Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5-TH, i7 3770K, 32GB, 480GB SSD, 2TB HDD, GTX 670

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
82
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
...If I was looking into building a Hackintosh right now, I would probably wait and see what the next generation of Intel processor architecture (Haswell) has to offer. It is imminent, i.e. June and may have even already happened. I've not been around long enough to know how long tonymacx86.com takes to adopt/recommend new generation processor architecture, but when the next refresh of Macs is released then at least we will know that OSX itself supports it. Of course, the release of Haswell may present the opportunity to build an Ivy Bridge based machine for much less money than you could pre-Haswell.

Well knock me down with a feather! It's happening as I type...

http://www.tonymacx86.com/general-h...ll-test-build-core-i7-4770k-ga-z87x-ud3h.html
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2012
Messages
587
Motherboard
<< need manufacturer and model # >> See Forum Rules !!
CPU
6700k
Graphics
1080ti FTW3
Mac
  1. iMac
Hi Dawsman, your guide has helped in my build. Im just curious, do you have the HD4000 chip running in tandem with a GC?
Ive got a 660 and its running perfectly, but I guess it would be nice to have hd4000 activated incase i want to add more screens.

How did you go about it?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
82
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi Dawsman, your guide has helped in my build. Im just curious, do you have the HD4000 chip running in tandem with a GC?
Ive got a 660 and its running perfectly, but I guess it would be nice to have hd4000 activated incase i want to add more screens.

How did you go about it?

Hi Wolfie81.

See below from my build post (with some clarifications). Note that there is some question as to whether or not the device properties key/string is required, so see if you can get it working without the device properties. I never could but haven't tried with the more recent versions of OSX and Chimera.

1. Insert the following device-properties key and string into org.chameleon.boot.plist:

Code:
<key>device-properties</key>
<string>8800000001000000010000007c0000000200000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff0400100000006d006f00640065006c0000001a000000496e74656c20484420477261706869637320343030302c0000004100410050004c002c00690067002d0070006c006100740066006f0072006d002d006900640000000800000005006201</string>

2. Also insert the Graphics Mode key and string, and set it to your monitor's resolution. Mine is shown below:

Code:
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1920x1200x32</string>

3. In the BIOS, set the internal graphics to auto, set IGFX to initialise first, and set IGFX memory size to 32MB (try 64MB if you get a kernel panic).

The BIOS settings should allow the internal HD4000 graphics and discrete nVidia graphics to run simultaneously in both OSX and Windows.

Note that the downside of initialising the internal graphics first is that you can only view the BIOS and Chimera boot menu on a monitor connected to the internal graphics.
 
Joined
May 23, 2013
Messages
19
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi PingJocky

User GBZ77 had a similar issue a while back in this thread, and several "fixes" have been suggested by various users although I don't think the problem has been resolved completely.

Rather than repeating the suggestions, please read from post 122 onwards. Let us know how you go.

I got it fixed!!! It turns out that the 3770 NON-K needs to have VT-d disabled in the bios. (#144) Since that's what I have, I made the setting change, rebooted with -v -f and have been able to reboot multiple times, without issue!!!! Holy ****! :headbang: Thank you for the help.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
82
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I got it fixed!!! It turns out that the 3770 NON-K needs to have VT-d disabled in the bios. (#144) Since that's what I have, I made the setting change, rebooted with -v -f and have been able to reboot multiple times, without issue!!!! Holy ****! :headbang: Thank you for the help.

Thanks, but user noxcovenant deserves the praise as it was his suggestion. Anyway, glad it's sorted.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2013
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 660TI
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
For my build, I enabled both my NVIDIA 660TI graphics card and the integrated Intel HD Graphics 4000 following Dawsman's example, but anytime I open a game in full screen, it defaults to the integrated graphics. Is there any way to change this behavior?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
82
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
For my build, I enabled both my NVIDIA 660TI graphics card and the integrated Intel HD Graphics 4000 following Dawsman's example, but anytime I open a game in full screen, it defaults to the integrated graphics. Is there any way to change this behavior?

Windows or OSX? One screen or two? Either way, your primary monitor (i.e. the one with the start menu/menu bar+dock) needs to be the one plugged into the 660TI.
 
Joined
Jan 10, 2013
Messages
5
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 660TI
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Three screens and OSX. Of course! The problem was solved when I just changed the primary display... Stupid of me.
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,085
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z690 Aero G
CPU
i5-12600K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Welcome to the Club! :lol: Seriously, this is how we learn. The good news is that you didn't burn out anything. :thumbup:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top