Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH, i7 3770K, 32GB, 480GB SSD, 2TB HDD, GTX 670

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 13, 2012
Messages
2
Motherboard
Hackintosh
CPU
I5 3570K
Graphics
EVGA 660Ti
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Delete the NullCPUPowerManagement.kext file from /system/library/extensions then reboot. See my post below for more details. I'll edit my build post when I'm certain all is okay to reflect this.

That file is not located in that location, or on the hackintosh at all for that matter, it wouldn't show up in search.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
82
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
That file is not located in that location, or on the hackintosh at all for that matter, it wouldn't show up in search.

Did you tick NullCPUPowerManagement in Multibeast? If so then the kext file will be there. It won't show up in search because the files are hidden.

Click Go on the menubar, then Go to folder...

Type "/system/library/extensions", then click Go

Then either browse to the NullCPUPowerManagement.kext file or type it in the search box (change the search location from "This Mac" to "Extensions"), then delete it and reboot.

If you didn't tick NullCPUPowerManagement in Multibeast, then I'm not sure why sleep isn't working for you. Try disabling "wake on lan" in the BIOS and "wake for ethernet access" in system preferences under Energy Saver.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2012
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i7-10700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Excellent looking build, sir! My jealousy for your 480gb SSD does not translate very well to text. Good work and hope it remains quick & stable :)
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
82
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks amarchand. I don't know about you, but I think these high capacity SSD's are good value these days given the performance gain.

Just a heads up to those considering or who already have this build. I would highly recommend NOT installing HWmonitor with the Fake SMC Plugins via Multibeast. It completely screwed up my system with kernel panics after rebooting. I ended up having to reinstall OSX from scratch. There doesn't appear to be any way to reverse the changes once it's installed.

I've read that there's some issue with the GPU monitoring of GTX 6XX graphics cards. As recommended by others, deleting the GPUmonitor.kext file from within FakeSMC.kext didn't seem to fix my issue.

Fortunately it didn't take long to restore my system thanks to the simplicity of the Unibeast/Multibeast installation and Time Machine!
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2012
Messages
12
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH - Corsair H40 liquid CPU Cooler - 32Gb Corsair Vengeance Ram
CPU
Intel i7 3770K
Graphics
2x Nvidia MSI GeForce 980 Ti Sea Hawk
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Except my USB keyboard doesn't work on wake but unplugging and replugging it fixes that (I realise it's a know problem). The mouse was jumpy too until I replugged the keyboard.

I have this same problem, my USB mouse seems to stick on the screen, but after a little while it comes back to full functionality!! Really need a USB bluetooth for my wireless keyboard and mouse!!

My build is still on fire, not literally, but its stable as anything!! :headbang:

Im still researching to do some overclocking but i have found no step by step im confident in following! Eeek!
 

DBP

Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
1,012
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD4000 / GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. Power Mac
  5. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
For HD4000 to work with multiple monitors, all you need to do is to change your System Definition to MacMini5,1. (See post #29.)
My MacPro3,1 lammergeier is running two monitors off the HD4000 just fine, and has never pretended to be a mini. It Just Works.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,811
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
My MacPro3,1 lammergeier is running two monitors off the HD4000 just fine, and has never pretended to be a mini. It Just Works.

Yes, you are right...but so am I. :D Turns out once you get something working, you carry on until your proven wrong. In my case, the Sandy Bridge HD3000 needed to have a MacMini5,1 System Definition to run two monitors, and I just carried that over into my Ivy Bridge builds.

However, with Mountain Lion and MacMan's Chimera, you are not restricted to the MacMini5,1 for HD4000 with two monitors. So, DBP, as you stated, MacPro3,1 will work just fine. Additionally, the MacPro3,1 is the recommended System Definition as described in the MultiBeast Features document. (I've mod'd my previous post to reflect this point.)
 

DBP

Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
1,012
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD4000 / GTX 1050 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Air
  4. MacBook Pro
  5. Mac mini
  6. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
  3. iMac
  4. Power Mac
  5. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
There are no BIOS screen shots, but you were asking about which drivers to install through MultiBeast?
If you go to post #9 in my build thread you'll see a description of which BIOS settings I used and an image of which drivers I selected through MultiBeast. Is that what you were after? My lammergeier build post is large enough to be split into 4 main posts in the thread.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2012
Messages
8
Motherboard
osx
CPU
core7
Graphics
onboard
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
There are no BIOS screen shots, but you were asking about which drivers to install through MultiBeast?
If you go to post #9 in my build thread you'll see a description of which BIOS settings I used and an image of which drivers I selected through MultiBeast. Is that what you were after? My lammergeier build post is large enough to be split into 4 main posts in the thread.

Hmmm....It is not booting except in safe mode and it seems in safe mode I can't run multibeast or my network. Verbose mode shows messages about not enough current for USB 3.0, no CPU identification, etc. I am using the builtin graphics and have copied your bios settings. I copied almost all of your Multibeast settings except for eSata 3rd party. Kind of puzzled. I have a single sata 500 GB drive and 8 gb of ram on two 4gb sticks. Nothing too fancy. Last thing I see in verbose mode is "macx_swapon SUCCESS." [This is my 3rd edit:] Looking around I see that somebody said disable VT-d in bios to resolve this, and it did. I booted but I don't have Ethernet anymore. Well this is a start. How do I undo hnak's AppleIntel selection in Multibeast? It was working before I selected that, now I've got nada.

-B
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top