswell-E)
    Corsair H110 Cooler
    Crucial MX100 256GB SSD (Yosemite drive)
    Corsair Air 540 Case
    2x GTX 970 Gigabyte WindForce Cards
    GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4 Motherboard
    16GB Crucial DDR4 RAM

    Installation:
    Follow this video tutorial:
    [video=youtube;cx_RD7CduDM]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cx_RD7CduDM[/video]​

    To install OS X, you just need the very basis of OS X to install. To boot the installation drive, I had to use
    npci=0x2000 nv_disable=1 -f -x -v
    ^ there may be more, I forgot, but I am certain of those.

    To boot OS X after installing, you want to follow the youtube tutorial exactly. That includes copying over the modified kernel before booting OS X. To boot OS X, you need to use npci=0x2000, nv_disable=1, -f -v. Install NVIDIA web drivers from here. You can then reboot with npci=0x2000 nvda_drv=1 -f. From here, use Multibeast to install the kexts for your hardware.

    Most everything works out of the box. Don't go crazy on the kexts. A DSDT is not required - sleep even works without it.

    Everyone's system is different. But you will need NVIDIA's web drivers if you have a GTX 970, 980 or 780 Ti.

    Pictures:

    Yosemite specs:
    [​IMG]

    Both GPUs are recognized:
    [​IMG]

    All 12 threads are put to use:
    [​IMG]

    The Machine, "Hackbox Pro"
    [​IMG]

    It's cool in here!
    [​IMG]

    I love my pixels! (taken in windows)
    [​IMG]

    This thing knows no lag, everything is instant and smooth. Yosemite is a bit of a RAM hog, using 7GB RAM just with 4 tabs open in safari and iTunes. I'd suggest 16GB for extra caching and more speed. Yosemite really uses the extra RAM, unlike Windows.

    Notes:
    -Update the BIOS on this motherboard ASAP...Mine came with the first version, extremely buggy. Latest version has no issues to report.
    -You can install NVIDIA CUDA drivers. Applications that take advantage of CUDA cores can take advantage of both GPUs for maximum performance...And it flies!
    -The 5820k hits about 50C on average under 100% stress...At 4.3ghz. I should be able to get at least 4.5ghz, but do not care at the time.
    -I always recommend having separate drives for OS X and Windows. I bought two SSDs - one specifically for OS X, one specifically for Windows. Crucial is a great brand.

    I will help anyone who needs it if your specs are similar to mine. Post below!
     
  2. sgunes

    sgunes

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 7
    CPU:
    Intel i9 7920X
    Graphics:
    NVidia 1070, 1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Dec 15, 2014 at 2:45 AM #2
    sgunes

    sgunes

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Aorus Gaming 7
    CPU:
    Intel i9 7920X
    Graphics:
    NVidia 1070, 1080
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    That's very good news. I am still on my EVGA SR2 and I am looking for an upgrade in a year or so.
    Do you know if the Thunderbolt add in card would work with your MB?
     
  3. Colton328

    Colton328

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-5820k @ 4.3ghz
    Graphics:
    2x Gigabyte GTX 970 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Dec 15, 2014 at 3:48 AM #3
    Colton328

    Colton328

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-5820k @ 4.3ghz
    Graphics:
    2x Gigabyte GTX 970 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    I do not, sorry. I have no need for thunderbolt at the moment.
     
  4. HiDEFF

    HiDEFF

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Dec 15, 2014 at 6:20 AM #4
    HiDEFF

    HiDEFF

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    What are you overall thoughts on the GA-X99-UD4 mobo? I'm looking into this board but still undecided.
     
  5. marcotoscana

    marcotoscana

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-5820k @ 4.20GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760 4Gb Windforce O.C.
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Dec 15, 2014 at 12:16 PM #5
    marcotoscana

    marcotoscana

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-5820k @ 4.20GHz
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760 4Gb Windforce O.C.
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Hi Colton!

    I'm waiting for the components . I have the same configuration except of GPU.

    this my spec :
    Mobo: GA-X99-UDH4
    CPU:i7-5820k
    Ram: 16gb kit Corsair Ddr4 2666 GPU: GTX760 4Gb oc
    Cooler sys:Corsair H105
    HD : 2 ssd da 250gb+ seagate da 3Tb
    Power Supply : Corsair Ax860
    WiFi : Tp Link wdn4800
    Case :Fractal design R4 white windowed
    Monitor :n2 LCD Full HD da 24'' Asus vs248h
    Keyboard:logitech k750 wireless for Mac
    Trackball :Logistic M 750 wireless
    O. Sys : Windows 8.1 home & OSX Yosemite
    Pasta termica:Artic Silver 5



    1) Do you think my gtx760 needs nvdia web drivers to work?
    2) I will install windows on separate sdd. Do i need, after install mac osx with windows ssd unplugged, to unplug the osx ssd use bios option "legacy mode" instead of UEFI and format in NTFS the ssd before install windows?
    3) do you think my two monitor can work without problems?

    this is my first hackintosh....


    thanks for the answer

    Bye
    Marco from Italy
     
  6. steveman0018

    steveman0018

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Dec 15, 2014 at 1:25 PM #6
    steveman0018

    steveman0018

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Hello,

    I am having some issues with getting this to work. My specs.

    Gigabyte x99-ud4
    Intel i7 5820
    EVGA Geforce 770

    I can get everything to install fine. I use the ncpi=0x2000 to boot and i can use the Yos 10.10 without not other issues. I can surf Safari, iMessage, etc. Problem I have is with the latest MulitBeast. I am trying to add some drivers in but when I install them, the system will no longer boot. I go through the entire process again and try again and same problem. Everything works until I add the chameleon.boot xml file to the setup and it no longer boots. Internet works, graphic cards works but just want to add some MulitBeast drivers like usb 3.0 and audio stuff. What am I doing wrong. Again everything works great until i add MulitBeast drivers and then when I reboot, i star at the apple logo with no progress. It seems that my chameleon.boot xml file does not exist until I run MulitBeast and then that when it will fail. I have tried the wizard with same results.
     
  7. cicciodux

    cicciodux

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Mobo:
    Win8.1 x64
    CPU:
    i7 5930K 3,4GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 980 2x SLI
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Dec 15, 2014 at 5:18 PM #7
    cicciodux

    cicciodux

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Mobo:
    Win8.1 x64
    CPU:
    i7 5930K 3,4GHz
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 980 2x SLI
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    GG guy! I have 2 980, some times screen appear on 1st card and sometimes in the 2nd, then i need to change the port with cable, how can i fix it?
     
  8. Lodimup

    Lodimup

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    X99UD5
    CPU:
    5820K
    Graphics:
    970GTX
    Dec 16, 2014 at 3:21 PM #8
    Lodimup

    Lodimup

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    X99UD5
    CPU:
    5820K
    Graphics:
    970GTX
    Can you give exact Unibeast settings? I have the same setup except 1gpu. Also, what is your geek bench score on stock cpu? I only got 2584/16747 vs 3200/1800 on win7.
     
  9. Colton328

    Colton328

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-5820k @ 4.3ghz
    Graphics:
    2x Gigabyte GTX 970 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Dec 16, 2014 at 9:37 PM #9
    Colton328

    Colton328

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    149
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-X99-UD4
    CPU:
    i7-5820k @ 4.3ghz
    Graphics:
    2x Gigabyte GTX 970 4GB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Geekbench in OSX 10.0.1 http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench3/1509989 (This is @ 4.3ghz)

    The Unibeast settings are in the video. You have to copy over the patched kernel AFTER installing OS X.

    In multibeast, I believe I used...
    -TRIM Patch
    -VooDooTSCSync 6 Cores (included in video I linked)
    -NullCPUPowerManagement
    -RealTekRTL81xx

    Of course, you'll need NVIDIA web drivers for 9xx cards. Install the web drivers in safe mode with graphics acceleration disabled (of course.) Really laggy.

    That's all I remember ever installing. Don't install Intel generic AHCI SATA, IOACHIBlockstorageinjector, or USB 3.0 kext. They would cause the system not to boot. My USB 3.0 ports work fine without it.

    Was rendering videos in Adobe Premire, the system flew through everything with graphics acceleration.

    1. No, I think it works out of the box http://www.tonymacx86.com/desktop-compatibility/102506-nvidia-geforce-gtx-760-works.html

    2. I installed OS X with all my SSDs plugged in, and Windows 8.1 installed, perfectly fine.

    3. Yes, of course. Plug them in the same GPU.

    No issues or complaints with this board after BIOS update. X99 is a new platform, so issues were expected, and they were ironed out accordingly.

    Sorry, I don't know how to help you :(

    Try the "-f" startup parameter, that fixed a lot of issues for me.

    You could try clover boot loader, not sure. I stick with chameleon because it's what I know and it works.

    Have not heard of this issue. Are both GPUs recognized in OS X?
     
  10. Lodimup

    Lodimup

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    X99UD5
    CPU:
    5820K
    Graphics:
    970GTX
    Dec 17, 2014 at 6:43 AM #10
    Lodimup

    Lodimup

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Mobo:
    X99UD5
    CPU:
    5820K
    Graphics:
    970GTX
    Thanks, I just noticed I got UD5, not 4. Everything works perfectly here except cpu. I got 3200 score pre unibeast. Post unibeast it dropped to 2500 :/. NullCPUPowerManagement cause the system to not boot on my case though...

    something's wrong with my setup at 4.3ghz I get 3159/20771
     

Share This Page