Contribute
Register

[Success] GIGABYTE Z370 Gaming 7 + Intel Core i7-8700K + RX 580 + (2x) Dell P2715Q 4k @ 60Hz

Joined
Mar 11, 2019
Messages
39
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi @MysticalOSIf anyone succeeds with this F12 BIOS, please post and let us know.
I had a working system under F11, updated to F12, and still have no problems. (It is the "-Op" Optane version but I don't think it matters.)

I boot Mojave from a NVME M.2 and boot Windows from a SATA M.2.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
582
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K OC 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 + eGPU: 2 x RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS, Other
I had a working system under F11, updated to F12, and still have no problems. (It is the "-Op" Optane version but I don't think it matters.)

I boot Mojave from a NVME M.2 and boot Windows from a SATA M.2.
Good to know. I'm currently booting macOS from a SSD, but have 2 x NVMe M.2 in system.... might try reorganizing things and move macOS back to one of the NVMe.
Thanks for the feedback!
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
414
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K OC @ 5.1Ghz
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Performa
Mobile Phone
iOS
It's a pity that Gigabyte don't also state what has really been changed in the firmware, i.e a changelog, or am I missing something? I know that most users don't care or understand what changes have been made, but I do.

You are right, macOS is a lot more fussy with ACPI errors. I see less errors when I look in Linux on F11, compared to F12, and don't even mention F12C. Also why do Gigabyte release F12C if it's a release candidate without saying so on their web site? IMHO it's very poor to release a RC on the general public without them knowing!

Just got my eGPU finally working properly with my TB3 Titan Ridge on macOS 10.14.3. Now to see if I can get it to hot plug, like my OCW TB3 10GBe adapter does!
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4090007/intel-microcode-updates , https://newsroom.intel.com/news/latest-intel-security-news-updated-firmware-available/ .
Microcode updates might be bug fixes, or in this case, security patches. sometimes simply updating microcode of cpu can restore some cpu performance because the Os can detect the hardware vulnerability is patched and disable software patches/work arounds that can cause performance drops. Not sure if macOS wil specifically look for things like that but windows will. Windows will detect microcode version of cpu and if it's > x revision it'll disable software patches.
since F12 specifically mentions microcode, it's a pretty strong assumption that it's the January security patch referenced here.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
554
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z370 GA-7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Classic, iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE/30
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4090007/intel-microcode-updates , https://newsroom.intel.com/news/latest-intel-security-news-updated-firmware-available/ .
Microcode updates might be bug fixes, or in this case, security patches. sometimes simply updating microcode of cpu can restore some cpu performance because the Os can detect the hardware vulnerability is patched and disable software patches/work arounds that can cause performance drops. Not sure if macOS wil specifically look for things like that but windows will. Windows will detect microcode version of cpu and if it's > x revision it'll disable software patches.
since F12 specifically mentions microcode, it's a pretty strong assumption that it's the January security patch referenced here.
So here's a dumb question: Is it worth an increased error rate to go from F11 to F12 if the machine's SIP is disabled? -I'm not signed into any Cloud services, but I do use Screen Sharing via ethernet to "tunnel" into a real Mac and use those Cloud accounts.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 16, 2011
Messages
582
Motherboard
Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K OC 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 64 + eGPU: 2 x RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS, Other
Good to know. I'm currently booting macOS from a SSD, but have 2 x NVMe M.2 in system.... might try reorganizing things and move macOS back to one of the NVMe.
Thanks for the feedback!
Been diverted all day on other issues, but I had time late yesterday to try F12 with macOS on one of my NVMe M.2's with a brand new Mojave 10.14.3 install. No go!
So back on F11 ATM...
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
414
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K OC @ 5.1Ghz
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Performa
Mobile Phone
iOS
So here's a dumb question: Is it worth an increased error rate to go from F11 to F12 if the machine's SIP is disabled? -I'm not signed into any Cloud services, but I do use Screen Sharing via ethernet to "tunnel" into a real Mac and use those Cloud accounts.
I'm actually thinking of using a patched F11 that's F11 version, but with updated microcode. you can find modified bios like this with some searching.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
414
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 7-F13
CPU
i7-8700K OC @ 5.1Ghz
Graphics
GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Performa
Mobile Phone
iOS
And done. On a modded F11 with all latest CPU microcode updates that patch all latest meltdown and spectre and Retpoline variants and what nots. I wonder if macOS is smart enough to disable the CPU eating work arounds or not though when it's mitigated at cpu level.
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
554
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z370 GA-7
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Classic, iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, SE/30
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Someone on F11 do me a favor
run this
sysctl -a | grep microcode

It should report microcode version. Mine reports 174. it depends on CPU though, that's latest for 8700k.
Modded F11 #5:
machdep.cpu.microcode_version: 174
 
Last edited:
Top