Contribute
Register

[Success] GIGABYTE Z370 Gaming 7 + Intel Core i7-8700K + RX 580 + (2x) Dell P2715Q 4k @ 60Hz

Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
581
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K OC 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 + eGPU: 2 x RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS, Other
Another new one so soon? wonder if they fixed ACPI errors
I don't think so! I have installed F13, and it fails with the same errors as previously. I have even tried booting of my Mojave boot USB, same errors. The one that really worries me is one that occurs before the last errors.
It is: "ACPI Exception: AE_BAD_PARAMETER, Could not install PciConfig handler for Root Bridge PCIO (20160930/evrgnini-339)"

I can boot into Linux and Windows.

Under Linux I get this error: "PCI: Using host bridge windows from ACPI; if necessary, use "pci=nocrs" and report a bug"
From what I can understand, the Linux kernel is reverting back to using a 'legacy' method of finding/allocating memory space for the PCI bridges. It also gives these errors:
Code:
[    1.992433] ACPI BIOS Error (bug): Could not resolve [\_SB.PCI0.SAT0.PRT2._GTF.DSSP], AE_NOT_FOUND (20180810/psargs-330)
[    1.992455] ACPI Error: Method parse/execution failed \_SB.PCI0.SAT0.PRT2._GTF, AE_NOT_FOUND (20180810/psparse-516)
[    1.995390] ACPI BIOS Error (bug): Could not resolve [\_SB.PCI0.SAT0.PRT2._GTF.DSSP], AE_NOT_FOUND (20180810/psargs-330)
[    1.995411] ACPI Error: Method parse/execution failed \_SB.PCI0.SAT0.PRT2._GTF, AE_NOT_FOUND (20180810/psparse-516)
Any ideas anyone? :banghead:
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
477
Motherboard
GA-Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Classic, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
And done. On a modded F11 with all latest CPU microcode updates that patch all latest meltdown and spectre and Retpoline variants and what nots. I wonder if macOS is smart enough to disable the CPU eating work arounds or not though when it's mitigated at cpu level.
Hello @MysticalOS Any chance of sharing that new BIOS with the secret sauce? Please and thank you!
+ @jb007 for his BIOS woes...
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
477
Motherboard
GA-Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Classic, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
My understanding is you CAN make F12 and even 13 work with a custom DSDT to remove the bad nonsense. But I prefer clover hot patching myself. I wonder what an ACPI hot patch would look like to remove/fix the PCIO stuff
After searching for and reading about the programming tools needed to alter BIOS code I am certain that the witchcraft involved in changing microcode in an existing BIOS build is way beyond my ken. I was wondering if your modded F11 was working for you and if you would be willing to share it. See enclosed gift.
 

Attachments

Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
412
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K OC @ 5.1Ghz
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Performa
Mobile Phone
iOS
You just get from here jiffy. https://www.win-raid.com/t3217f44-OFFER-Gigabyte-GA-Z-Aorus-Gaming-BIOS-mod.html
Get the modded F11 update 5 to have no issues. Even the modded F12 and f13 won't work without fixing the APCI errors with a custom DSDT.

Remember, after flash redo settings, you can also do terminal command to confirm microcode was updated from 150 to 174. Also, yes, the reboot issues are fixed as well. It's the latest feb microcode not the late december one that fixed security issues but contained random reboots bug. I have had no issues with the 174 microcode version.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2010
Messages
16
Motherboard
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
I7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
128K, Apple, Plus
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Wondering... can I use the Alpine/Tiitan EFI folders (config, kexts, SSDTs, and AML's) and use them in my System even though I don't have eithr thunderbolt adapter?

My system died non the 14.14 update and it seems a fresh reload is in order. I have work I'd like to do on this system (for my job) but feel if I have to kepp troubleshooting, I'll burn the time I need for my job.

Thanks Jack

(EDIT--Add Deetz) Probably should have corrected my seeming missing profile data:
GA-Z370 Aurus Gaming 7 (F11)​
SAPPHIRE Radeon RX Vega 64 (~Reference)​
1 x EVO Pro 960 Pro NVME.M2 500GB (Primary with APFS)​
1 x EVO Pro 950 500GB SATA​
1 x EVO Pro 950 250GB SATA​
NZXT Kraken X62 280mm CPU Cooler
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 17, 2010
Messages
16
Motherboard
Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
I7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 64
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
128K, Apple, Plus
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
The only place you should put your SSDTs is /EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched/. Where you put kexts should have no impact on your SSDTs.

To install kexts to /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/, just drag-n-drop or copy+paste. You don't need any kexts installer to install to /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/.

If you want to remove kexts from /Library/Extensions/, yes. Delete them, then run the Terminal command to rebuild kext cache.

If you want to remove kexts fro /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/, just delete them.

View attachment 393033

pastry.... This I hate to write this (it's NOOB-ish, but perhaps my gray matter is failing... What about the non-apple Kexts in /S/L/E such as remnants likely from prior year configs? Can they just be deleted before issuing the terminal rebuild commands?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
9,356
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
pastry.... This I hate to write this (it's NOOB-ish, but perhaps my gray matter is failing... What about the non-apple Kexts in /S/L/E such as remnants likely from prior year configs? Can they just be deleted before issuing the terminal rebuild commands?
Hackintosh kexts? Yes, you can delete them and run the Terminal command.
 
Top