Contribute
Register

[Success] GIGABYTE Z370 Gaming 7 + Intel Core i7-8700K + RX 580 + (2x) Dell P2715Q 4k @ 60Hz

Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
508
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K OC @ 5.1Ghz
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yeah. I recall it was only newer boards/CPUs.

And my old Haswell was immune. Makes sense. So with having a newer board, I've inherited the Nvidia hitching. I just thought it had been fixed already if not by Nvidia then by WhateverGreen.

It's just a Maxwell issue right? My 1080ti should arrive any day as well so I might only need to deal with it a few days :D
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2012
Messages
106
Motherboard
Gibabyte Z77X-UD5H
CPU
I7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I setup a very similar build (see build signature) which works great, except that the USB 3.0 ports do not recognize USB 3.0 or higher devices. USB 2.0 devices connect fine, but any other devices are not recognized. Front/Rear USB 2.0, Rear USB (Type A and Type C) 3.1 work great with all devices. However, my Front USB 3.0 and rear USB 3.0 are essentially nonfunctional as no 3.0 or higher devices will function while connected.

I've attached my kext patches and kexts in EFI/Clover/kexts/Other. Anyone else have this problem? I've searched everywhere and not been able to find someone with this problem or any solution.

Screen Shot 2018-09-21 at 1.00.17 PM.png Screen Shot 2018-09-21 at 12.55.03 PM.png Screen Shot 2018-09-21 at 12.55.11 PM.png Screen Shot 2018-09-21 at 12.56.12 PM.png Screen Shot 2018-09-21 at 12.57.56 PM.png
 
Joined
May 12, 2018
Messages
105
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 7
CPU
i7 8700k @4.9GHz
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I setup a very similar build (see build signature) which works great, except that the USB 3.0 ports do not recognize USB 3.0 or higher devices. USB 2.0 devices connect fine, but any other devices are not recognized. Front/Rear USB 2.0, Rear USB (Type A and Type C) 3.1 work great with all devices. However, my Front USB 3.0 and rear USB 3.0 are essentially nonfunctional as no 3.0 or higher devices will function while connected.

I've attached my kext patches and kexts in EFI/Clover/kexts/Other. Anyone else have this problem? I've searched everywhere and not been able to find someone with this problem or any solution.

Looking at your patches it seems that you are running on High Sierra 10.13.3.

However if you are running on the latest 10.13.6, you need to change the "change 15 port limit to 24 " patch and replace it with the new HS 10.13.6 patch from PMHeart:

Name*: com.apple.driver.usb.AppleUSBXHCI
Find* [HEX]: 837D880F 0F83A704 0000
Replace* [HEX]: 837D880F 90909090 9090
Comment: USB 10.13.6+ by PMHeart
MatchOS: 10.13.x
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2012
Messages
106
Motherboard
Gibabyte Z77X-UD5H
CPU
I7-3770K
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Looking at your patches it seems that you are running on High Sierra 10.13.3.

However if you are running on the latest 10.13.6, you need to change the "change 15 port limit to 24 " patch and replace it with the new HS 10.13.6 patch from PMHeart:

Name*: com.apple.driver.usb.AppleUSBXHCI
Find* [HEX]: 837D880F 0F83A704 0000
Replace* [HEX]: 837D880F 90909090 9090
Comment: USB 10.13.6+ by PMHeart
MatchOS: 10.13.x

This fixed it (tested over several reboots). I actually already had this patch in my list of patches - but it looks like having the old version of the patch + the new version is not a good thing.

Thanks SebErr!
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2015
Messages
4
Motherboard
Asus Code Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RTX 2080 TI - RX 580
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Yeah. I recall it was only newer boards/CPUs.

And my old Haswell was immune. Makes sense. So with having a newer board, I've inherited the Nvidia hitching. I just thought it had been fixed already if not by Nvidia then by WhateverGreen.

It's just a Maxwell issue right? My 1080ti should arrive any day as well so I might only need to deal with it a few days :D


I'm sorry but I have 1080 ti and it also happens to me.
 
Joined
May 12, 2018
Messages
105
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 7
CPU
i7 8700k @4.9GHz
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I finally took the courage and made my own USB SSDT with @RehabMan Guide. @jb007 already shared his SSDT here and I used it as a reference. I also had a bit too much time and created an overview of all the different ports on the Gaming 7 motherboard:Z370_Gigabyte_Aorus_Gaming7-SSDT.jpg

Feel free to use it as a reference or to correct me if there are any mistakes.
The internal USB 3.1 Gen2 I tested with the new front case hub of my Fractal Design R6 that also includes a USB Type-C port.

@jb007 I have a question regarding HS01/SS01. I labelled this one as "Internal" (255), but I saw you labelled it as "USB 3" (3).
What's right and why?
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
1,094
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9 9900KS
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. iBook
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. Quadra
  6. SE/30
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Don't have that issue, but this is a fairly well reported issue with NVIDIA drivers and HS. Many posts with stuttering and NVIDIA on this forum.

I wonder if @jiffyslot can get his system booting with my attached config.plists?

I'll try tomorrow. Thanks! I'm on one of my real Macs now. Where exactly should I place that (#2) Config.plist in my Hack? And should it be places twice into two different folders? When someone writes "EFI" it needs to be specified: In the USB installer EFI that appears right after the OS installer is created with UniBeast? Or in the EFI after booting into the Clover screen installer that one sees before OS install has begun? Or is it placed in one of a few EFI folders one comes across after that initial OS install (assuming you don't get a prohib sign)? Or is it placed into System/Library/ or User/Library/ -I appreciate any and all specific paths that can be provided.

But I won't return to the Thunderbolt card-killing F7. I'm fresh out of spare Thunderbolt cards. ;)
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
508
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K OC @ 5.1Ghz
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Performa
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Don't replace your config with his. Instead, open them side by side in Clover Configurator. (You can actually do this by choosing "new" from menu and compare settings.) But modify your settings vs. copying his entire config, so your serials, etc., is all maintained. If not using Clover Configurator, use a raw XML editor that doesn't screw up file encoding (so don't use TextEdit, IMO). BBedit is a good one. And again compare settings down line. Pay attention to settings concerning drop tables, acpi, patching.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
629
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
  3. Other
I'll try tomorrow. Thanks! I'm on one of my real Macs now. Where exactly should I place that (#2) Config.plist in my Hack? And should it be places twice into two different folders? When someone writes "EFI" it needs to be specified: In the USB installer EFI that appears right after the OS installer is created with UniBeast? Or in the EFI after booting into the Clover screen installer that one sees before OS install has begun? Or is it placed in one of a few EFI folders one comes across after that initial OS install (assuming you don't get a prohib sign)? Or is it placed into System/Library/ or User/Library/ -I appreciate any and all specific paths that can be provided.

But I won't return to the Thunderbolt card-killing F7. I'm fresh out of spare Thunderbolt cards. ;)

Hi @jiffyslot. "But I won't return to the Thunderbolt card-killing F7. I'm fresh out of spare Thunderbolt cards." :lol:
I honestly think it was an issue when you updated using the Gigabyte BIOS utility within Windows that caused your issue, but I can understand your reluctance. F6, F7 work great for me, but I updated using the BIOS and the new BIOS file on a FAT32 formatted disk, without the thunderbolt card installed (I didn't have it at that stage).

This is what I do to get it all going, yes there are multiple ways to do this, but I'll keep it simple as I can.

Assuming you already have HS 10.13.6 installed on a drive as per this guide by @Hackalot :
  • Disable in the BIOS all of the drives, other than your HS drive (precautionary in case things go wrong and you delete something on wrong drive!)
  • Make sure your BIOS is configured correctly to boot as per this guide.
  • Remove TB3 and any other drives until you get it all going properly.
  • Create a Unibeast 8.3.2 USB drive (UB) on a USB 2.0 Stick with HS 10.13.6 on your real Mac. Do not modify the config.plist on this Unibeast stick. The config.plist on this disk will be sufficient to boot your system.
  • Once booted from your UB drive into HS, download and install Multibeast 10.4 (MB) from this site.
  • Run MB with the following initial options only, to make your HS disk bootable with just the basics to get it going.
    Quick Start - UEFI Boot Mode
    Drivers - Network - AtherosE2200Ethernet v2.2.2 & IntelMausiEthernet v2.4.0
    USB - USBInjectAll
    BootLoaders - Clover UEFI Boot Mode (Our Mobo has NVRAM, so don't need 'Emulated NVRAM')
    Build - Select the Install option.
  • Hopefully! you will be able to reboot into the Clover menu and be able to boot into HS.
Once in HS:
  • Install Clover Configurator (CC), available from here.
  • Using CC to mount your hidden EFI partition, follow this:
    Screen Shot 2018-09-22 at 12.21.16 pm.png
  • Finder should open and before copying my two config.plists, right click on the existing config.plist and select duplicate from the menu. This will create a copy of your initial config.plist that will be called 'config copy.plist'. You should keep this as you can tell the Clover boot menu to use different configs.plists in case you have a problem down the track. See below for my EFI folder.
    Screen Shot 2018-09-22 at 12.35.27 pm.png
  • Copy over the two config.plist files into this directory EFI/EFI/Clover/ (my config.plist is setup to tell the system that it is a iMac 18,3. The config.original.plist is a copy of my original UB config.plist that identifies the system as a iMac 14,2
  • Reboot

Note:
You can have multiple configxxx.plists in this folder, but it will always default to the one named config.plist. By having multiple config.plist files, Clover has an option where you can select which config.plist file to use to boot from. This is very handy if you stuff up a setting in the config.plist, as it will allow you to select another from the Clover boot 'Option' menu. Press F1 will give you Clover options. Here is how you can select different config.plist files.
  1. Hit the 'o' key to bring up the Options menu and then Select Configs...
  2. Then you can select any of the configs in you EFI/EFI/Clover folder
  3. Then keep on selecting the Return option until you are back at the main clover screen. Clover will then boot using this alternate config??? plist option and will revert back to the default config.plist option upon the next reboot. This will allow you to fix/change options in your default config.plist file using CC.
screenshot0.png
screenshot1.png
screenshot2.png

@MysticalOS replied to your post whilst I was typing all this, so depending where your understanding of all this is, both methods will/should work. I'm not 100% sure as to what state you HS disk is at, ie is it bootable from your UB boot disk?
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
629
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
  1. Mac mini
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
  3. Other
don't replace your config with his. instead, open them side by side in clover configurator (you can actually do this by choosing "new" from menu. and compare settings. but modify your settings vs copying his entire config, so your serials, etc is all maintained. if not using clover configurator, use a raw xml editor that doesn't screw up file encoding (so don't use text edit IMO). BBedit is a good one. And again compare settings down line. pay attention to settings concerning drop tables, acpi, patching.

Thanks and Hi @MysticalOS. I'm not 100% sure as to what stage and understanding of where the config.plist goes @jiffyslot is at. So depending on what he understands, he has now two options (see next post) on the config.plist issue.

Jim
 
Top