Gigabyte GA-Z97M-D3H - Amazon US

Sapphire Nitro+ RX570

Crucial Ballistix Sport XT 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600 C9 RAM - Amazon US

Kingston SSDNow V300 120GB SSD SATA3 - Amazon US

Seagate 1TB HDD SATA3

CoolerMaster Hyper TX3 Evo Cpu Cooler

CoolerMaster G550M PSU

TP-Link PCI Express Adapter(TL-WDN4800)

DeLock PCI FireWire 400 1394a 3+1 (product: 89179)

Running MAC OS 10.9.5
https://itunes.apple.com/ca/app/os-x-mavericks/id675248567?mt=12

2020 - High Sierra / Manjaro 19 / Windows 10

Already Owned

Philips Brilliance 248C LED Display HDMI/VGA

Saitek Eclipse II usb Keyboard

Razer Naga USB Mouse

PreSonus FireStation (mLAN Firewire audio interface)

Comments

In 2006 I got my first Macbook. It's working until today, although sitting on my desk with a couple of fans blowing air around it while trying to play a video probably doesn't really count as working. It's survived 2 cups of coffee and a lot of road use so I guess I can't blame it for quitting. As a musician I really needed a new Mac for home recording, but as a musician I'm also on a tight budget. Enter Hackintosh.

Picked these parts with the help of the Buyer's Guide and a little luck. I will probably upgrade and add parts later on this year, but for now, it's a success

Summary

Spent some time tinkering the first day I got the parts built but I guess I was too tired because there was no way I could get it to work. HD4600 would just not cooperate. In retrospect I probably just skipped some step and was too eager to get it working fast.

Just redid the BIOS and reinstalled Mavericks 10.9.5, followed the tonymacx86 installation guide and looked at daemontus and mga1981 build descriptions. :thumbup: (H97M-D3H i7) and with the updated MultiBeast it worked on the first go. You can follow their settings; except you skip some parts because of the 6.5 MultiBeast.

MultiBeast 6.5

Quick Start > DSDT Free

Driver > Audio > Realtek 892

Driver > Audio > 9 series support

Driver > Disk > 3rd party SATA