Contribute
Register

[SUCCESS] Gigabyte Designare Z390 (Thunderbolt 3) + i7-9700K + AMD RX 580

Joined
Jun 24, 2012
Messages
93
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
** OpenCore 0.8.3 Mini-Guide **
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
Please do not quote this guide in its entirety. Post a link or excerpt instead.

Updated 11 Aug 2022 for 0.8.3 Release Version
...
I tried selecting « install Ventura » and… stop sign immediately.
What could be wrong? For reference I am doing that because my Clover install is suddenly broken after removing a NVMe that was installed only for storage (I explain a few posts before this one).
I’m lost :(

Thanks if anyone can help!
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2012
Messages
93
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
If you are using the z390 Designaire motherboard, you could make a USB stick and put Casey's OC EFI on the EFI partition of the USB drive. Then boot into the OpenCore shell; mount your HDD; and optionally the EFI on the HDD. Mv EFI -> EFI.Clover, and copy the new one over from the USB. Of course, remove any Clover scripts

At the very least ,you will be able to view your drives from OC shell; mount them; and make sure everything is OK.

1. This will transition you over from Clover to OC directly, if you are using the same hardware as on this thread

2. You should be able to boot back into OSX Catalina, and, eventually, do an in-place upgrade to Monterey.
I created the USB key, and I can boot on the USB key, but I can’t boot anything from the Opencore key. I get a stop sign for both of my OS partitions, and a stop sign when I select install Ventura. So I don’t think at the moment changing the EFI from Clover to OpenCore would help. That’s a really weird situation for a simple NVMe disk removed.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
148
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare 390-F6
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630 + RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I created the USB key, and I can boot on the USB key, but I can’t boot anything from the Opencore key. I get a stop sign for both of my OS partitions, and a stop sign when I select install Ventura. So I don’t think at the moment changing the EFI from Clover to OpenCore would help. That’s a really weird situation for a simple NVMe disk removed.

Try Monterey 12.6.1

Keep in mind if you have nothing in your M2M & M2P slots then make sure your other SATA ports are enabled in the BIOS.

See my earlier post on the M2 slots table, where using one or the other does disable some SATA ports.

Make sure you can see the other drives in the BIOS when you press F12 and go in your boot section of the BIOS.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2019
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i7-9700K
Graphics
RX 6900 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am going to install that one shortly. Is it possible for you to share your EMI folder? I assume you are using OpenCore
Sure thing... Here it is! I'm no expert at this... YMMV
Apologies for the response lag!!
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    43.9 MB · Views: 16
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
148
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare 390-F6
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630 + RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Edited config.plist in vim (greatest editor evar) & set the csr-active-config to all 0 & rebooted & all is well

csrutil status System Integrity Protection status: enabled.


So far apart from the weird finder restart & 1 hard lock up, everything else seems stable

1. WD Black M.2 770 goes from 28C -> 45C & back down to 30C
Will take off M.2 cover & apply new thermal pad, this is getting annoying.

2. HW Monitor is not showing any GPU temps

3. Apple Watch unlocks works 90% of the time, unless machine is in deep sleep
Hitting ESC key so it starts to sleep again & tapping space bar causes it to unlock.

4. Various GoG games are broken & will not start. I installed GoG Galaxy & updated/installed games I own
i.e all the various RPG's from days of yore (Dos) that I hope to play or actually see the startup screen before I die
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,491
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Stuck on this while booting from BIOS is no issue.

So it's completely broken with OpenCore I need to boot from BIOS.
This happens for some users when AppleVTD is enabled, which is something we need in Monterey and Ventura for compatibility with various Ethernet devices such as 10Gbps cards and Intel 2.5Gbps ports. We can disable AppleVTD at any time. The instructions for enabling and disabling are located here:

FYI, I’ve not encountered this dual boot issue even with AppleVTD enabled. I vaguely recall someone finding the root issue…
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,491
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,

Coming back here after years of perfectly working built. Today I removed my NVMe disk from the Hackintosh, and suddenly I can't boot anymore on Catalina. I have 2 partitions, 1 is the main OS X and the other is a clone I keep for safety.
Which NVMe disk was removed? What was on that disk? For example, was it a Windows disk or did it contain your macOS home folder?


When I boot, I get this message on the BIOS screen even before getting to Clover bootloader: OCC Missing compatible GOP.
GOP is the UEFI graphics output protocol that replaces the old VGA driver. There is a setting in Clover (and also in OpenCore) to enable the Graphics GOP protocol. We should enable it.

Then, in Clover, when I select OS X or the CLONE OS X, it will load and then black screen. (No idea if it's started or not.) I tried CMOS clearing, didn't help.
Have you tried enabling verbose mode to look at the boot logs on screen?

In Windows, I can't see my 2 OS X partitions (I use Macdrive). I can see them in Macdrive disk management. But they don't mount, and I have no option to repair them.
Catalina creates two volumes on each APFS container. One volume contains the operating system and the other contains user data (home directory, data files, apps). The user volume has the suffix “-Data”. However, both volumes are necessary. If the disk was called “Catalina”, for example, then both “Catalina” and “Catalina-Data” are needed.

Side note, I don't know if its relevant but before removing the NVMe drive today, I had suddenly 2 partitions for the 2 system disks. There were a new Catalina-Data and Clone-Data partitions. I looked it up online, and I saw that it could happen with Catalina but wasn't a big deal. However I didn't have time to check more. Unfortunately I also updated the Clone drive before all the problems happened so the Clone and Catalina system disks are the same.
I tried verbose, safe mode... Didn't help. It loads but then it just goes black and the screen turns off to sleep.

I also tried disconnecting all drives besides Catalina, but same issues.

Any idea what may have happened and where I should start? Thanks a lot!!!!
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
20,491
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z690-Creator
CPU
i7-12700K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Monterey still working well after all the fixes
@CaseySJ, you might want to add my HDR fix for LG monitors to page 1, as a few people seem to be running into the same issue
This issue also happens with my wife’s 2022 16” MacBook Pro attached to the same monitor

I’ll be glad to add it to post 1. Can you provide a link to the post you’re referring to?
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2012
Messages
93
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Designare
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
Radeon VII
Which NVMe disk was removed? What was on that disk? For example, was it a Windows disk or did it contain your macOS home folder?



GOP is the UEFI graphics output protocol that replaces the old VGA driver. There is a setting in Clover (and also in OpenCore) to enable the Graphics GOP protocol. We should enable it.


Have you tried enabling verbose mode to look at the boot logs on screen?


Catalina creates two volumes on each APFS container. One volume contains the operating system and the other contains user data (home directory, data files, apps). The user volume has the suffix “-Data”. However, both volumes are necessary. If the disk was called “Catalina”, for example, then both “Catalina” and “Catalina-Data” are needed.
Ok, I have no idea what broke the Clover install, but stupid me didn't select the right device to emulate in OpenCore configurator. After changing this, I was able to upgrade to Ventura through OpenCore and everything seems to be working! Thats a forced upgrade but in the end it's even better than before :)
Thanks for your help and @madmax559 help too.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
148
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare 390-F6
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
UHD 630 + RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I’ll be glad to add it to post 1. Can you provide a link to the post you’re referring to?

LG 4k HDR Fix.

LG 4k 32UN880-B (LG Ergo Monitor).

On Monitor -> Settings -> General -> DisplayPort Version
Change that from 1.4 to 1.2 & that will force HDR off & the resolution can go back to 4k.

Edit:
I have seen a number of posts on different forums trying all sorts of hacks, since Apple removed the option to turn off HDR at some point.

This is the cleanest & simplest solution & prevents tinkering with the os and adding unnecessary kexts or other hacks.
I also tested this with my wifes 2022 16" MBP which has the same issue on the same monitor model & this resolved it.
 
Last edited:
Top