Contribute
Register

[Success] GIGABYTE Z370 Gaming 7 + Intel Core i7-8700K + RX 580 + (2x) Dell P2715Q 4k @ 60Hz

Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
555
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z370 GA-7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Classic, iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE/30
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Yeah, that's my setup too, except that the igpu field is "blank" -WEG has done that. I'm using FCPX and Compressor does your setup allow handoff without igpu? Or should I just use the Thunderbolt patches and keep my 18,3 definition? It's wierd we have the same system except I'm using the Sapphire RX-580 8GB. OS 10.14.5, of course.

Something else occurs to me: Default RAM speed for the 19,1 configuration. Wondering if I need to jack up my RAM from 2400 to 2600. So, I'm going to give it another try.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 23, 2017
Messages
36
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 BIOS F7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
It's wierd we have the same system except I'm using the Sapphire RX-580 8GB. OS 10.14.5, of course.
Does OS 10.14.5 have distinct advantages over earlier Mojave versions? I'm on 10.14.1. it might be the update that is causing issues.

Yeah, that's my setup too, except that the igpu field is "blank" -WEG has done that. I'm using FCPX and Compressor does your setup allow handoff without igpu?
What is -WEG? I'm using FCPX but not compressor. I have the IGPU disabled in BIOS. When I tried to turn it on, my video renders freaked out so I turned it of as per the hackashaq build guide.

Like I said, I just copied my EFI folder to my friend's identical build and he doesn't have hot swap. Maybe the clean install had something to do with it. Also, I noticed that I do have hot swap on both TB3 ports when using a native TB3 device, but when I adapt a TB2 device using the apple TB2-TB3 adapter, it only works on port 1. It's so weird
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
555
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z370 GA-7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Classic, iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE/30
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Yeah, if you're using FCPX and/or Compressor leave the iGPU on as a helper-monkey to your RX-580.

WEG= the Whatever Green kext. You need that and Lilu in your computer's L/E folder. You may already have this, but check if in doubt. Follow the build guide and poke around here:
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2017
Messages
36
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 BIOS F7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Yeah, if you're using FCPX and/or Compressor leave the iGPU on as a helper-monkey to your RX-580.

WEG= the Whatever Green kext. You need that and Lilu in your computer's L/E folder. You may already have this, but check if in doubt. Follow the build guide and poke around here:
but if I turn on iGPU, that needs to be reflected in my config file? How would I do that?
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
555
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z370 GA-7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Classic, iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE/30
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS

Attachments

Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 Motherboard
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K Processor
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon PULSE RX 580 8GB Graphics Card
I love this guide, thank you. I purchased all the hardware except the case. But, I’m having a difficult time installing Mojave. Is this set up compatible with Mojave, or do I need High Sierra?
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
14,782
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Joined
May 9, 2019
Messages
11
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 Motherboard
CPU
Intel Core i7-8700K Processor
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon PULSE RX 580 8GB Graphics Card
Mojave will work, no problems with compatibility.
Not sure why I’m getting hung up on the installer. It won’t go beyond the apple logo with the progress bar. The bar shows it’s finished, but it stays on that screen.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
14,782
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Not sure why I’m getting hung up on the installer. It won’t go beyond the apple logo with the progress bar. The bar shows it’s finished, but it stays on that screen.
Try verbose booting (-v) and then snap a pic of the screen where it hangs up.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2016
Messages
310
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Not sure why I’m getting hung up on the installer. It won’t go beyond the apple logo with the progress bar. The bar shows it’s finished, but it stays on that screen.
What BIOS version do you have? If you have F13, try to downgrade to F11.
 
Top