Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Mar 24, 2014
Messages
116
Motherboard
Aorus Xtreme Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Vega VII
Mobile Phone
  1. Other
After hiding under a rock for quite a while now I've come up with another new (old) Problem; my Wi-Fi Card! I already had the Problem to just be able to run my 4331cd Card (4360cd wouldn't boot up at all, at least not in a PCI x1 Slot, Bluetooth, however, always works, as long as the USBB header is attached). Since then I removed the Intel CNVi card (still looking for a suitable replacement to experiment on the slot), because it would interfere with Windows boot (circle freeze, "adapter could not be started" etc.) and my Windows hickups are now really rare. Later on I got curious and to be honest it also bugged me all way long not be able to get the 4360 working, so I decided (although both cards were working in my x58 setup) something could not be right with the card and it was time order a new one. I carefully picked the lates compatible (653-00011, a 43602cdp, iMac 2017 I think -->653-0005 is the older one from 2015(?)) and ran into the same problem. Card doesn't get recognised in any other slot than PCIe x1 (didn't check BIOS, but x1 Slots are the only ones problematic while booting. With the card in PCIe x16, x8 and x4 all systems boot fine, but card doesn't appear anywhere).

Bottom line is: anyone else experienced such weird issues? With the very same board I have, in partcular? I came across some old posts of @ummario (thanks at this point btw, for sharing your experiences), who managed to get his card running in the x4 Slot (which nevertheless didn't work for me, but frankly I don't believe we have the exact same configuration).

Things I changed since my first success:

-BIOS update to F7 (again with CFG-Unlock)
-Bigger rad (doesn't matter here though)
-Got rid of the CNVi Card (stated above) and the No-CNVW-SSDT
-Changed SMBIOS to iMacPro 1,1 (to get rid of NoVpaJpeg.kext)
-Maybe some BIOS options I came across after updating and messing with Thunderbolt (every suggestion is welcome)
-Replaced FakeSMC with VirtualSMC
-Started using 2 x Samsung 970 pro (one for Windows, installed in first Slot, other for OS X, installed in second Slot, third Slot empty as of now, been thinking about Chrome OS though)

EDIT: Verbose boot just gets stuck at loading the 80211 kext (sometimes, but almost rarely throws a KP), nothing else to grab on to, unfortunately

EDIT 2: edited list of changes
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 29, 2019
Messages
39
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Safari and Chrome seem to be fine, I have no extensions that I've installed, I've only had the computer running for 3days - Firefox and Firefox developer version both do it?

I've been using the latest Firefox for about an hour across numerous websites and it has been completely stable. If you have a number of Firefox extensions, try disabling them. Is there a particular website that crashes the browser more regularly? Are Safari and Chrome stable?
This would seem to me to be a CPU drainage issue when using YouTube. It's happened on Safari and Firefox. There has to be a way to watch YouTube! I also do some video editing work so does worry me! Any help would be appreciated.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,204
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This would seem to me to be a CPU drainage issue when using YouTube. It's happened on Safari and Firefox. There has to be a way to watch YouTube! I also do some video editing work so does worry me! Any help would be appreciated.
Are you using headless platform ID 0x3E980003 as described here?
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
18
Motherboard
Gigabyte z390m gaming
CPU
Intel core i5 9400
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon rx580
Mac
  1. iMac
Wanted to see if I could get some help. First hackintosh build Gigabyte Z390M Gaming, i5-9400 with UHD 630 integrated graphics. 16GB RAM. Runs fine until I run MultiBeast or change anything in the config.plist. MultiBeast and Clover Configurer. Resulting in me having to boot from the USB drive, paste the EFI folder into the SSD. Then it boots fine like nothing ever happened. No sound, using HDMI. Any Help? After MultiBeast and Clover Configurer, I’ll either get a prohibited sign or black screen time out on tv.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2019
Messages
39
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Are you using headless platform ID 0x3E980003 as described here?
no, don't think so?
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,204
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
*** Mini-Guide: Easy Way to Enable On-Board HDMI Port with Hackintool ***

With gratitude to @headkaze who took the initiative to incorporate a large number of framebuffer connector patches into Hackintool, we can greatly simplify the task of enabling the on-board HDMI port. Start by downloading and running Hackintool, then follow the screenshots below.

Step 1: Select Patch from the top icon bar and then the Connectors tab along the bottom.
Screen Shot 2019-08-11 at 9.26.41 AM_resize.png
Step 2: Hackintool comes with a set of framebuffer connector patches. Here we simply choose the Designare Z390 [CFL v2] selection as shown.

Screen Shot 2019-08-11 at 9.27.19 AM_resize.png

Step 3: Here we can see that Intel Generation has been set to "Coffee Lake", Platform ID has been set to 0x3E9B0007, and Connector Info has been modified. Index 3 has been set to Bus ID 0x04 and Type HDMI. Verify that your screen looks like this. If you see any differences, manually edit this page so it agrees fully with the screenshot.
Screen Shot 2019-08-11 at 9.27.29 AM_resize.png
Step 4: Now select the Patch tab along the bottom. By default the General page will be selected. Modify your settings until they look exactly like the screenshot.
Screen Shot 2019-08-11 at 9.27.39 AM_resize.png
Step 5: Now click Advanced and only select Enable HDMI20 (4K). Uncheck everything else.
Screen Shot 2019-08-11 at 9.27.47 AM_resize.png
Step 6: Moving along, select LSPCON and make sure that the two checkboxes on the left side are un-checked (Enable Driver and Preferred Mode).
Screen Shot 2019-08-11 at 9.27.51 AM_resize.png
Step 7: Now click the General table again and then click the Generate Patch button. The Patch Output pane will contain the resulting XML code.
Screen Shot 2019-08-11 at 9.27.59 AM_resize.png
Step 8: Now we are ready to save the settings. From the File menu, select Export --> Bootloader config.plist as shown.

Screen Shot 2019-08-11 at 9.28.11 AM_resize.png

Step 9: If the EFI partition of your Mojave SSD is not currently mounted, you will see the following dialog. Select Mount and enter the system password when requested.
Screen Shot 2019-08-11 at 9.28.24 AM_resize.png
Step 10: Save the modified connector settings to your config.plist by following the 3 steps shown.
Screen Shot 2019-08-11 at 9.28.49 AM_resize.png
Hackintool will save the settings in a non-destructive manner and will also backup the original file. To verify that the settings have been applied, run Clover Configurator, open the config.plist and view the changes in the Devices --> Properties section.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 29, 2019
Messages
39
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Are you using headless platform ID 0x3E980003 as described here?
Just did this and it made no difference
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
17,204
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Jul 29, 2019
Messages
39
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Because you have a discrete GPU, it is highly recommended to switch the IGPU into headless mode. Please give that a try and see if you experience any better results.
and how do I do that!?
 
Top