Contribute
Register

[Success] GIGABYTE Z370 AORUS Gaming 7 - i7-8700K - Samsung 960 EVO 1 TB -

Status
Not open for further replies.
RawShark's beast
- Video Editing Work Station -

This is my first hackintosh build and it's my first time using water cooling in a build.

Components
  • GIGABYTE Z370 AORUS Gaming 7
  • Intel® Core™ i7-8700K
  • Corsair Hydro Series H75 (CPU Watercooling)
  • Ballistix DIMM 64 GB DDR4-2666 Quad-Kit
  • 2 x Samsung 960 EVO 1 TB
  • Samsung SSD 840 500 GB
  • BlueRay Writer ASUS BW-16D1HT/G
  • Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 Xtreme Gaming Water Cooling (8GB, High End)
  • TP-Link Archer T9E
  • Corsair HX850
  • Cooler master Cosmos SE
Waiting For
  • Gigabyte GC-ALPINE RIDGE 2.0 Card (Thunderbolt)
  • Syba SD-PEX30009 (Firewire 2x800, 400)
Not Working
  • Intel Optane SSD 32GB
  • StarTech PEX1394B3LP (Firewire)
    I used this Thread here, and didn't read it to the end, my bad ...
    It is actually very high ranked in the search results for being that old and outdated, maybe it should be closed ...

Geekbench

CPU: https://browser.geekbench.com/v4/cpu/10342831
GPU: https://browser.geekbench.com/v4/compute/3058174

Even running the Geekbench Tests, doesn't get the Fans running on high rpm ...
The CPU stays between 37°C and 54°C, which is only there for short peaks, which are going down very fast when the pump kicks in. Fans are running only moderate.

Installation High Sierra

Caveats
Let some insights into the iterations it took me.

I spend some rounds until I got the Clover, and then the Installer Booting.
Here is my recap of what went wrong, in the order of things happening ;)
  1. Do not ever forget to plug in the cooling pump power cable
    1. but I was lucky ... only having Temperatures around 85°C with no harm done
    2. It's a general good idea to first check the fans and temperatures in your bios
  2. To get clover to boot, for the default HW configuration, i had to use nvme=-1