Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] HP Z600 High Sierra Installation Guide

Joined
Aug 5, 2012
Messages
14
Motherboard
HP Z600
CPU
2xIntel Xeon E5540 @2,53GHz
Graphics
Gygabyte GT640
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Thank you for this guide, now I am trying to install Mojave on my Z600
Has anyone success with it?
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2018
Messages
7
Motherboard
HP Z600 C2
CPU
Dual X5675
Graphics
Quadro K600
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
My mobo came with the BIOS updated to v3.61. Is it necessary to downgrade to v3.60 for this guide to work?
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2014
Messages
45
Motherboard
HP Z600
CPU
E5606
Graphics
K1200 Nvidia
Mac
MacBook Pro
Any luck with this?
Who'd be interested in another guide for Mojave? Just wondering whether it's worth my time or not...
Ok I'm a total newbie here, on this forum AND on hackintosh-ing, so please be understanding. The guide was perfect with respect to it being the EXACT system I wanted to convert to High Sierra. My main Mac Pro (2,1) I've been using for the past 5 years just bit the biscuit, while I was in the middle of trying to get the Z600 up and running.

On to my question - I've been trying over the past 3 days to get this Drive to boot using your method and instructions. I'm using a 2T SATA drive in a external USB enclosure (to complete all the steps and make it boot-able with the High Sierra installation. After following the steps and unmounting/ejecting the drive I inserted it in the Z600 SATA0 slot (I have another 2T drive in the SATA1 slot/bay which I'll be targeting for the installation. After turning on the system all I get is "Attempting Boot From Hard Drive" and nothing. If I follow all the steps described and use a USB thumb drive, the system boots fine... although fails when it loses the USB just before the installation/setup starts (as expected I believe).

I've double checked that the drive was formatted correctly (GUID) as the first attempt failed due to not doing so correctly. Oh... BIOS is version 3.60, and all settings as per instructions. Tried juggling the boot order as the drives are the same model so tough to figure out which is which. Finally I removed the target drive and left only the boot drive in there... same message "Attempting Boot From Hard Drive", left it for 15 minutes... nada just the cursor flashing.

If anyone out there with a Z600 has any advice no matter how stupid (like I said I'm a newb and therefore could have missed something really simple and obvious for everyone else.)

Thanks!!

Ok actually I modified this post twice. I couldn't find the version r4411 of clover you used, and was using r4586 which is what I got from your link in the post. When I use this I get an error:
This package is incompatible with this version of macOS and may fail to install.
with options to Install Anyway or Cancel Installation.

I then checked around to see if I could get a copy of r4411 (legacy version from this site) which I found but it does not give and ability to change the settings in "Customize" (the button isn't there)... even so still gives the same error r4586 gives. Maybe this is the problem with getting the drive bootable.

Attached.. Enjoy.
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 22, 2018
Messages
7
Motherboard
HP Z600 C2
CPU
Dual X5675
Graphics
Quadro K600
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Who'd be interested in another guide for Mojave? Just wondering whether it's worth my time or not...



Attached.. Enjoy.
I would personally love another guide for Mojave, but in the meantime I am having many issues following this guide. Should be mentioned that I am a complete n00b but here goes:

I am using an external 2.5 HDD to usb enclosure instead of the JMicron adapter. I am wondering if this is causing some of my issues.
The installer HD i am using is 500gb. It is too big for Unibeast to see, so i went with the clover method.

When editing my BIOS, v3.61, the guide states"
Security > Device Security
- Serial port = Hidden
- Internal USB = Hidden
- SAS Controller = Hidden
- Legacy Diskette = Hidden
- Embedded Security = Hidden

My BIOS does not look like this is this section, It is missing an SAS Controller option, and instead has IEEE 1394 controller and Ethernet controller

I have set all of the other settings identical to your guide, but when I do, I get the error "non system disk" and I cannot boot from any drive. The only way I can get my clover disk to boot is when I have IDE selected instead of RAID=AHCI under sata emulation

When i change this to IDE I can boot into clover from the drive on the z600 and BEGIN the osx installation, but am soon met with a black screen with a circle slash symbol. I am thinking that it is a graphics card error, and realized that there is no option in clover configurator for me to include my nvidia drivers. When i download the appropriate NVidia drivers on my mac and try to run the package, it says it cannot on my current OS (mojave). What am i supposed to do with those nvidia drivers to package them into my clover install?

Z600 Rev c2
nvidia quadro k600
2x x5675
48GB 10600 ECC Ram

Please help!
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2018
Messages
7
Motherboard
HP Z600 C2
CPU
Dual X5675
Graphics
Quadro K600
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Oh and the version of High sierra I am using is the 10.13.6. Not sure if this has an effect on anything as well.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2014
Messages
45
Motherboard
HP Z600
CPU
E5606
Graphics
K1200 Nvidia
Mac
MacBook Pro
I would personally love another guide for Mojave, but in the meantime I am having many issues following this guide. Should be mentioned that I am a complete n00b but here goes:

I am using an external 2.5 HDD to usb enclosure instead of the JMicron adapter. I am wondering if this is causing some of my issues.
The installer HD i am using is 500gb. It is too big for Unibeast to see, so i went with the clover method.

When editing my BIOS, v3.61, the guide states"
Security > Device Security
- Serial port = Hidden
- Internal USB = Hidden
- SAS Controller = Hidden
- Legacy Diskette = Hidden
- Embedded Security = Hidden

My BIOS does not look like this is this section, It is missing an SAS Controller option, and instead has IEEE 1394 controller and Ethernet controller

I have set all of the other settings identical to your guide, but when I do, I get the error "non system disk" and I cannot boot from any drive. The only way I can get my clover disk to boot is when I have IDE selected instead of RAID=AHCI under sata emulation

When i change this to IDE I can boot into clover from the drive on the z600 and BEGIN the osx installation, but am soon met with a black screen with a circle slash symbol. I am thinking that it is a graphics card error, and realized that there is no option in clover configurator for me to include my nvidia drivers. When i download the appropriate NVidia drivers on my mac and try to run the package, it says it cannot on my current OS (mojave). What am i supposed to do with those nvidia drivers to package them into my clover install?

Z600 Rev c2
nvidia quadro k600
2x x5675
48GB 10600 ECC Ram

Please help!
The version will have slight differences and you NEED the JMicron adapter to do this build as specified right at the start of the guide, which you read of course.
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2018
Messages
7
Motherboard
HP Z600 C2
CPU
Dual X5675
Graphics
Quadro K600
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Ok it looks like at least one of my problems runs a little deeper than whether or not I am doing this install correctly. I installed windows yesterday and I could not get it to install onto any of my hard drives in Raid+AHCI either, could only get it to install in IDE mode. I am thinking either I need to flash my bios or I am having hard drive compatibility issues. I've read that the z600 might have these issues with non HP branded hard drives. Are your drives the stock HP branded drives?
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2018
Messages
7
Motherboard
iMac Pro
CPU
3.2GHz Intel Xeon W
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 1070
When you install Windows 10 in IDE mode and then change BIOS to RAID+AHCI makes Windows 10 unbooatable. To fix it, first needs to back to the IDE mode setting in BIOS. After boot W10 normally and using command line in admin mode enter:
bcdedit {current} safeboot

Now restart computer and press F10 to enter BIOS and change mode to RAID+AHCI. Save settings and exit.

Start Windows 10 in safe mode. Open comand line in admin mode and enter:
bcdedit /deletevalue {current} safeboot

Now restart Windows and the AHCI will be installed. Maybe need to restart to apply changes.
 
Top