Contribute
Register

[Success] Guide: Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 (EUFI)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 21, 2011
Messages
309
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge 3.5GHz
Graphics
ASUS GTX670-DC2T-2GD5
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Okay Back!

Trying to find a solution to installing the MBA update on all Hackintoshs without breaking TonyMac rules (Which is why it was removed). I'll post when I have a solution.

Right now I'm thinking about reverse engineering it and understanding exactly what it does and then make my own installer that does the same... Might take a while. Hopefully we will get 10.8.3 from Apple soon.
 
Joined
Oct 13, 2012
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASUS P8Z77i-Deluxe
CPU
Intel i7 3770K
Graphics
Intel HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Just wanted to thank you for this guide. I used the MB settings to setup my Z68X-UD3H-B3 + GTX670 on F12 Bios with them. I was surprised everything worked right afterwords. :headbang:
 
Joined
May 25, 2012
Messages
80
Motherboard
HP 250 G6 (Clover)
CPU
i3-6006U
Graphics
HD 520, 1366x768
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi
I've updated to EUFI, i have 1.0 rev and an additional GeForce 9500GT 1024MB, I can't get dual monitor. it just boot with the IGFX until desktop, then switch to GeForce. If I turn off the internal card, then boot with the Geforce until desktop then I got a black screen. Now I can boot only with both cards but the internal is useless..

any suggestion?

thank you :)
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
72
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-UD3H
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
GTX 760
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This is a great guide ! Thank you !

Also, thanks to the person that posted a UEFI overclock guide on page 6 ! I'm trying this as soon as I get my Kuhler 920 installed (got in the mail this morning, why do I have to work ?)

Regards !
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2012
Messages
57
Motherboard
mac
CPU
i7
Graphics
660
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hello,
I am having the same issue, and I have set my BIOS accordingly. Is there anything else I can try? I have i5-3550 with HD 2500.

I tried adding the <key> Graphics Mode etc... </key> and setting to the correct resolution but no luck.

Graphics Enabler=Yes, as well.

Ensure at least 384MB is set for IGFX in UEFI (BIOS) and check your /Extra/org.chameleon.Boot.plist settings. If you have an 'Instant Menu' item, remove it.

A typical file contents should look like this:

Code:
[SIZE=2][COLOR=#0433FF][FONT=Monaco]<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>[/FONT][/COLOR]
[COLOR=#0433FF][FONT=Monaco]<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">[/FONT][/COLOR]
[COLOR=#0433FF][FONT=Monaco]<plist version="1.0">[/FONT][/COLOR]
[COLOR=#0433FF][FONT=Monaco]<dict>[/FONT][/COLOR]
[FONT=Monaco]    [COLOR=#0433ff]<key>[/COLOR]EthernetBuiltIn[COLOR=#0433ff]</key>[/COLOR][/FONT]
[COLOR=#0433FF][FONT=Monaco]<string>[COLOR=#000000]Yes[/COLOR]</string>[/FONT][/COLOR]
[FONT=Monaco]    [COLOR=#0433ff]<key>[/COLOR]GenerateCStates[COLOR=#0433ff]</key>[/COLOR][/FONT]
[COLOR=#0433FF][FONT=Monaco]<string>[COLOR=#000000]Yes[/COLOR]</string>[/FONT][/COLOR]
[FONT=Monaco]    [COLOR=#0433ff]<key>[/COLOR]GeneratePStates[COLOR=#0433ff]</key>[/COLOR][/FONT]
[COLOR=#0433FF][FONT=Monaco]<string>[COLOR=#000000]Yes[/COLOR]</string>[/FONT][/COLOR]
[FONT=Monaco]    [COLOR=#0433ff]<key>[/COLOR]GraphicsEnabler[COLOR=#0433ff]</key>[/COLOR][/FONT]
[FONT=Monaco][COLOR=#0433FF]<string>[/COLOR][COLOR=#000000]Yes[/COLOR][COLOR=#0433ff]</string>[/COLOR][/FONT]
[COLOR=#0433FF][FONT=Monaco]<key>[COLOR=#000000]Kernel[/COLOR]</key>[/FONT][/COLOR]
[COLOR=#0433FF][FONT=Monaco]<string>[COLOR=#000000]mach_kernel[/COLOR]</string>[/FONT][/COLOR]
[FONT=Monaco]    [COLOR=#0433ff]<key>[/COLOR]Kernel Flags[COLOR=#0433ff]</key>[/COLOR][/FONT]
[COLOR=#0433FF][FONT=Monaco]<string>[COLOR=#000000]darkwake=0[/COLOR]</string>[/FONT][/COLOR]
[FONT=Monaco]    [COLOR=#0433ff]<key>[/COLOR]Legacy Logo[COLOR=#0433ff]</key>[/COLOR][/FONT]
[COLOR=#0433FF][FONT=Monaco]<string>[COLOR=#000000]Yes[/COLOR]</string>[/FONT][/COLOR]
[COLOR=#0433FF][FONT=Monaco]<key>[COLOR=#000000]Timeout[/COLOR]</key>[/FONT][/COLOR]
[COLOR=#0433FF][FONT=Monaco]<string>[COLOR=#000000]2[/COLOR]</string>[/FONT][/COLOR]
[FONT=Monaco]    [COLOR=#0433ff]<key>[/COLOR]UseKernelCache[COLOR=#0433ff]</key>[/COLOR][/FONT]
[COLOR=#0433FF][FONT=Monaco]<string>[COLOR=#000000]Yes[/COLOR]</string>[/FONT][/COLOR]
[COLOR=#0433FF][FONT=Monaco]</dict>[/FONT][/COLOR]
[COLOR=#0433FF][FONT=Monaco]</plist>[/FONT][/COLOR][/SIZE]
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
655
Motherboard
GA-Z270XP-SLI
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Since this thread is fairly long, 'm not sure what you're referring to. Although I see that many have opted to revert to F12 bios, the UEFI bios works fine for me. What specifically are your problems?
 
Joined
Dec 24, 2012
Messages
57
Motherboard
mac
CPU
i7
Graphics
660
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Since this thread is fairly long, 'm not sure what you're referring to. Although I see that many have opted to revert to F12 bios, the UEFI bios works fine for me. What specifically are your problems?

I am unable to see 1920x1080 using my HD 2500 Video Card and the GA-Z77N-WiFi

Thanks!
Dion
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Messages
655
Motherboard
GA-Z270XP-SLI
CPU
i5-7600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I am unable to see 1920x1080 using my HD 2500 Video Card and the GA-Z77N-WiFi

Thanks!
Dion

You list your graphics as 660 (I assume you mean GTX 660). If you're using that card, you're not using the built in HD2500 on the MB. Correct? If so, you should certainly be able to output 1920x1080 if your monitor supports it. Are you using the MB video or the GTX660?
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
72
Motherboard
GA-Z87X-UD3H
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
GTX 760
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Good news for those using the iMac 12,2 SMBIOS, I got 6 P-states working on my OC'd 2500K by using Minihack's SSDT (he apparently added additional p-states from the OC'd MB SSDT profile to up to 5ghz) Since, I'm only at 4.5ghz, you probably don't need his, but I'm linking it anyway. I then used Kounelo's Guide about vanilla Speedstep to patch my IOPlatformPluginFamily kext to MacbookPro8,3 p-states and it worked! I used to only have 2 p-states 16x and 45x but now according to MSRdumper and HWmonitor:

9/12/12 9:20:23.000 PM kernel[0]: MSRDumper CoreMulti(45)
9/12/12 9:20:23.000 PM kernel[0]: MSRDumper PStatesReached: 16 20 23 31 39 45

Included my patched iMac 12,2 IOPlatformPluginFamily for the lazy, you should read whats going on in Kounelo's post before just blindly copying, remember to backup the original, etc, Minihacks SSDT also included

My Generate C/P states are set to yes, Still using the AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement kext from Multibeast (Drivers>System>AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement> OSX 10.8.0) Not sure if that's helping or not, but it's working and I'm happy, upped my Geekbench Score to 12537 (64bit)


Hello TheYangster,

First of all, thank you for your small tutorial to get p-states with iMac12.2 SMBIOS.

I followed your instructions but only get 3 p-states with my 4.1Ghz overclock. (I get 16, 24 and 41 in HWMonitor)

I could live with it but having more p-states would reduce the the power consumption of my hackintosh...

Any ideas to what could of went wrong ? What should I check first ?

Once again, thank you !

Regards
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
4
Motherboard
Handmade
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
HD3000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
First of all thanks for this detailed guide. All went smooth and quick except for one thing - video.
My specs:
- GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 (rev. 1.3)
- i5-2500k (4,2 GHz) (Intel HD3000, no external graphics card)
- BIOS version - U1h
(other hardware doesn't matter here i guess)

I followed your guide step by step. All BIOS and Multibeast settings exactly the same.
With GraphicsEnabler=Yes set by Multibeast i can't load OS X. With GraphicsEnabler=No i can.
But this gives me only one resolution available - 1024x768.

So, my question is how do i get HD3000 working?
I guess should be some simple way since this graphics natively supported by OS X.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top