Contribute
Register

[Success] i5 2500K - Zotac Z77- ITX - Mountain Lion

Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Messages
375
Motherboard
Zotac Z77ITX
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi miramar -- I am right behind you, in the middle of a Unibeast 1.5.3/Multibeast 5.0.2 install of Mountain Lion on Zotac H77ITX-B-E / i5 3570K / 16gb RAM / 256Gb mSATA SSD.

Look forward to your updates on your build.

How did the install go? I was considering getting the H77 variant at one stage mainly because of the eSata ports.

Can you try some USB2.0 devices in your USB3.0 ports? Other than my mouse nothing seems to work.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Messages
375
Motherboard
Zotac Z77ITX
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,
4. I need to check, but I think I am getting a few more lower p-states than you. I don't go as high though. I'm not using any overclock as I think the Cube case will be running a bit too warm and the pico psu might be reaching the limit if I did....

Thanks for all the info.

I was wondering why there're aren't more lower p-states. I'm not overlocking either.

Anyway, have you tried USB2.0 devices in the USB3.0 ports? Doesn't seem to detect most of my USB2 devices.

Working USB2 in USB3 ports
Razer Diamondback mouse

Not working USB2 in USB3 ports
Apple Wired Keyboard
Kingston DT120 flash drive
Transcend JF600 flash drive

Working USB3 in USB3 ports
Transcend JF700 flash drive
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2012
Messages
69
Motherboard
Zotac H77-ITX WiFi
CPU
i5 3550
Graphics
MSI R6670 GDDR5
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi,
Check your folder system/library/extensions and see if nullcpupowermanagement.kext is installed. If it is then that will be the reason why you have no sleep working. If it is there though don't just remove it, but first make sure that you have installed the patched Appleintelcpupowermanagement.kext from Multibeast (install it using multibeast). HSP friend says that this patched kext works for him with his ivybridge cpu so it should hopefully work for you.
If you are not using a DSDT then you will need to install two kexts to get your audio working. You will need to install the patched AppleHDA.kext for ALC892 and also the HDAenabler.kext for that - again, both from multibeast.
Once these three kexts are installed if all went okay then you should be able to remove the null....kext by dragging it to the trash can and then rebuilding the caches - to rebuild caches I use "Kext Wizard". In kext wizard select "Maintenance" and System/Library/Extensions.
I suggest that you if possible make a backup of your install (clone using Carbon Copy Cloner or similar) before you make the changes though because it is possible that the system might KP (kernel Panic) and leave you with an unbootable install.
Hope this helps and good luck.:thumbup:

hey mate, not sure if you had the same audio issues as me (Zotac H77 though). Basically audio works fine after MultiBeast 5 installation until I reboot ML. More info here, http://www.tonymacx86.com/audio/655...restarting-multibeast-5-0-2-installation.html , cheers
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Messages
375
Motherboard
Zotac Z77ITX
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Messages
375
Motherboard
Zotac Z77ITX
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just added
Code:
<string>pci168c,2b</string>
to
Code:
/System/Library/Extensions/IO80211Family.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AirPortAtheros40.kext/Contents/Info.plist
and WiFi seems to be working.

FYI, my Z77ITX came with the Atheros AR9285 WiFi card. Some boards ship with a different WiFi card. minihack mentioned that his came with an Ralink based card.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
18
Motherboard
GA-Z77-UD5H
CPU
Core i5 3570k
Graphics
Geforce 660 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. LC
  3. Performa
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
How did the install go? I was considering getting the H77 variant at one stage mainly because of the eSata ports.

Can you try some USB2.0 devices in your USB3.0 ports? Other than my mouse nothing seems to work.

My install is so-so. After MultiBeast 5.0.2 came out, I did a fresh install.

Here's my status at the moment. (trying to start a new thread in ML Desktop Support but waiting for moderators)
Status:
LAN - worked out of the box.
USB 3.0 ports and 2.0 ports working fine. ( though I don't have usb3 devices to test) Able to connect webcam and do Photo booth.


HDMI Video - after Unibeast able to boot into generic graphics mode...
HDMI Audio - installed only 1. Drivers / Audio / Realtek ALC8xx / Without DSDT / ACL892 for my first MultiBeast install ... and HD Audio seemed to work great!
... but after installing Easybeast, Video and Audio flipped
After EasyBeast, HDMI Video -- now is great Intell graphics 4000!! but youtube doesn't play?
After EasyBeast, HDMI Video doesn't work -- just shows device #892.


Sleep doesn't work yet. Using NullPowerManagement at the moment.
Wifi - Bluetooth don't work yet.
The mSATA SSD works fine.
So does the 2.5" hard drive which is plugged into SATA slot 0. (the red slots 2 and 3 didn't work for me).

Next:
Work is crazy this week so I won't have time till Sunday night to work on this again. But plan to try some experiments with MB settings to get the most functionality out of the box. If that doesn't work, wil have to look at custom DSDT I guess.

 
Joined
Jun 13, 2012
Messages
18
Motherboard
GA-Z77-UD5H
CPU
Core i5 3570k
Graphics
Geforce 660 Ti
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Centris
  2. LC
  3. Performa
  4. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Just added
Code:
<string>pci168c,2b</string>
to
Code:
/System/Library/Extensions/IO80211Family.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AirPortAtheros40.kext/Contents/Info.plist
and WiFi seems to be working.

FYI, my Z77ITX came with the Atheros AR9285 WiFi card. Some boards ship with a different WiFi card. minihack mentioned that his came with an Ralink based card.

Hi miramar -- I just tried adding
Code:
<string>pci168c,2b</string>
to the same location but it didnt work for me.

I have the Zotac H77ITX-B-E board, which came with the AzureWave AW-NB037H combo Wifi/Bluetooth card (based on Atheros AR5B195).

Where did you find that string? Maybe I can find one that will work for my card in the same place...

Cheers
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Messages
375
Motherboard
Zotac Z77ITX
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi miramar -- I just tried adding
Code:
<string>pci168c,2b</string>
to the same location but it didnt work for me.

I have the Zotac H77ITX-B-E board, which came with the AzureWave AW-NB037H combo Wifi/Bluetooth card (based on Atheros AR5B195).

Where did you find that string? Maybe I can find one that will work for my card in the same place...

Cheers

Did you rebuild the kernel cache after doing the edits?
Code:
touch /System/Library/Extensions

I use ioreg to look for the device id. Try this in terminal:
Code:
ioreg -b -n PXSX@0 | less
or you can also IORegistryExplorer.app if you have Xcode installed.

Look for "IOName" = "pci168c,2b" or something similar.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Messages
375
Motherboard
Zotac Z77ITX
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
WiFi seems to be working quite well after a few hours of browsing and minor downloading.

In addition, my sleep/wake has suddenly started working. It seems that getting the WiFi card recognized with kext edits fixed the sleep/wake problem as well.

Just tested, Airdrop is working.
Initially my MacBook Pro was able to see the ZoMac while the ZoMac could not see the MBP. Turns out that I did not set an AppleID account for the user on the MBP. Just set that and it was OK.

Plugged in my 2003 DLink DBT-120 and it's recognized but untested as yet. The DBT-120 was flashed with Apple's firmware years ago.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2012
Messages
69
Motherboard
Zotac H77-ITX WiFi
CPU
i5 3550
Graphics
MSI R6670 GDDR5
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I notice that you're using EasyBeast in your MultiBeast options. You should be using "USERDSDT or DSDT-Free". EasyBeast installs a whole load of kexts that isn't necessary and might cause problems.

Can't find any DSDT for Zotac H77. I'm really new to hackintosh and/or programming (I only know HTML and PHP), if it's not too difficult, I'm more than happy to learn creating my own DSDT if you could point me to the right direction, cheers.
 
Top