Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,943
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
for the Z390 - Vega56/64 SSDT, I tried unpacking the aml with iasl, and then used maciasl to edit the device name so that it woudl show Vega 56 over Vega 64 however I am getting an issue with the compile regarding an unexpected return code, theres 2 parts within the SSDT that have a return value it apparently isnt expecting. I tried deleting those values, and then building it however "about this mac" now shows "Vega 56 8GB 8GB..."


am I missing something? I saw it was adapted from work kgb did, and I figured it was edited in the same manner. I used the iasl function of "iasl -da -dl *.aml" to unpack.

Thanks in advance, I tried searching but didnt look like anyone had that specific issue.
RehabMan’s MaciASL will disassemble the .aml file with just the File —> Open command so no need for separate disassembly. There are a handful of MaciASL builds on the web so be sure to use RehabMan’s:


When you’re done editing, just use the File —> Save As... to save it as a compiled machine language binary file. You can also save it in .dsl format to better preserve comments.

If you continue to get the error, just let us know.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,943
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Just an update from my build, and just some feedback as to how the attempt to use the XFX RX-580 8GB card for Mojave went...

I did get the XFX RX-580 graphics card to work with not detectable issues for several days now. I removed the card for install and just ran on the Intel 630 graphics, and then installed after install. Once installed and configured, I did the other (FCPX no crash) patch in this thread to use the iGPU in headless mode and FCPX runs great and scrubbing 4K 100MB/s is very fast.

This card has been working so well that I bough another one on sale at Best Buy for $160.

After I got everything working well on this new build, I did a fresh Mojave install on my old Asus Z97 Deluxe. I tried just the normal generic Mojave install from this site, and that system is now up and running better than where I had it on High Sierra. I'm using that other XFX card in this machine now, and it appears to be working well.

I'll reflash both of these cards to another brand's image if I must, but have not run into a reason to do that yet.
Thank you for following up on the XFX Radeon. I may have to remove or otherwise reword NOTE 4 from the guide, which currently reads:

NOTE 4: The XFX Radeon RX 580 graphics card is known to cause kernel panics during installation, and is strongly discouraged. Use a different brand (Sapphire, MSI, PowerColor, etc.).

Please let me know if the statements below are accurate from your experience:
  • The HDMI port works?
  • Each of the DisplayPort connectors works. If you iterate the DP cable through each of the DP ports, do they all work?
  • I don’t care about DVI-D :), but if you got a chance to test that, does it also work?
  • If you set BIOS —> Initial Display Output —> PCIe 1 Slot, can you see the BIOS splash screen, the Clover Boot Menu, and the Mojave login screen through the XFX Radeon 580?
  • In BIOS, CSM Support is disabled?
  • On the older Asus motherboard, did you perform a clean installation of Mojave with the XFX Radeon plugged in and connected to the primary display monitor?
And finally, if you happen to have Windows installed and a copy of ATI Win Flash or GPUZ, it can identify the firmware version on the card. That might be useful to post.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,943
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm not sure if this topic is already been discussed: my hackintosh is using only 10-15% of the cpu according to the Intel Power Gadget utility. I'm trying to export a simple video with FCPX and it's taking reaaaaaally long.

My build is almost identical to the one in this guide, I'm a newbie, probably I'm forgetting something really stupid :banghead::thumbup:
With Intel Power Gadget you can monitor the iGPU load in addition to CPU load. And with iStat Menus you can monitor the RX 580 GPU load.
  • How long (minutes or seconds) is the video that you’re exporting?
  • In which format are you exporting?
  • How long is it taking to export?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 11, 2019
Messages
7
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
With Intel Power Gadget you can monitor the iGPU load in addition to CPU load. And with iStat Menus you can monitor the RX 580 GPU load.
  • How long (minutes or seconds) is the video that you’re exporting?
  • In which format are you exporting?
  • How long is it taking to export the video?

Thanks for replying.
The video is 26 minutes long. I'm exporting at 1920x1080 | 60 fps, .mov file, video codec:H.264.
It took really long, more than an hour. The hackintosh seemed not to work at his maximum power, not a fan noise and the cpu usage was always really low.
After the export I converted the video in a smaller format using HandBrake, only then the hackintosh started to work at full power with more then 10% CPU usage, fan noise etc..
Maybe a FCPX problem?
I'm going to test with a different software..
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,943
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for replying.
The video is 26 minutes long. I'm exporting at 1920x1080 | 60 fps, .mov file, video codec:H.264.
It took really long, more than an hour. The hackintosh seemed not to work at his maximum power, not a fan noise and the cpu usage was always really low.
After the export I converted the video in a smaller format using HandBrake, only then the hackintosh started to work at full power with more then 10% CPU usage, fan noise etc..
Maybe a FCPX problem?
I'm going to test with a different software..
Can you download and run IORegistryExplorer and then export the device tree by selecting File —> Save As... This will give us an inside look into your GPU settings.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2013
Messages
8
Motherboard
x299
CPU
7900x
Graphics
580x
RehabMan’s MaciASL will disassemble the .aml file with just the File —> Open command so no need for separate disassembly. There are a handful of MaciASL builds on the web so be sure to use RehabMan’s:


When you’re done editing, just use the File —> Save As... to save it as a compiled machine language binary file. You can also save it in .dsl format to better preserve comments.

If you continue to get the error, just let us know.


Beautiful, that was my problem. Looked like an old build of Maciasl, I didn't even think to check that.

Thank you very much!
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2013
Messages
8
Motherboard
x299
CPU
7900x
Graphics
580x
Attached I added a screen shot of the file and where I am making the edit for the display name, for some reason the about this Mac page is appending another "8GB" to the device name. Also if I remove the "8GB" and just have "AMD RX Vega 56" in that model field it shows "AMD RX Vega 56,,,, 8GB"

Might still be missing something..
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20190507_103456.jpg
    IMG_20190507_103456.jpg
    6.6 MB · Views: 56

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
18,943
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Attached I added a screen shot of the file and where I am making the edit for the display name, for some reason the about this Mac page is appending another "8GB" to the device name. Also if I remove the "8GB" and just have "AMD RX Vega 56" in that model field it shows "AMD RX Vega 56,,,, 8GB"

Might still be missing something..
When you remove "8GB" you are shortening the string from:
  • AMD RX Vega 56 8GB
to
  • AMD RX Vega 56
This is a reduction of 4 characters including the space between "56" and "8GB". So the previous line must change from Buffer (0x13) to Buffer (0x0F). This specifies the length of the string plus 1 invisible terminating character. Have you already tried that change?
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2013
Messages
8
Motherboard
x299
CPU
7900x
Graphics
580x
When you remove "8GB" you are shortening the string from:
  • AMD RX Vega 56 8GB
to
  • AMD RX Vega 56
This is a reduction of 4 characters including the space between "56" and "8GB". So the previous line must change from Buffer (0x13) to Buffer (0x0F). This specifies the length of the string plus 1 invisible terminating character. Have you already tried that change?

Fixed, can't believe I missed that. I was updating the power play table and totally forgot to correct that.

All good now, and everything appears to be 100% working. I just need to get a TB2/3 device and check the titan ridge stuff. Lot of good information here!
 
Joined
May 7, 2011
Messages
9
Motherboard
ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe
CPU
Intel Core i5-3570k
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I tried searching here, but have not found a way to search just this particular thread. It pulls up info from all of tonymac. :( As a result, forgive me if this has been discussed before!

I have a Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Gaming SLI, so not exactly the same mobo as listed here. I followed the excellent instructions here and successfully completed a Hack. Audio, RX 580, LAN, Wifi, BT, etc all working. This board has all 6 USB 3.0 on the rear, 2 USB 3.1 on the rear, two USB 3.0 via mobo header and two USB 2.0 mobo header. I was doing some further testing today, and discovered that USB 3.x devices would *not* work on any of the USB 3.x ports. Tried four different USB 3.0 and USB 3.1 devices (flash drive and portable storage). The devices works fine via the USB 2.0 mobo header. USB 2.0 devices work on all USB ports.

However, if I let the computer go to sleep on it's own, upon wake-up the USB 3.x device works just fine on all USB ports! If anything, I would think the opposite would be true, and ports stop working after wake! The wake "repaired" the computer, lol! Any ideas?? TIA.
 
Last edited:
Top